Has anyone done a firmware upgrade on a Pioneer DV-563A? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 01-20-2007, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had a couple of disks that would noy play and I've read about doing a firmware upgrade to this player. I found a Pioneer .iso file on the web to do this but I'm hesitant to try it. Has anyone had success or failure doing this?
jcoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 01-20-2007, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoin View Post

I have had a couple of disks that would noy play and I've read about doing a firmware upgrade to this player. I found a Pioneer .iso file on the web to do this but I'm hesitant to try it. Has anyone had success or failure doing this?

I did the firmware upgrade on my 563A without a hitch. Popped in the disk and followed the prompts. It fixed the problem that I had playing some, but not all disks.
elee532 is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 01-20-2007, 10:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've done the firmware upgrade as well. Fixed all my problems. PM me with your e-mail if you want it.
David Scott is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 01-24-2007, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help in solving my firmware problem. Finally got it to run and it worked like a charm. The Crosby disk is now playing loudly as I type.

Thanks Again
jcoin is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 02:47 AM
Newbie
 
NeonShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been looking for a firmware update for my Pioneer DV-563A for a while, can anyone help me out with a copy? What version do you have after the update? Thanks.
NeonShark is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeonShark View Post

I've been looking for a firmware update for my Pioneer DV-563A for a while, can anyone help me out with a copy? What version do you have after the update? Thanks.

Sent you a copy. It fixed the playback problem I was having with a few dvd-audio discs. Too bad Pioneer made it so difficult to get. They could have just posted on their website, but back when it came out they made you ship your player. I think I got it from someone at the quad forum a couple years ago, and have probably passed it along at least a dozen times here.
David Scott is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
NeonShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the update, it worked just fine. Now I can watch everything.
NeonShark is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I had problems playing a few disks way back when I first got my player, about 4 or 5 (?) years ago. I got the firmware updated by physically carrying my player into one of the local service centers.

Was there just the one update, or are there "recent" disks that are problematic that would be "cured" by a recent FW release? I'm curious whether I should check particular disks, since I still use it and haven't noticed any issues with anything I've thrown at it since that one update.

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinksma View Post

I had problems playing a few disks way back when I first got my player, about 4 or 5 (?) years ago. I got the firmware updated by physically carrying my player into one of the local service centers.

Was there just the one update, or are there "recent" disks that are problematic that would be "cured" by a recent FW release? I'm curious whether I should check particular disks, since I still use it and haven't noticed any issues with anything I've thrown at it since that one update.

shinksma

I haven't seen any other updates, and haven't had any problems since the first firmware update.
David Scott is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine has also been great since the firmware upgrade. Have not had one problem since.
jcoin is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 05-24-2008, 07:40 PM
Member
 
moneywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought mine several years ago Never heard of or done any firmware update and never have any issue. Played SACD, DVD-audio, CD, DVD,.. pretty fine. It still plays smoothly in my 2nd HT room now.
moneywalker is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 06-06-2009, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Matty Red Sox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ummm, does anyone have this firmware disc? I'd love a copy. I am not currently allowed to buy new stuff for a while.
Matty Red Sox is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 06-06-2009, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty Red Sox View Post

Ummm, does anyone have this firmware disc? I'd love a copy. I am not currently allowed to buy new stuff for a while.

I still have the .iso file. PM me you email address and I'll send it to you.
jcoin is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 12-06-2009, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ghoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Eastern, PA.
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this the latest version?

http://www.quadraphonicquad.com/foru...&postcount=272

- Karl
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" target="_blank">ReplayTV OS Images (Primary)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

**This space for rent**
Ghoul is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 12-07-2009, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't if that is the latest but the one I have is close to the same size. PM me and I'll send it to you.
jcoin is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 12-07-2009, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Geremia P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoin View Post

I don't if that is the latest but the one I have is close to the same size. PM me and I'll send it to you.

It would be great if I could get a copy as well. Will PM.
Geremia P. is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 12-08-2009, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
iso sent
jcoin is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 12-09-2009, 03:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Geremia P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoin View Post

iso sent

Thanks very much.
Geremia P. is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 12-11-2009, 01:32 PM
Member
 
flattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering if anyone has had a problem with the video on the Pio563a. I performed the firmware update back when it first popped up on the internet. Player performed great with no problem playing back disks that gave it hiccups before.

Now the video has gone wacky. There is an image but it is distorted and it scrolls like on the old tv's when the V Hold was out of adjustment.

Does anyone know of a quick fix for something like this? I don't care about the player for movies but being able to view the set up menu would be nice since I have a new sub and would like to calibrate it correctly for use with SACD and DVD-A.

Thanks.
flattie is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 12-11-2009, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
locomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by flattie View Post

Wondering if anyone has had a problem with the video on the Pio563a. I performed the firmware update back when it first popped up on the internet. Player performed great with no problem playing back disks that gave it hiccups before.

Now the video has gone wacky. There is an image but it is distorted and it scrolls like on the old tv's when the V Hold was out of adjustment.

Does anyone know of a quick fix for something like this? I don't care about the player for movies but being able to view the set up menu would be nice since I have a new sub and would like to calibrate it correctly for use with SACD and DVD-A.

Thanks.

I don't own one anymore, but if I remember, not all outputs are on simultaneously, (at least not correctly).
Try the S-Video etc.
locomo is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 04-06-2011, 06:23 AM
Member
 
powaking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fall River, MA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoin View Post

iso sent

I know this thread is dated but just picked up the Rush Moving Pictures DVD-Audio and I'm not getting any audio. Video is fine but no surround sound in DVD-Audio.

I was able to download the firmware from the quad forum but not sure if that is the latest version.

You too can be a guru at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
powaking is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 10-12-2011, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Dmac99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also unable to play this DVD-A. Were you able to play this after the Firmware upgrade? If so any advice on ow to get the upgrade cd would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Dmac
Dmac99 is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 10-16-2011, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmac99 View Post

I am also unable to play this DVD-A. Were you able to play this after the Firmware upgrade? If so any advice on ow to get the upgrade cd would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Dmac

pm sent.
jcoin is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 11-10-2011, 11:55 PM
Member
 
fireprix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Greenville, PA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmac99 View Post

I am also unable to play this DVD-A. Were you able to play this after the Firmware upgrade? If so any advice on ow to get the upgrade cd would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Dmac

Hi all new to site. I just found out about this problem. My wife has a DVD-A version of Donald Fagen Morph the Cat that she had for a while. I thought it was a defective disc. I recently purchased Rush Moving Pictures and found it does the same thing, the timer counts and the TR rate shows but no sound. 1 bad disc maybe but 2? I've had this player since about 03 and never had a problem with it. Did the upgrade work? I've read this thread and some people had issues after doing this.
fireprix is offline  
Reply Surround Music Formats

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off