My DIY backlit screen... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 50 Old 02-15-2006, 04:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://gallery.avsforum.com/showgall...ppuser=7471308

114" x 64.5"Painted directly on wall with Behr Pewter Mug (770E-3). The extra darkness of the Pewter Mug seems to do the trick (enhancing blacks - the main weakness of my SP5000) better than the SilverScreen I was using before.

Anyway, the backlighting is created by framing the screen with crown molding with a 24' rope light tucked behind. The light goes on/off with the receiver.

This is my first projector & screen. What do you think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 50 Old 02-15-2006, 04:41 AM

I think it looks very nice.
post #3 of 50 Old 02-16-2006, 01:33 PM

Look's awesome - nice work!
post #4 of 50 Old 02-16-2006, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the kind words!!
post #5 of 50 Old 02-17-2006, 09:33 AM

BAG302 - looks great. What type of ropelight did you use? What color is it and where did you get it?

Did you use any specific hardware to affix the rope light to the back of the trim?

I have some interest in getting some ropelight for the back of my screen as well, and also want a bit more for an outside project I have.

Thanks,

GL
post #6 of 50 Old 02-18-2006, 03:18 AM - Thread Starter

Gonelong, I just used the clear rope light from Home Depot (24') ~ $15. It actually doesn't cover the entire circumference of the screen, but my a/v cabinet hides the bottom and has a 6" rope light inside - so it appears seamless. You could easily add a 6 footer as they "chain" together like xmas lights.

Also, It doesn't really need any hardware to stay in place - the crown molding holds it well when you wedge it behind. I did put a couple of screws on the bottom section to keep the light from sagging. The whole thing is really quite simple. One of those projects that just came out better than expected.