Best sub EQ under $400 - Page 59 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 1785 Old 02-25-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The 8033 allowed me a wider choice among AVRs when upgraded during the holidays. An XT32 unit was not in my budget and, in fact, I saved even more on my final choice--went with a Yamaha A1000 as I didn't need to worry about the sub.

Even if I move to an XT32 or equivalent/better unit later on, the 8033 will go well in the living room on a future sub addition.
Ovation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
65Cobra427SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Then you need two 8033s.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

For the best approach, of course you can just buy two 8033. Two 8033 is only a tad more money than one 8033s.

I'd laugh at the sugestions but I did seriously consider it. Too bad the odds of seeing a BOGO deal are slim to none.
65Cobra427SC is offline  
post #1743 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
65Cobra427SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
BTW, I started a separate post yesterday for the sole purpose of hopefully finding an alternate unit that would do what I want without the complications or high price involved with some of them.

One reply says "The SMS-1 is perfect for the intended use. You can set up different presets for each listening position. You can even use different listening/measuring positions for each preset. When you switch listening positions, you just switch presets and you're good to go."

I knew the SMS-1 had multiple presets that let you arrange different setups for music and movies, but I didn't think those settings were sufficient enough to compensate for a change in seating position. I'll call Velodyne on Monday to clarify.
65Cobra427SC is offline  
post #1744 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 09:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Yes, you can set each preset individually but I highly recommend the manual setup for each as the autoEQ is quite limited.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1745 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
65Cobra427SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Yes, you can set each preset individually but I highly recommend the manual setup for each as the autoEQ is quite limited.

Agreed. That's another thing I like about the SMS-1... the option of AutoEQ or Manual. Add the benefits of an on-screen display, Presets, etc. and this unit is a great option. Thanks again for your replies Kal.
65Cobra427SC is offline  
post #1746 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Cobra427SC View Post

Agreed. That's another thing I like about the SMS-1... the option of AutoEQ or Manual. Add the benefits of an on-screen display, Presets, etc. and this unit is a great option. Thanks again for your replies Kal.

Note, however, that the SMS-1 has no facilities to deal with time-domain issues when used alone. If you have a separate measurement tool, like XTZ or REW, that also calculates the necessary complex filters, you can implement those in the SMS-1.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1747 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
65Cobra427SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Note, however, that the SMS-1 has no facilities to deal with time-domain issues when used alone. If you have a separate measurement tool, like XTZ or REW, that also calculates the necessary complex filters, you can implement those in the SMS-1.

Is there someplace you can point me to that shows an example of how to do that with the SMS-1?
65Cobra427SC is offline  
post #1748 of 1785 Old 02-26-2012, 04:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Cobra427SC View Post

Is there someplace you can point me to that shows an example of how to do that with the SMS-1?

First, it is in the user's manual.
Second, I described it in my review. http://www.stereophile.com/musicinth...itr/index.html

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1749 of 1785 Old 03-16-2012, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
bsoko2 is offline  
post #1750 of 1785 Old 03-16-2012, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Linky doesn't open.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1751 of 1785 Old 03-16-2012, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Linky doesn't open.

Try this.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #1752 of 1785 Old 03-16-2012, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
thanks for the link! I don't see significant improvement over the 8033S. I assume I'm wrong to think that?

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1753 of 1785 Old 07-18-2012, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Does anyone know any good reason why I could not or should not use an anti-mode 8033 SII with a single mono sub output from my Parasound Halo P7 into two mono subs?

The website is not entirely clear.

I realize the 8033C or 8033 Cinema would be easier, but I'd like the extra frequency response and number of filters, unless someone can tell me why that's not a good idea.
Also it would leave me a better upgrade path for the future.

Thanks in advance...smile.gif

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #1754 of 1785 Old 07-19-2012, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
the number of filters are, in theory, already more than enough for sub when you're using the 8033C. However, in reality, there is no such thing as having too much filters because without knowing your room acoustic signature, one can't tell what is enough. If you have the budget, go with the 8033 SII. In my room, the difference is almost non existent (between 8033S vs 8033SII) but it's there and if I can return my 8033S and add a bit of money for SII, I'd take the SII.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1755 of 1785 Old 07-19-2012, 01:41 PM
Member
 
a1bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonhawk View Post

Does anyone know any good reason why I could not or should not use an anti-mode 8033 SII with a single mono sub output from my Parasound Halo P7 into two mono subs?

No reason for "could not", and neither for "should not". It is perfectly ok to use only one of the inputs.

If you need/want the wider passband range, and have it also corrected (S corrects upto 144Hz, S-II upto 250Hz), then you need S-II. If you don't use the whole range with S-II, then you have more filters available to cover whatever range needs corrections.

