DSD from my computer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 34 Old 09-12-2013, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm new to the lossless audio and DSD music so forgive my naive questions but I am looking to start building a music collection of DSD from streaming audio sites. I am guessing my computer will not output lossless audio from a digital coaxial output to my reciever? What computer do I need or what connection? This is going to a Rotel tuner, emotiva then 802N. Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 09-12-2013, 04:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Its not generally possible to output a DSD stream from a PC. HDMI would be the only connect capable. Your best option is to access DSD files directly from network connected playback devices. Very few support DSD files, Oppo being one.
post #3 of 34 Old 09-13-2013, 04:05 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanhenson View Post

I'm new to the lossless audio ...I am guessing my computer will not output lossless audio from a digital coaxial output to my receiver?.....This is going to a Rotel tuner, emotiva then 802N....

Just to add to what rdgrimes said, S/PDIF (digital coaxial or optical) doesn't support multi-channel lossless audio at all. You best bet may be to transcode to LPCM and send through HDMI. You can output muli-channel lossless over USB or a WiFi connection (is 802n your WiFi connection?).

Also your hookup chain doesn't make sense since there is no way to send audio (other than radio waves) into a tuner.
post #4 of 34 Old 09-13-2013, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter