Do i want to rip AC3 or DTS music from DVD-A/SACD ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2008, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
miks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
i just learned to rip a multichannel sound from my DVD-A and SACD`s.
the question is this- do i want to get DTS or AC3 ?
there is a size difference, AC3 song takes 15MB and DTS takes 50MB to store.
as i believe bitrates are different(450kbps vs 1.5Mbps or something like that)

what is your opinion on which sounds better when it comes to 5.1 music?

dont make fun of my english, its 3rd language for me
miks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2008, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Jeff Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Typically, DTS will sound better.

Could you share (or point us to) your techniques for ripping?
Jeff Fire is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
miks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sure

to rip ac3 i use "magic dvd ripper"
1. open DVD. copy DVD containing only 'main movie and ac3 sound stream'
2. open copied DVD. rip DVD with settings: 'split by chapter', output format mpeg2(original). thats how i get files track-1.mpg, track-2.mpg etc
3. open each track with VirtualDub-mpeg2. and save track as *.wav. that way it cuts off video from file and i get ac3 sound stream in file track-1.wav etc. then simply change filename to track-1.ac3

to rip DTS i use "SmartRipper"
1. open DVD
2. in track selection select one track only at a time
3. in streaming section select DTS only
4. press start and you get file track-1.dts
5. do the same with other tracks one by one

*if program cant open selected Disc, i simply copy VIDEO_TS folder to HDD, then with magic-iso i make cd image, then mount it on virtual drive and it always works

to playback i use Zoomplayer with installed and settedup 'AC3/DTS source filter/splitter' and 'AC3filter decoder'.

if you need more detailed help on that just ask

dont make fun of my english, its 3rd language for me
miks is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SiriuslyCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 2,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this works for SACD?

Boo!
SiriuslyCold is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
miks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have tried with hybrids. i believe transfering 'SACD-only' to DVD would not be as simple as copy layer.

dont make fun of my english, its 3rd language for me
miks is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SiriuslyCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 2,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are you sure this is all legal?

Boo!
SiriuslyCold is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 10:30 AM
Member
 
gregf70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it would be legal as long as he doesn't distribute his "back ups". If they are for his own personal use, there should be no problem.

That is how I understand it.
gregf70 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SiriuslyCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 2,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyway, I don't think he's getting any hi-rez material

for "dvda"
Quote:
Originally Posted by miks View Post

the question is this- do i want to get DTS or AC3 ?

for sacd
Quote:
Originally Posted by miks View Post

i have tried with hybrids.

PC drives cannot read the SACD layer i.e no multichannel sound

Boo!
SiriuslyCold is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rynberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriuslyCold View Post

anyway, I don't think he's getting any hi-rez material

Me either, as nothing he's doing indicates anyway of decoding the MLP-encoded PCM tracks off DVD-A, nor the DSD layer from an SACD.
rynberg is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 09:29 AM
Member
 
mrrame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do I play these tracks (other than my PC) ?

I have lpcm multi channel(6) 48khz wav files. When I burn them as audio CD, I get only 2 channels and others are discarded. Also, Audio CD downsamples my 250MB file to 5mb.

I would like to take audio out of my dvd and play in my car(cd/dvd-a palyer). Is this possible?
mrrame is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
razel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrame View Post

how do I play these tracks (other than my PC) ?

I have lpcm multi channel(6) 48khz wav files. When I burn them as audio CD, I get only 2 channels and others are discarded. Also, Audio CD downsamples my 250MB file to 5mb.

I would like to take audio out of my dvd and play in my car(cd/dvd-a palyer). Is this possible?

To play in your car, you got some choices:

1) buy a car headunit that plays DVDs
1) buy a car headunit that plays dvd-audio discs.
2) use audio software to downmix the 6 channels 48k to 2 channel 44k CD audio
3) use a laptop pc to plug into the (if any) standard line-in to your car headunit
4) buy dc/ac adapter, bring your universal (dvd-a/sacd) player in the car and output via standard line-in (if any)


I too wanted to get higher resolution playback in my car and so far my best hope was to find a car headunit that played loseless WMA. I researched Crutchfield up to a certain price point and didn't find any. If you find any let us know. For your situation, the simplest is to buy a car headunit DVD player. If you must rip then converting to loseless multichannel WMA or buying a headunit that plays DVDs and DVD-A (JVC makes one for retail under $1k) may be your best bets.
razel is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:06 AM
Newbie
 
}{eywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by miks View Post


to rip DTS i use "SmartRipper"
1. open DVD
2. in track selection select one track only at a time
3. in streaming section select DTS only
4. press start and you get file track-1.dts
5. do the same with other tracks one by one

I tried the above steps and all I get is another set of vts files (vob, ifo, etc.), not any .dts files, nor do I see any option to make any. My goal here is to take a DVD-A (The Beatles Love album in this instance) and make an audio CD of DTS files I can play on a DVD player. This isn't working like you said. What am I doing wrong? (I'm using SmartRipper 2.41)
}{eywood is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherbona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi }{eywood,

Welcome to avs

Your terminology is a little confusing since CDs don't have anything to do with DTS.

- Is your goal to create a DTS Music disc (sometimes inaccurately called "DTS CD")? This could be played back by any device/system that can handle DTS music discs. To create a DTS Music disc you need to purchase software that can do it, i.e., SurCode

- Or are you trying to create a DVD that only contains DTS in the DVD files (vob, ifo) etc..? This is what you would do if you were creating an audio only DVD for playback from a DVD player as opposed to demuxing to .dts files (see below).

- Or are you trying to demux so you have just .dts files? If so then I believe regular DVD players won't know what to do with those files if burned to a DVD for playback - but you could use .dts files if playing back using a computer as your playback device. So if trying to demux to .dts files I (or someone else) can probably work on steps/troubleshoot, but maybe include some detail on your intended playback setup as far as hardware (hardware dvd player? dts music disc? analog or s/pdif connection?).

Also just to make sure you're aware, you are getting the audio from the 'normal' portion of the DVD and not the hi-res portion or the DVD-A, which is fine if you are only going for the AC3 or DTS audio.
Sherbona is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Goatspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AFAIK, the actual SACD multi channel DSD track has never been cracked. Shh, don't tell the h4x0rs.
Goatspeed is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off