Official REL Subwoofer thread... - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2015, 08:24 AM
Member
 
The Ukrainian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
REL Stentor internal rewiring

Hi everyone! I own a pair of REL Stentor III. I'm in the process of replacing ALL factory wires inside my Stentors with decent quality copper cables. I'm replacing the crappy factory caps too. Has anyone tried such a thing with your REL subs? If you have, would you share details here, please? Of course I'm interested what the results sounded like. Thanks! Anyone?
The Ukrainian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2015, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
noninoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Guys I really need help - despite reading various help links at the begining of this thread.
I upgraded from mrx700 to 710 receiver and bought two REL S5 subs that should be radio linked (Longbow).
I understand that both subs will work as dual mono.
How on earth do I start the setup if I really cannot alter the positioning ( both subs pointing forward on the inside of both main front speakers) ?

When I switch the mrx on do I try fiddling with the sound of each sub separately , then run them both to fix phase, and then run arc ?
Any advice on settings?
I have no local dealers for either make and had to buy from abroad so I have nobody to talk to.

Please do let me know any hints, tips or tricks to get this right.

Many thanks
noninoni is offline  
Old 03-21-2015, 10:22 PM
Member
 
moggi1964us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Gentlemen,

am I right in thinking that a REL T-5 or T-7 purchased in the US will be able to be played in the UK without the need for any voltage transformers?

The price out here is very good compared to the UK and I would be interested in taking one home with me when we move.

Thanks.
moggi1964us is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 04:40 AM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,936
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by moggi1964us View Post
Gentlemen,

am I right in thinking that a REL T-5 or T-7 purchased in the US will be able to be played in the UK without the need for any voltage transformers?

The price out here is very good compared to the UK and I would be interested in taking one home with me when we move.

Thanks.
No.

http://rel.net/wp-content/uploads/20..._Rear-Nbgr.png
fatbottom is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 06:37 AM
Member
 
moggi1964us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see! Didn't notice the little blacked out box adjacent to the specific voltage.

Shame! Thought I might have saved myself a few quid there

Thanks fatbottom, stopped me making an ill advised purchase.
moggi1964us is offline  
Old 06-04-2015, 10:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hey all, any REL 212se owners on here? Just got my set and was wondering about anyone elses break in experience.
Drillt is offline  
Old 06-04-2015, 10:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 13,928
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3502 Post(s)
Liked: 3485
Just to be safe do at least 1000 hours of break in using a semi-quasi-rigid waveform in the range of 20hz-1000khz (just to be sure). This is specific to the 212se owners.
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 06-05-2015, 12:55 AM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,936
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drillt View Post
Hey all, any REL 212se owners on here? Just got my set and was wondering about anyone elses break in experience.
Just play music for a few hours at a safe level. I like to bed in the drive cones for a bit, rather just blast away movies straight away.
fatbottom is offline  
Old 06-08-2015, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.SoftDome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Howdy,

Question- I have a REL B1 sub. In the past, I ran my REL spec cable to a multi-channel amp with no issues.

I have recently moved to mono amps. With the spec cable to the monos I am getting a hum when the amps are moved to idle via my trigger cable from pre/pro. When I bring the system up the hum halts.

Any idea what is causing this? Again, hum only occurs when mono amps are moved into standby mode.

Thanks
Rick
Mr.SoftDome is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 08:56 PM
Member
 
pchangavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought a REL T9 to go with my Sonus Faber Venere 3.0 speakers. The Venere are floor models from Magnolia so they have been break in. Not the T9. How should I go about breaking in the T9? What kind of music?

BTW, do you recommend connecting the T9 to the R & L front amp channel in addition to the .1/LFE?
pchangavs is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 09:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 13,928
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3502 Post(s)
Liked: 3485
You Rel guys are just too funny. Why on earth would you use both speaker level and line level inputs simultaneously? What seems like that's a good idea? Break in is pretty much just use the damn thing. Either it needs it (somewhat possible on a sub) or it doesn't but you're not likely to tell the difference without an active imagination.....IMHO.
lovinthehd is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:18 PM
Member
 
pchangavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
According to the REL instructions, they claim that by connecting the L/R amp channel to the REL will sync the sub better with the L&R channel in addition to the LFE line. It's a newbie buying my first ever sub so I don't know better than to follow the instructions.

According to this article, it has adv & disadv.
http://www.sonusfaber.com/ContentsFi...ision_1_13.pdf


It claims it can even blow your front speakers because of the low frequency it's outputting.

