DVD-Audio decoder for foobar2000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 394 Old 07-03-2009, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manisiutkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St.Petersburg (Gazprom City), Russia
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
... is here: http://dvdadecoder.sourceforge.net
Supports DVD-A discs and MLP files playback.
In case of any interest will be updated from time to time.

Max.
manisiutkin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 394 Old 07-03-2009, 10:00 AM
Member
 
aggieheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it work? Is there a way to rip DVD-A files for playback or will this just act as a player for your computer?
aggieheels is offline  
post #3 of 394 Old 07-03-2009, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manisiutkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St.Petersburg (Gazprom City), Russia
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sort of... Foobar has the ripping option.
manisiutkin is offline  
post #4 of 394 Old 07-03-2009, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Nice, and much needed.

Seems to be working as advertised. Does anyone know how to get Foobar to display multi-channel on the VU meter?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #5 of 394 Old 07-03-2009, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Heli Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggieheels View Post

Does it work? Is there a way to rip DVD-A files for playback or will this just act as a player for your computer?

I was able to rip them to a single .wav/cue and they play back on my WD. Could probably use a cue splitter to cut it up into single tracks.
Heli Pilot is offline  
post #6 of 394 Old 07-03-2009, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't suppose Foobar works with Vista Media Center?
elee532 is offline  
post #7 of 394 Old 07-04-2009, 10:03 AM
Member
 
batagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! This is just so amazing! Many thanks indeed manisiutkin for your work!
I have tried and works excellent!
:respect:
batagy is offline  
post #8 of 394 Old 07-04-2009, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
It's working perfectly thus far. Great job!
MSmith83 is offline  
post #9 of 394 Old 07-05-2009, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smitty2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Many thanks for this! Foobar has been my player of choice for several years now. How great!
Smitty2k1 is online now  
post #10 of 394 Old 07-05-2009, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have not used Foobar2000, but am considering it if does what I think with this plugin.

Can someone run down the basics for me? I normally rip all my CDs and have them converted to FLAC for playback via Logitech Transporter (supports up to 24/96). With this newest Foobar 2000, will I be able to rip the stereo DVD-A tracks and convert the 24/192 tracks to 24/96 and convert to FLAC?
Sam S is offline  
post #11 of 394 Old 07-05-2009, 08:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post

I have not used Foobar2000, but am considering it if does what I think with this plugin.

Can someone run down the basics for me? I normally rip all my CDs and have them converted to FLAC for playback via Logitech Transporter (supports up to 24/96). With this newest Foobar 2000, will I be able to rip the stereo DVD-A tracks and convert the 24/192 tracks to 24/96 and convert to FLAC?

I haven't tried ripping DVD-A tracks with Fubar2000, but DVDAExplorer beta3 will do the job and give you a PCM stream you can work with.

http://www.foobar2000.org/?page=FAQ

The things you can do with Fubar2000 really boggle the mind, but there is a learning curve. I'd expect you can find extensive forum threads on it at a number of sites. I've used it to downmix 5.1 24/192 to stereo CDA and FLAC.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #12 of 394 Old 07-05-2009, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post

I have not used Foobar2000, but am considering it if does what I think with this plugin.

Can someone run down the basics for me? I normally rip all my CDs and have them converted to FLAC for playback via Logitech Transporter (supports up to 24/96). With this newest Foobar 2000, will I be able to rip the stereo DVD-A tracks and convert the 24/192 tracks to 24/96 and convert to FLAC?

I've thus far ripped some DVD-Audio tracks to WAV, but there's an option for FLAC. I'm not sure about down-sampling 192kHz to 96kHz, as I always bypass all advanced DSP functions.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #13 of 394 Old 07-06-2009, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I encoded a few DVD-Audio discs directly to FLAC with no problems at all. It is really nice having the ability to do practically everything related to music through foobar in a quick and painless manner.

Of course, the only time-consuming part is manually entering the desired metadata.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #14 of 394 Old 07-07-2009, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
razi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, its reelly great!!!
How does it work with various kinds of sounds (for ex. 2 channel stereo AND 5.1 surround sound) at the same dvd? Are there any experience? And how about playlists? And a good idea would be an access to the free CDDB ....

But at first, its a good starting-point for all dvd-audio-fans ....
razi2 is offline  
post #15 of 394 Old 07-07-2009, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Mikl1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Moscow Russia
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by manisiutkin View Post

... is here: http://dvdadecoder.sourceforge.net
Supports DVD-A discs and MLP files playback.
Max.

Have you any plan to support DVD-A .iso files?
Mikl1984 is offline  
post #16 of 394 Old 07-08-2009, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manisiutkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St.Petersburg (Gazprom City), Russia
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all thank you for the appreciation!

razi2:

When audio is MLP encoded it can have 2 substreams, the first one contains downmixed. PCM audio can have downmixing matrices for each particular track. Suppose nothing useful can be done about playlists.

