AVS Forum banner

Subwoofer/LFE Question

4K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  JBLsound4645 
#1 ·
First of all....total newb when it comes to subwoofers. So forgive me if the following questions/statements are dumb.

For some history, I had an old JBL sub that was purchased around 1999. It died in 2006. JBL said it was a manufacturing defect and replaced my sub with a Northridge (10 inch I believe) model for a very small fee. So I hooked it up to my Sony 777ES with the same Y cable and went on my merry way. (although the sub never really sounded that good...more on that later).

I just purchased a new Onkyo 705 receiver and upgraded all my other speakers to Polks. I also ordered a new subwoofer cable from monoprice because my old one had been chewed by my cat.

So yesterday, I am hooking everything up and notice that my new SW cable is not a Y cable. I then notice on the back of my SW that there is a switch for LFE or Normal. It was switched on the LFE setting.

I have done some reading this morning...and I think I am more confused that educated at this point. On the back of the SW, it states I only need one input for LFE...not the Y cable. I guess that is why my SW never really sounded that good?? I know my new receiver does LFE...so I am assuming I only need the single cable and I should use the LFE setting on my SW? Does it matter which side it is plugged into L/R?

Any help...general advice...anything....will be super helpful! I want this new system to sound as good as possible. I have certainly learned a lot over the past months researching the Onkyo and speakers.

Thanks.

See less See more
#2 ·
Just go from the sub out or LFE out on the back of the AVR to either of the RCA inputs on the back of the sub. You do not need a Y splitter. Keep your sub on LFE, not normal and you should be fine. You would only need a Y splitter if the sub does not turn on and stay on automatically.

#4 ·