I'm puzzled and wanted to get some owners feedback.
pchangavs is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 12:07 AM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,936
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchangavs View Post
According to the REL instructions, they claim that by connecting the L/R amp channel to the REL will sync the sub better with the L&R channel in addition to the LFE line. It's a newbie buying my first ever sub so I don't know better than to follow the instructions.

According to this article, it has adv & disadv.
http://www.sonusfaber.com/ContentsFi...ision_1_13.pdf


It claims it can even blow your front speakers because of the low frequency it's outputting.

I'm puzzled and wanted to get some owners feedback.
They are talking out of their arse. Still stuck in hifi era.

For a AV system, use the subwoofer output.
In a 2 channel system, either use L/R pre-out from your pre-amp, or speaker level from your integrated.

There is no need to send high level (full-range) and low level to the sub.
fatbottom is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 03:07 PM
Member
 
COmusicaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Q View Post
When you run your main speakers full range, which is the case for pretty much every REL owner, you will have similar problems. Most regular rooms like mine have a room mode somewhere between 30HZ and 50Hz. If I crossed my sub @ 45Hz, based on the spec sheet of Dynaudio, I would make the 20dB hump even worse. With an active crossover this would be a different thing, yes, but I think many people that buy a REL have it connected to a Stereo Int amp like me, feeding it a full range signal.

IIRC REL's crossover slopes @24dB per octave.

I've already treated my room with bass traps for the 70Hz and higher frequencies. I hoped to fix the humps below that with the MiniDSP, but with no success on my first try using the REW measurements.
Very late to chime in, I know, but I have to agree with what Mr. Q writes. I have a B1 mated to a pair of Dynaudio Sapphires at 23Hz and it's because of a room node in the low 30s. Setting the sub so low doesn't exacerbate the node much but still gives a solid foundation down REAL low, but only when the music calls for it!
COmusicaddict is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello,
I have a REL s/3 along with a pair of B&W CM10s2 floor standers.
The REL is connected via the high level connection to my amp - ATI6002.

I wonder at which level should I cross the real using it's own controls?
I keep fiddling with the settings... in some recordings it sounds great (electronic music) but then too bass heavy (acoustical music)...

Also, do we know what are the corresponding frequencies on the frequency cutoff dial? I'm usually around 3 points form the bottom...

Please share your thoughts, thank you!
RedFont is offline  
Old 10-08-2015, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Rel 212/SE owners. How is this sub in HT??
AtleIB is offline  
Old 10-09-2015, 01:08 AM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,936
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 538
At £3000 it better be good. Personally I'd be looking at PSA S3600i or a Seaton Submersive, or a Ryhtmik F15HP
fatbottom is offline  
Old 10-09-2015, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Todd68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 119
My experience with two REL subs T9 and my last one a 528SE is they are nice for underpinning the mains and can make the overall sound better and satisfy for a music system. But they are overpriced and hyped as being more "musical" and "faster" than other subs though I think that is just a selling strategy. I'd look into those other brands mentioned in that price range and even cheaper for HT and forget about the REL.
Todd68 is offline  
Old 12-19-2015, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Am I allowed to post a listing to sell two REL subs on here?

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60
Marantz AV8801 / MM8077
Martin Logan Motion 50XT Center
Martin Logan Motion 60XT Fronts/40 Rears
SVS PB13-Ultra (2)
Oppo BDP-103D/Furman ELITE-20 PF /Playstation 4/Xbox 1/ Apple TV
DrMichael is offline  
Old 12-19-2015, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
Am I allowed to post a listing to sell two REL subs on here?
You can under Audio Gear under Classified forums.
checker9 is offline  
Old 01-21-2016, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 600
I am new here. First time I've heard of REL was a few months ago.
I have a Sunfire TSEQ-12. Plenty of power. But my room opens into a hallway, so bass distribution is poor. How would you compare Sunfire to REL, as a brand? I am looking for a REL 212SE, but I am not sure it will be an improvement from the TSEQ-12 I mostly listen to jazz and classical, not a big HT fan. Thanks
grigorianvlad is offline  
Old 01-21-2016, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchangavs View Post
I just bought a REL T9 to go with my Sonus Faber Venere 3.0 speakers. The Venere are floor models from Magnolia so they have been break in. Not the T9. How should I go about breaking in the T9? What kind of music?

BTW, do you recommend connecting the T9 to the R & L front amp channel in addition to the .1/LFE?
Not sure about the T9 but that's what I have with my Strata III.
Connecting both low and high level input. I thought it's weird but heck, that's what they wrote in the user's manual.
On the Strata, there is a switch to toggle between the 2 modes though.
tinhvo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Rel , Subwoofers
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off