Mikl1984:

Yes, it is planned but decoder has number of issues to be done first:
1. Implement asyncronious caching for DVD media.
2. Fix weird behavior of MLP decoder in stereo downmix mode (some tracks are decoded fine, some not).
3. Test PCM playback for different combinations of groups/channels/samplerates.
4. Implement PCM downmixing when available.
manisiutkin is offline  
post #17 of 394 Old 07-08-2009, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
MLP playlist issues:

All tracks with the same parameters play fine. If a track has a different frequency (48, 44.1, 96khz) then the first track plays fine and all subsequent tracks play either faster or slower. Also, if the first track is 5.1 channels and the second stereo then you get no playback and this error "Unrecoverable playback error: Invalid audio stream specifications". So this is the only problem I have so far of not being able to handle playlists with different track properties.

But other than that the plugin works great and is appreciated!!!! Thanks for making this happen.
David Scott is offline  
post #18 of 394 Old 07-08-2009, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Heli Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikl1984 View Post

Have you any plan to support DVD-A .iso files?

It does. Mount them in Daemon Tools, or some other virtual drive, they open and play like a normal DVD.
Heli Pilot is offline  
post #19 of 394 Old 07-11-2009, 12:08 AM
Member
 
SnoopKatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stereo playback seems to work fine, but 5.1 does not work properly. It sends some of the rear signals out to the rear speakers, but not all of them. DigiOn plays my MLP files properly, and I am positive that it's not playing the surround sound correctly.
SnoopKatt is offline  
post #20 of 394 Old 07-11-2009, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manisiutkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St.Petersburg (Gazprom City), Russia
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What disc? I might be able to check this... Which of channels aren't sent properly?
manisiutkin is offline  
post #21 of 394 Old 07-11-2009, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post

I don't suppose Foobar works with Vista Media Center?

Should I assume the lack of of a reply means the answer is "no?"
elee532 is offline  
post #22 of 394 Old 07-11-2009, 10:36 AM
Member
 
SnoopKatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All of the discs I've tried, including Nine Inch Nails's "The Downward Spiral" and Linkin Park's "Reanimation". The NIN one is a much easier one to test with the song "Mr. Self Destruct" because once the song starts, the main vocals should be in the front, but when the background vocals say "and I control you", it should come from the rear speakers.
SnoopKatt is offline  
post #23 of 394 Old 07-14-2009, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manisiutkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St.Petersburg (Gazprom City), Russia
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried Linkin Park and for me all the channels seem to be arranged properly.
Anyway, a new version 0.2.1 is out. It has got PCM downmixer and fresh MLP decoder.
manisiutkin is offline  
post #24 of 394 Old 07-14-2009, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
Budley007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To show my appreciation for your hard work, I tried to donate a few bucks through sourceforge. It says you have selected not to receive donations.

Man, that's pretty selfless and shockingly noble of you to take nothing for your efforts. Please accept my sincere thanks.
Budley007 is offline  
post #25 of 394 Old 07-14-2009, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There's a new version of the foobar dvd-a plugin available. The problems I had when trying to create mlp playlists appears to be solved (I only tried a few songs). The first version only accepted mlp of the same frequency in the playlists or playback problems would occur. I tried one 96khz file, one 88.2 and one 48khz mlp. All played correctly. Very sweet. Still no ability to tag the files in foobar. Any way to tag these? Great new update!!!
David Scott is offline  
post #26 of 394 Old 07-14-2009, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
manisiutkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St.Petersburg (Gazprom City), Russia
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Budley007
Oops... I didn't have a thought about this option. Done. No hard feelings

Davis Scott
That's the very question. Neither MLP file, nor DVD-A itself doesn't suppose tagging. I don't see any straitforward solution.
manisiutkin is offline  
post #27 of 394 Old 07-16-2009, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Donnacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: York, UK
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this decoder. I tried it and sometimes it works other times it stutters through the tracks. I use AnyDVD HD - could this be interuppting anything. When I switched it off all the tracks stuttered, whereas other times they didn't....weird!! But sincere thanks for providing this. I'll try the update tonight
Donnacha is offline  
post #28 of 394 Old 07-18-2009, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Biff84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if there's a chance to finally play DVD-A in full quality on a pc? i'm talking about using GPU's HDMI out to transfer 5.1 96/24 PCM signal to a external amplituner?
Biff84 is offline  
post #29 of 394 Old 07-19-2009, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Smitty2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biff84 View Post

does anyone know if there's a chance to finally play DVD-A in full quality on a pc? i'm talking about using GPU's HDMI out to transfer 5.1 96/24 PCM signal to a external amplituner?

This plugin.
Or SHAPlay which you posted the same question in.
Smitty2k1 is online now  
post #30 of 394 Old 07-19-2009, 09:54 PM
Newbie
 
Biff84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, thanks, but i guess it's not that simple, any details?
Biff84 is offline  
Reply Surround Music Formats

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off