Black Hawk Down - What is LPCM 5.1 and why does it sounds AMAZING? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched black hawk down for the first time with my dual 12" subs. All the way through the sound was OK...not really all that impressive. It was loud...gunfire..helicopters...sounded alright. The Irene Scene was 'meh'. A little action from the subs, but they werent really kicking in. Not much air out of the rear ports. I checked my settings all the way through the movie thinking something was up.

ANyway, at the end, I decided to poke around with the BD settings and the 'audio' button. Apparently there is a default 5.1 and the second setting is LPCM 5.1 which seems to have a LOT more data associated with it I guess. Anyway, the sound from the Irene scene THEN sounded like I thought it should. In fact, everything sounded better...a LOT better. Helicopters rumbled my walls, gun shots split my ear, it was amazing. So what in the world is it and why does it sound so much more awesome when the default DD 5.1 is so blah?
brazosdog02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
LineWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Salem, MA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
LPCM is simply the original soundtrack to the program without any compression, such as you have with standard Dolby or DTS. It was utilized on a lot of early Blu-ray titles, of which Black Hawk Down is but one. Nowadays, most Blu-ray titles use lossless formats like Dolby TrueHD or (more commonly) DTS-HD Master Audio, which do much the same thing as LPCM.

LineWalker is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool. Wonder why the db didn't default to lossless?
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Many early Blu-ray titles defaulted to lossy because a lot of people didn't have lossless capabilities with receivers, etc.

DavidHir is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bdp-s5100 is what I have. Not a big deal
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Milt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Of California
Posts: 5,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 76
So how did you like the music in Black Hawk Down? wink.gif

 

It ain't ignorance causes so much trouble; it's folks knowing so much that ain't so

Milt99 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 06-08-2014, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good music when it was made good music now, bro.
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-09-2014, 04:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 39
LPCM on BD is one of those strange marketing got screwed around things. Originally BD touted being able to offer uncompressed LPCM audio over HD DVD which needed TrueHD compression because of limited data rate/space. However the public sees Dolby and/or DTS labels as an audio "quality" improvement and BD switched away from LPCM for the most part. Even now you can find people on these forums that will endlessly debate the "differences" in decoded SQ between TrueHD, DTS-MA and LPCM.
Will2007 likes this.
William is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 06-09-2014, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I fixed the settings on my BD player to utilize uncompressed audio when its available but ill be double checking with a few BD from now on. I guess the vast majority doesnt care, but for me, part of being IN the movie was feeling and being immersed. The DD just didn't get it done.

Im actually kind of sad I didnt realize it until the end of the movie. Im going to rewatch it with the wife and enjoy again. My first clue should have been needing to turn up the sound to near reference levels to become immersed. I rarely have to do that.
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 06-10-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Your player cannot be set to play anything other than the default track that was set when the disc was authored. If you want another track, you need to select it on the disc audio menu or by cycling through the choices using the player audio button.

The vast majority of BDs only have one English track, so you can just hit play. Early releases usually had a DD option which was set as the default since most people didn't have equipment that could play hi res audio back then.
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 13 Old 06-10-2014, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, then Ill do that.
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 06-10-2014, 09:19 PM
Member
 
kjfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I thought LPCM is just allowing the player too perform the decoding instead of the receiver. It gives you the option of using the players' DACs for decoding if they are better than the receiver's DACs and vice versa.
kjfalls is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 06-12-2014, 03:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjfalls View Post
I thought LPCM is just allowing the player too perform the decoding instead of the receiver. It gives you the option of using the players' DACs for decoding if they are better than the receiver's DACs and vice versa.
A BD player can do that but a BD can also contain a LPCM track which of course requires no decoding.
William is online now  
Reply Surround Music Formats

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off