DVD-Audio decoder for foobar2000 - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 408 Old 01-29-2014, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalsnuffy View Post

Hi all,

I have been happily using this plugin with foobar 1.29. The version on my main PC is 0.4.8.

I have a new install of foobar on the downstairs rig running Windows 8.1. I had downloaded the latest version of this dll, whcih is 0.4.11 and nothing seemed to play with Foobar 1.29, 1.31 or 1.3.1.

The new setup will play SACD files using that plug in.

Any suggestions in terms of downgrading Foobar itself or trying the old dll (0.4.8) ?

I admit I am a big confused as to where to go next.
Hi originalsnuffy,

Exactly which Foobar plug-in can play SACD (I presume you mean DSD) streams?


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 408 Old 01-31-2014, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalsnuffy View Post

Hi all,

I have been happily using this plugin with foobar 1.29. The version on my main PC is 0.4.8.

I have a new install of foobar on the downstairs rig running Windows 8.1. I had downloaded the latest version of this dll, whcih is 0.4.11 and nothing seemed to play with Foobar 1.29, 1.31 or 1.3.1.

The new setup will play SACD files using that plug in.

Any suggestions in terms of downgrading Foobar itself or trying the old dll (0.4.8) ?

I admit I am a big confused as to where to go next.

I was using Foobar 1.29 with the 0.4.11 DVD-A plugin. Your post prompted me to update Foobar to 1.3.1.

No problems here using that version of Foobar with the DVD-A plugin. SACD plugin (0.6.6) also still works. I'm running it on a Win 7 pc.
scolumbo is offline  
post #393 of 408 Old 01-31-2014, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Hi originalsnuffy,

Exactly which Foobar plug-in can play SACD (I presume you mean DSD) streams?


Cheers

http://sourceforge.net/projects/sacddecoder/
scolumbo is offline  
post #394 of 408 Old 02-01-2014, 03:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Thanks wink.gif

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #395 of 408 Old 06-06-2015, 10:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy 96kb 4 channel ISO file will not play

I have a number of ISO albums with both 4 and 2 channel tracks inside.
These were 4 channel tapes originally. (Q8)
When starting Foobar 1.37 I get the following.
"Unrecoverable playback error: Unsupported stream format: 96000 Hz / 16-bit / 4 channels"
If I select stereo tracks in the DVD-Audio preferences it says 2 channels but same error.

Properties of a track shows:
Duration : 1:21:54.560 (471 797 760 samples)
Sample rate : 96000 Hz
Channels : 4 ( 2 for the stereo downmix)
Bits per sample : 24
Bitrate : 9216 kbps
Codec : MLP
Encoding : lossless

If, repeat, IF, I remember correctly I could play them in an earlier version of Foobar, but I've gone back as far as 1.31 with no luck.

These files play perfectly in SMPlayer using the built in MPEG PS demuxer and FFmpeg AC-3 codec but I want to convert them to 2 channel FLAC's since I no longer have a 4 channel system. SMPlayer won't do that.

Any help would be appreciated.

The following ISO file plays perfectly in Foobar as do many others.
Duration : 40:39.867 (6 886 279 680 samples)
Sample rate : 2822400 Hz
Channels : 2
Bits per sample : 24
Bitrate : 5645 kbps
Codec : DSD64
Encoding : lossless
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sm info 1.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	760881  
Down_South is offline  
post #396 of 408 Old 06-06-2015, 10:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down_South View Post
I have a number of ISO albums with both 4 and 2 channel tracks inside.
These were 4 channel tapes originally. (Q8)
When starting Foobar 1.37 I get the following.
"Unrecoverable playback error: Unsupported stream format: 96000 Hz / 16-bit / 4 channels"
If I select stereo tracks in the DVD-Audio preferences it says 2 channels but same error.

Properties of a track shows:
Duration : 1:21:54.560 (471 797 760 samples)
Sample rate : 96000 Hz
Channels : 4 ( 2 for the stereo downmix)
Bits per sample : 24
Bitrate : 9216 kbps
Codec : MLP
Encoding : lossless

If, repeat, IF, I remember correctly I could play them in an earlier version of Foobar, but I've gone back as far as 1.31 with no luck.

These files play perfectly in SMPlayer using the built in MPEG PS demuxer and FFmpeg AC-3 codec but I want to convert them to 2 channel FLAC's since I no longer have a 4 channel system. SMPlayer won't do that.

Any help would be appreciated.

The following ISO file plays perfectly in Foobar as do many others.
Duration : 40:39.867 (6 886 279 680 samples)
Sample rate : 2822400 Hz
Channels : 2
Bits per sample : 24
Bitrate : 5645 kbps
Codec : DSD64
Encoding : lossless
Cancel above post. 1.31 portable worked.
Down_South is offline  
post #397 of 408 Old 06-07-2015, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 116
This is an excellent example of why I rip everything to FLAC files. That includes CD's, dts-CD's, DVD Audio's, music DVD's and music Blu-Ray's. Now everything is on one disk (plus backups) in one format (FLAC). I can either play everything, or nothing. I don't have to worry about keeping old hardware running or finding the correct versions of software to play old media.

I rip CD's with dBpoweramp CD Ripper and most DVD and Blu-Rays with DVD Audio Extractor. Blu-Rays with dts-HD MA tracks take a little bit more effort (MakeMKV with a dts-HD decoder, then some post-processing).

Most are stereo, but about 5% are multichannel. Here are some stats:

Sample rate : 44100 Hz (89.4%); 48000 Hz (5.4%); 96000 Hz (4.2%); 192000 Hz (0.6%); 88200 Hz (0.5%)
Channels : 2 (94.2%); 6 (4.6%); 1 (1.0%); 4 (0.1%); 5 (0.1%)
Bits per sample : 16 (91.5%); 24 (8.5%)

Duration : 27wk 6d 2:45:02.278
Total size : 1.88 TB (2 071 459 876 657 bytes)

All the old physical media is still around, should I even need to re-rip it, but hopefully I never will. Even if FLAC goes out of favour, I simply need to transcode everything from one format to the new format. It'll take a while, but it's a fairly simple thing to do.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #398 of 408 Old 06-07-2015, 02:24 PM
Member
 
captainbrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
Blu-Rays with dts-HD MA tracks take a little bit more effort (MakeMKV with a dts-HD decoder, then some post-processing).
I've heard that this can be done. Would you mind elaborating on this process, please? Thanks in advance!

Cheers
captainbrent is offline  
post #399 of 408 Old 06-08-2015, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 116
The trick is to find a copy of an old release of ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre 6, which still has the dts decoder DLL. I found (somewhere) and eval copy and installed it, but I doubt I ever ran it. I just grabbed the DLL, copied it away for safe keeping and pointed MakeMKV at it. Then I could tell MakeMKV to rip a dts-HD MA disc and convert from dts-HD MA to FLAC. The result is a .mkv file with FLAC audio imbedded. Then I use mkvextract to get the chapter breaks and use mkvmerge to split the large .mkv file into separate track. Then I convert each track using eac3to to convert from .mkv to .flac files. Then add the correct metadata and you are done.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #400 of 408 Old 06-08-2015, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainbrent View Post
I've heard that this can be done. Would you mind elaborating on this process, please? Thanks in advance!

Cheers
Once you've extracted the A/V streams from the Blu-ray Audio (HFPA) disc, I use an application called UsEac3To (v1.1.7) with eac3to (v3.29) to encode the DTS-HD MA stream to Flac: -



EDIT: I forgot to mention that the newest version of eac3to v3.29 contains the newest version of 'DCAdec', which is now able to decode DTS-HD MA audio streams, without the need to install/register Arcsoft's (dtsdecoderdll.dll) decoder filter


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 06-08-2015 at 08:14 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #401 of 408 Old 06-08-2015, 10:10 AM
Member
 
captainbrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 23
^^^^ Gentlemen, thank you for that information, it is informative and appreciated. I wish that DVD Audio Extractor would extract the loss-less stream though!

Cheers
captainbrent is offline  
post #402 of 408 Old 06-08-2015, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainbrent View Post
^^^^ Gentlemen, thank you for that information, it is informative and appreciated. I wish that DVD Audio Extractor would extract the loss-less stream though!

Cheers
Actually, DVD Audio Extractor v7.2.0 can. If you have a Blu-ray disc decoding application, such as: DVDFab Passkey installed/running

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #403 of 408 Old 06-08-2015, 10:49 AM
Member
 
captainbrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Actually, DVD Audio Extractor v7.2.0 can. If you have a Blu-ray disc decoding application, such as: DVDFab Passkey installed/running
Oh really...very good news...thank you!

Also, I was looking around the MakeMKV site and saw this update which indicates that they will have their own decoder soon.

http://www.makemkv.com/dtshd/

Cheers
captainbrent is offline  
post #404 of 408 Old 06-08-2015, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainbrent View Post
Also, I was looking around the MakeMKV site and saw this update which indicates that they will have their own decoder soon.
Indeed, no doubt they'll be using a build of 'DCAdec'

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #405 of 408 Old 06-11-2015, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherbona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Actually, DVD Audio Extractor v7.2.0 can. If you have a Blu-ray disc decoding application, such as: DVDFab Passkey installed/running
Be careful with using it for extracting DTS-MA, unless they have changed their DTS decoder you are actually only getting lossy instead of full lossless. See details here: Blu Ray audio extractor
Sherbona is offline  
post #406 of 408 Old 06-11-2015, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I have asked their support folks about dts-HD MA support a couple of times. The answer is always: No.


Maybe if a few more people, customers preferably, were to ask...


Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #407 of 408 Old 06-12-2015, 01:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
I have asked their support folks about dts-HD MA support a couple of times. The answer is always: No.


Maybe if a few more people, customers preferably, were to ask...


Mike
Thankfully, now that DCAdec has been created. It shouldn't be long before all our applications of choice move over from Arcsoft's (no defunct) decoder filter

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #408 of 408 Old 06-12-2015, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I pointed that page out to the DVD Audio Extractor folks, and they said "Thanks".

No idea if they'll actually do something about it.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Surround Music Formats



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off