Playback of HR Multichannel flac's doesn't work propper with foobar/ASIO - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-07-2012, 04:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Helios61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

I hope, you can help with my issue. My Setup: Radeon HD 6670 -> HDMI -> Yamaha RX-V771! Foobar2000 configured with foo_out_asio and ASIO4ALL (first without Channel mapping) -> no sound on speaker surround right! With channel mapping ->



all speakers are working fine! But with "normal" stereo files there is sound from all speakers too !

MediaInfo.txt of one of these High Resolution multichannel flac files:
Code:
Allgemein
Vollständiger Name                       : T:\\Musik\\Klassik\\Academy of Ancient Music (2009) - Bach · Brandenburg Concertos (88,2kHz-24bit - 5.0 Channel)\\Disc 01\\01 - Concerto no.1 BWV 1046 - 1. [Allegro].flac
Format                                   : FLAC
Format/Info                              : Free Lossless Audio Codec
Dateigröße                               : 178 MiB
Dauer                                    : 4min 12s
Modus der Gesamtbitrate                  : variabel
Gesamte Bitrate                          : 5 918 Kbps
Album                                    : Bach · Brandenburg Concertos
Album/Künstler                           : Academy of Ancient Music / Richard Egarr / Academy of Ancient Music / Richard Egarr
Teil                                     : 01/02
Track-Name                               : Concerto no.1 BWV 1046 - 1. [Allegro]
Track-Name/Position                      : 01/09
Künstler                                 : Academy of Ancient Music / Richard Egarr
Komponist                                : Johann Sebastian Bach
Leiter                                   : Richard Egarr
Genre                                    : Klassik
Aufnahmedatum                            : 2009
Cover                                    : Yes
Cover-Typ                                : Cover (front)
Cover-MIME                               : image/jpeg
Kommentar                                : 88,2kHz-24bit - 5.0 Channel
CONTENTGROUP                             : High Resolution Audio
GROUPING                                 : High Resolution Audio

Audio
Format                                   : FLAC
Format/Info                              : Free Lossless Audio Codec
Dauer                                    : 4min 12s
Bitraten-Modus                           : variabel
Bitrate                                  : 5 913 Kbps
Kanäle                                   : 5 Kanäle
Kanal-Positionen                         : Front: L C R, Back: L R
Samplingrate                             : 88,2 KHz
BitDepth/String                          : 24 bits
Stream-Größe                             : 178 MiB (100%)
verwendete Encoder-Bibliothek            : libFLAC 1.2.1 (UTC 2007-09-17)
I hope, you can give me a hint, what i am doing wrong and sorry for my poor english!

Best reagards
H
LL
Helios61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-13-2012, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
WagBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
maybe there is a way you could send the signal to the receiver to decode instead of decoding it from your computer? similar to how you can send DTS, DD, etc.
Helios61 likes this.
WagBoss is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-14-2012, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios61 View Post

Hi!


I hope, you can help with my issue.


I hope, you can give me a hint, what i am doing wrong and sorry for my poor english!


Best reagards

Hi Helios,

Try this:

1. In Foobar go to File->Preferences->Playback-> Output

2. Look for Buffer Length, if it is set to 1,000 ms, start to reduce it to 500 ms or even lower. I have mine at 450 ms ever since I had some similar problem you have now.

3. Report back, please! smile.gif
Helios61 likes this.
mogorf is online now  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-14-2012, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Helios61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi mogorf!

Thanks for your reply! Unfortunately reducing the buffer size doesn't solve this issue! It's odd, because i get different (wrong) results with ASIO and WASAPI! I think the issue is video card related. Just made some tests with a notebook with any INTEL HD2000 Graphics inside and all is working as exspected!
If you like, you can test the files, i've uploaded them -> 5.0 Ch - 88,2 KHz - 24 bit.flac & 4.0 Ch - 44,1 KHz - 24 bit.flac!

Best regards
Helios
Helios61 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-17-2012, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Big Canoe, GA, USA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post

Hi Helios,
Try this:
1. In Foobar go to File->Preferences->Playback-> Output
2. Look for Buffer Length, if it is set to 1,000 ms, start to reduce it to 500 ms or even lower. I have mine at 450 ms ever since I had some similar problem you have now.
3. Report back, please! smile.gif

+ 1 on changing the buffer length, otherwise it stutters or does not work.

Also, this works best with WASAPI audio streaming.

I put together a short guide on this topic with other tips: http://avppoaowners.wetpaint.com/page/How-to%3A+HTPC+multichannel+high-rez+audio+feed
JonFo is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-18-2012, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It is my understanding that if you're using the Radeon via hdmi, the audio driver/device would be the AMD HDMI driver/device, not the Realtek.
audit13 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-18-2012, 10:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Helios61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

It is my understanding that if you're using the Radeon via hdmi, the audio driver/device would be the AMD HDMI driver/device, not the Realtek.

The Soundchip on AMD graphic cards is by Realtek. You can use the driver provided by AMD (included in Graphic device driver) or directly by Realtek (ATI HDMI Audio Device R2.70)!

Best regards
Helios
Helios61 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-19-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios61 View Post

The Soundchip on AMD graphic cards is by Realtek. You can use the driver provided by AMD (included in Graphic device driver) or directly by Realtek (ATI HDMI Audio Device R2.70)!
Best regards
Helios

Yes, the chip is made by Realtek but, according to myself and others in the HTPC forum of AVS, the AMD HDMI audio driver is required in order to properly pass HD audio such as multichannel pcm, flac, TrueHD, and DTS-HD Master Audio.

I have an AMD 5450 in my htpc. I am able to playback DVD-Audio and SACDs via hdmi with Foobar2000 and WASAPI to get multichannel playback using Foobar's default settings. I have never had to use Foobar's channel mapping settings.
Helios61 likes this.
audit13 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-19-2012, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Helios61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Yes, the chip is made by Realtek but, according to myself and others in the HTPC forum of AVS, the AMD HDMI audio driver is required in order to properly pass HD audio such as multichannel pcm, flac, TrueHD, and DTS-HD Master Audio.
I have an AMD 5450 in my htpc. I am able to playback DVD-Audio and SACDs via hdmi with Foobar2000 and WASAPI to get multichannel playback using Foobar's default settings. I have never had to use Foobar's channel mapping settings.

Believe me, the driver provided directly by Realtek is the better one and BTW, using the ATI Driver doesn't solve the issue!
Helios61 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-19-2012, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios61 View Post

Believe me, the driver provided directly by Realtek is the better one and BTW, using the ATI Driver doesn't solve the issue!

I'm curious as to whether under the supported sound formats, do you see DTS-HD MA and TrueHD?
audit13 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-19-2012, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Helios61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

I'm curious as to whether under the supported sound formats, do you see DTS-HD MA and TrueHD?

Of course!



Issue only occures with PCM 5.0 & 4.0 files! Playback of 5.1 PCM, DTS, Dolby True HD.... is working fine!
Helios61 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-19-2012, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios61 View Post

Of course!

Well, it looks like you have everything to get proper playback.

At least I learned that Realtek drivers are okay to use! Thank you for the informative replies.

I'm sorry I can't be of any further assistance.
Helios61 likes this.
audit13 is offline  
Reply Surround Music Formats

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off