help - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-05-2007, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Roachgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: katy texas
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
need to back up my sacd's and dvd audio disks beacause my fu@$%^$ dogs ate my remotes for my old dvd player and the new hd dvd player i have comeing in this week doesn't play those formats. I tried the search and gooogle but couldnt find squat.Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Roachgod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-05-2007, 07:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 16,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 90
SACD is not possible to put on your HD.

DVD-A may be doable with the right software and drive. Not sure, though.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-05-2007, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
hotguy8289's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: S. Minnesota/N. Iowa
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't get it. If your new hd player won't play these disks, it certainly won't play backup copies of these disks. It sounds as though you need a universal remote instead of a way to backup your disks. Did I miss something?

TonyW
hotguy8289 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-06-2007, 03:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Roachgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: katy texas
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to remove my old samsung hd 841 from my component rack when my new toshiba hda20 arrives later this week. If I could rip the music to my htpc now from my sacd's and dvd audio disc I would have no real need for the old dvd player anymore.
Roachgod is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-06-2007, 05:31 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 20,265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 1224
What will you use to playback the hi-rez PCM or DSD you rip from the discs?

larry

Serenity now!
PooperScooper is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-06-2007, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roachgod View Post

I would like to remove my old samsung hd 841 from my component rack when my new toshiba hda20 arrives later this week. If I could rip the music to my htpc now from my sacd's and dvd audio disc I would have no real need for the old dvd player anymore.

You can't do it for your SACDs. If they are hybrids, then you can rip the CD layer but you will not have a hi-res copy. Is your component rack that cramped for space?
Ovation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Surround Music Formats

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off