Dvd-Audio and Pioneer DV-610av - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 02-09-2013, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a Pioneer DV-610av to play the Beatles' Love DVD-Audio. It sounds terrible! In fact, it doesn't sound nearly as good as the CD version of the album. The volume is half as loud and the treble, mids and lows all sound bland.

Is this normal for a DVD-Audio disk playing in 2-channel? Could it be the player itself or the disk? I'm new to the format, and i may be returning the unit, so any advice would be appreciated.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-09-2013, 09:51 PM

Liked: 18
flipperman, dvd audio is multichannel so you have to connect your player using the six analog inputs of your of your receiver or HDMI input otherwise you won't be getting all the channels of that particular DVDA.
post #3 of 9 Old 02-09-2013, 09:57 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i listen to the 5.1 audio track and it sounds great. It really depends on your complete setup and how you have it connected.
What receiver do you have, does your receiver decode SACD/DVD-A through hdmi, are you using the multichannel input on the receiver?

post #4 of 9 Old 02-09-2013, 11:58 PM

Liked: 17
You have to run the HOME MENU on the player to check all the settings. Use the manual to guide you through the choices. If you bought the player second hand and the manual is missing, run a Google search for it and download it.
Next, when you insert the disc, choose the advanced resolution stereo track in the disc menu (I suppose you listen in stereo as you mention it in your original post). I have a DV-600AV and both stereo and multichannel DVD-Audio playback are amazingly clear and dynamic.
post #5 of 9 Old 02-10-2013, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter

thanks! i'll give it a try. smile.gif
post #6 of 9 Old 02-10-2013, 11:22 PM

Liked: 17