SACD ilink (firewire) from player to computer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-21-2012, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
marklizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 3910 with ilink (firewire) as an option for playing SACDs and DVD-As digitally on amps with ilink. As far as I know, there is no way to play an SACD on a computer but I wondered if there might be some way to connect my player via ilink with my computer, or via my MOTU 828 and then into my computer. Is there a player firmware upgrade, a driver for the computer, or, whatever, that would make this possible? I realize that there is a way to make SACD disc images with old PS3s and it seems that there might be possible to write software to get a the 3910 to communicate with the computer. I realize I am grasping at straws here but was hoping one of you tekkies could shed some light on the topic.....

Thanks a bunch!
marklizard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-21-2012, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by marklizard View Post

I have a Denon 3910 with ilink (firewire) as an option for playing SACDs and DVD-As digitally on amps with ilink. As far as I know, there is no way to play an SACD on a computer but I wondered if there might be some way to connect my player via ilink with my computer, or via my MOTU 828 and then into my computer. Is there a player firmware upgrade, a driver for the computer, or, whatever, that would make this possible? I realize that there is a way to make SACD disc images with old PS3s and it seems that there might be possible to write software to get a the 3910 to communicate with the computer. I realize I am grasping at straws here but was hoping one of you tekkies could shed some light on the topic.....

Thanks a bunch!

The firmware in the 3910 prevents this.
mlknez is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-23-2012, 04:48 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 323
If you can find a computer Firewire driver that talks iLink it should work. Since the protocol was meant for CE devices I doubt you'll find one. Plus the driver would need to be licensed to use iLink. Good luck.

Having said all that, lookie here! http://download.driverguide.com/driv.../d1449660.html

I used a 3910 connected to a Pio receiver for a bit. So, the 3910 doesn't discriminate against other manufacturers. DenonLink is a different story.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

If you can find a computer Firewire driver that talks iLink it should work. Since the protocol was meant for CE devices I doubt you'll find one. Plus the driver would need to be licensed to use iLink. Good luck.

Having said all that, lookie here! http://download.driverguide.com/driv.../d1449660.html

I used a 3910 connected to a Pio receiver for a bit. So, the 3910 doesn't discriminate against other manufacturers. DenonLink is a different story.

larry

SACD requires a 5C / DTCP / Encrypted handshake, which the computer will not be able to pass, so no SACD/DVDA goodness from the deck to computer.

Now if you can handle the AVC Security command and authenticate the computer, then you could decrypt the hi-res bits all day long and dump bit perfect disc images.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-03-2012, 04:40 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

SACD requires a 5C / DTCP / Encrypted handshake, which the computer will not be able to pass, so no SACD/DVDA goodness from the deck to computer.

Now if you can handle the AVC Security command and authenticate the computer, then you could decrypt the hi-res bits all day long and dump bit perfect disc images.

So, the driver will allow a connection with iLink devices but one would still need the additional 5C authentication software (I assume) to meet the DRM requirements.

Now that I think of it, one may be able to use the drivers in the other direction than we are talking about. One could use a computer for a front end and connect to a iLink capable DAC or receiver.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-03-2012, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

So, the driver will allow a connection with iLink devices but one would still need the additional 5C authentication software (I assume) to meet the DRM requirements.

Now that I think of it, one may be able to use the drivers in the other direction than we are talking about. One could use a computer for a front end and connect to a iLink capable DAC or receiver.

larry

Correct, unless one has DTCP encryption keys, the computer will not be allowed to setup a connection to stream hi resolution SACD streams. As I recall the licensing for SACD requires encrypted content transfer regardless of type of content/flagging whereas DVD-Audio was less strict and only requires encryption if the content is flagged to require it.

Yes-you can use a computer to connect to a iLink capable receiver to stream audio so long as the application streams the proper A&M protocol and the computer represents itself as an appropriate subnit type on the firewire network.

Your easiest way of doing this would be to use a mac computer with their firewire sdk.

As I recall reading the archives, someone here wrote a windows driver/app which was able to successfully stream a subset of the allowed audio codec encapsulated into firewire packets to a ?pioneer? receiver. They have not been around for years though.

I dont have the Denon mentioned by the OP, but I do have a Yamaha DVD-S2500 and Pioneer DV-47Ai and can tell you that whoever wrote the Yamaha firewire implementation should be flogged/beaten/then shot & buried. What a POS. It does not behave properly when there are multiple devices on the network. It barely implements a disc subunit type, and if you send it any commands which it does not support, it locks up the firewire functionality requiring a power cycling. In contrast, the Sony MDS/CDP-LSA1 implements wonderful, feature rich disc subunits. I just received the Pioneer and need to re-arrange all my CE equipment after cleaning all the carpeting and re-wiriing everything. So, I have not had a chance to fire up the Pioneer yet to see what it can do/support.

I saw a brand new pioneer 74 iLink receiver a month or 2 ago and wanted to snag it but the bidding looked fishy and someone jacked the price over $600 in a matter of minutes, so I stepped back. I keep my eye out for a brand new iLink capable receiver to show up on fleabay again.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-03-2012, 03:44 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 323
I used a 47ai and Pio receiver for a few years with iLink. When I sold them (4-5 years ago) I put the 47ai on Audiogon for $250 and the receiver for about $1000 ($4K+ MSRP). I was shipping them out 2 days later.

Hopefully the OP comes back and learns something.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Reply Surround Music Formats

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off