So, if you need it, then just get it.
a1bert is offline  
post #1756 of 1785 Old 08-05-2012, 05:34 PM
Member
 
haroon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im having a hard time figuring out the difference between the antimode cinema version and the s version. Does anyone know the advantages of one over the other?
haroon08 is offline  
post #1757 of 1785 Old 09-23-2012, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,332
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Is simplify audio selling the 8033S2?

The one i see here list for $500 but it doesn't say 2- http://www.simplifiaudio.com/online_store/dspeaker_store.html

Also does it really make sense to get any other model besides the first model? How large of a difference is there between all of them (not including the dual core)?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #1758 of 1785 Old 09-24-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

Is simplify audio selling the 8033S2?
The one i see here list for $500 but it doesn't say 2- http://www.simplifiaudio.com/online_store/dspeaker_store.html
Also does it really make sense to get any other model besides the first model? How large of a difference is there between all of them (not including the dual core)?
More recent models can EQ higher up the frequency spectrum (up to 240 hz or so?) vs the original that tops out at 144 IIRC. Also, the newer ones have a "soft" power switch so you don't get a loud THUMP if/when a power outage cycles through the EQ and sub. Those are the differences I recall off hand. I cross over my sub at 80 hz so the original 8088B was good enough for me (plus I got a great deal at an audio show for it).
Ovation is offline  
post #1759 of 1785 Old 03-10-2013, 07:58 AM
Member
 
xMEATx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,
Anyone use the 8033 with anthems arc? Just curious about your impressions. Thanks
xMEATx is offline  
post #1760 of 1785 Old 03-10-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
I use ARC on my MRX-700 after I used the 8033, the frequency curve becomes smoother compared to ARC alone (based on measurement) bu I honestly can't hear the difference.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1761 of 1785 Old 03-12-2013, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the Antimode 8033 Cinema still the best option for simple, easy sub calibration today? I've used the BFD and a soundmeter in the past. I have a need for automatic sub calibration and wondered if anything was better for about the same cost as the 8033 at this time. Thanks.
NismoZ is offline  
post #1762 of 1785 Old 03-12-2013, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
The 8033 can't be beat for the price and ease of use at the time being and in the foreseeable future.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1763 of 1785 Old 03-12-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

The 8033 can't be beat for the price and ease of use at the time being and in the foreseeable future.

Agreed.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #1764 of 1785 Old 03-12-2013, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
bsoko2 is offline  
post #1765 of 1785 Old 03-12-2013, 06:00 PM
Member
 
Modicen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am interested also, will the 8033 calibrate dual subs?
Modicen is offline  
post #1766 of 1785 Old 03-12-2013, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modicen View Post

I am interested also, will the 8033 calibrate dual subs?

Yes--but if you mean stereo subs you will need a higher end model. Most people just run all as one sub. I run three as mono. The two outputs on the 8033 are 180 degrees out of phase, so you need to set one sub out also.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #1767 of 1785 Old 07-03-2013, 02:46 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View PostYes, you can set each preset individually but I highly recommend the manual setup for each as the autoEQ is quite limit

So in your opinion what would work best?

 

- Velodyne SMS-1

 

- Anti Mode 8033 Cinema (http://www.dspeaker.com/fileadmin/datasheets/dspeaker/AntiMode8033Cinema-press.pdf)

 

or 

 

Dirac Live Software

 

ARC2

 

http://www.floridamusicco.com/PDF/arcuserman.pdf

 

I have two subs JLAudio F113

wse is offline  
post #1768 of 1785 Old 07-03-2013, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

So in your opinion what would work best?

- Velodyne SMS-1 (

- Anti Mode 8033 Cinema (http://www.dspeaker.com/fileadmin/datasheets/dspeaker/AntiMode8033Cinema-press.pdf)

or 

Dirac Live Software?

I have two subs JLAudio F113

Why? Those JLAudio F113 have there own correction software don't they?
bsoko2 is offline  
post #1769 of 1785 Old 07-03-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
craig john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 10,244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsoko2 View Post

Why? Those JLAudio F113 have there own correction software don't they?
They only have one filter band. If you run them in Master/Slave, they still only have one filter band; the one in the Master. If you run them separately, you have 2 filter bands, but each one only corrects one sub; they don't work together, which is what they need to do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

So in your opinion what would work best?

- Velodyne SMS-1 (

- Anti Mode 8033 Cinema (http://www.dspeaker.com/fileadmin/datasheets/dspeaker/AntiMode8033Cinema-press.pdf)

or

Dirac Live Software?

I have two subs JLAudio F113
The SMS-1 is a nice tool, as is the 8033. I don't have any experience with Dirac, but forum member "audioguy" swears by it. PM him for some insights.

Craig

Lombardi said it:
Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence."

My System

craig john is offline  
post #1770 of 1785 Old 07-03-2013, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 327
I only have tried the JL, Velodyne and DSPeaker for sub. I like DSPeaker the most.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Room Equilizer Wizard Rew

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off