HDMI to TV, then Optical from TV to receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-05-2007, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hdmioptical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I am trying to set this up right tonight. I have a Receiver which can do 5.1 surround sound. and has optical inputs, but not HDMI (so I can't use it to control the video unless I used SVIDEO or rca). I have HD tv, so I want HDMI.
I guess my question is, can I use my TV as a pass-through, so Video and Audio go to the TV using the HDMI, and then I use the TV-optical-out to go to the receiver? I don't know if I'll lose audio quality versus just going from the components to the receiver.
I'd prefer to go through the tv, so I have one less switch to change when I want to switch devices I'm watching.
hdmioptical is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-05-2007, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hdmioptical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to clarify, my TV is a Samsung HL-S6187W
Thanks!
hdmioptical is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-05-2007, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ca1ore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you are better off minimizing the pass-throughs. I would have thought that most sources would have optical/coax digital audio in addition to HDMI. If is the case, then run HDMI from your source to the TV and optical also from the source to your receiver.

Certainty and conviction are a sure sign you don't know what you're talking about! The world is not black and white, rather shades of grey!
ca1ore is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-05-2007, 12:13 PM
Member
 
buckloons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The tv will not pass through 5:1 - it will come out as 2:1
buckloons is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-05-2007, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hdmioptical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckloons View Post

The tv will not pass through 5:1 - it will come out as 2:1

Oh, I didn't realize that. I guess I'll go optical audio to the receiver, and just have to switch that and the tv when I want to change from dvd to regular tv/tivo.
hdmioptical is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-10-2007, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you want to minimize the amount of input switching, you should really consider a universal remote like the Logitech Harmony or URC remotes.
tokerblue is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-10-2007, 07:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 68
HD can be passed via a component video connection, as well.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
Reply Surround Music Formats

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off