kicker solo baric s12d 12" 8 ohm - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 08-17-2008, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone got some specs on these oldschool round solo barics, they have been sitting in my garage and i wanted to get them running, on the back of them there is a sticker that states that they are 8 ohm. please any input would help, thanks in advance. peak watts? rms?

insanedrunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 08-18-2008, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
_Noah_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just did a quick search and couldn't find any specs. You should just email Kicker. I owned a pair of L7 Solobarics and they were rated at 750rms/1500peak each. I seem to think that the round style was around 400-500rms/1000peak, if that helps.
_Noah_ is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 08-18-2008, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ill try but im open to more help, i have researched before i posted, but also found nothing.
insanedrunk is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 08-18-2008, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
datgai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you email kicker?

You might have more luck down in the Car Audio Forum
datgai is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 08-18-2008, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for bringing that to my attention, i will ask in the car audio aswell.
insanedrunk is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 08-18-2008, 03:26 PM
Member
 
CannondaleSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a set of those subs hooked in parallel to a 1200 watt amp in a .66cf per sub box.
CannondaleSV is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 08-18-2008, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, im guessing that you wired them in parallel to get them down to 4 0hms?, now i know what range of amplifier to use, thanks CannondaleSV and to all that helped or will be helping..
insanedrunk is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 08-20-2008, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
2003cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a pair when I was in highschool. They were 4 ohm each and wired them paralell to make 2 ohm lead on a PPI a600....600x1 4ohm. It was a rockin setup. That old school PPI metered at 850 rms power output, and my Solobaric 12's hit really nice and are a VERY accurate sub. If I had thoes I would get into my car or design the right box and make a home sub out of them ( again very accurate ). Oh the good old days.
2003cobra is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 08-20-2008, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More pictures, to help you guys help me, ive seen the 4 ohm from the bottom, it looks different, any matter, do the 4 and 8 ohm models have the same rms rating?


insanedrunk is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 08-20-2008, 06:23 PM
Member
 
scotthulbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wanna sell em???
scotthulbs is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 08-22-2008, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
IAMSMOOVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some specs...

No matter which ohm 2, 4, or 8, the max rms power handling is 600 watts.

Recommend sealed enclosure is .88 cu.ft.

Minimum sealed enclosure is .66 cu.ft.

Mounting depth for sealed is 5-5/8.

These speakers can also be placed in a bandpass box, I don't have the specs, will need kicker to fax them to you.

---------------------------------

FYI concerning the power handling

I've installed these speakers many times, and have put some serious wattage towards them and form what I can tell, the more wattage you give them, the better they perform.

My setup is all old school (cause thats when amps were real amps),

Phoenix Gold Titanium series 1000 watt amp, pushing 3 kicker 12 solo's. All 8 ohm which made a 2.66 ohm load, which was mono'd makin it a 1.33 ohm load.

2 wordS, FKN INSANE!!!

BTW, if you want to sell them, I'll buy them hands down, I'm looking to repeat
my system for another car of mine. If you dont get around to installing them, keep me in mind. Hope this helps...
IAMSMOOVE is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 08-22-2008, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help IAMSMOOVE, i want to build the box and install them to feel accomplished, maybe ill consider selling them, im not to sure... ill report back once im done building a box for them.
insanedrunk is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 08-22-2008, 09:29 PM
Member
 
scotthulbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you decide to sell be sure to PM me!
scotthulbs is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 08-25-2008, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
insanedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have one last last question, can a 4 ohm amp handle an 8 ohm load? i have a hitron 1400 watt amp 2 channel, i want to test them directly 8 ohm load, then in Parallel on it before i buy a good amp
insanedrunk is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 08-25-2008, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
oachalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mentor, ohio
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nice find on those subs. Those were very good sq subs and they also got loud.
oachalon is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 08-25-2008, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2003cobra View Post

I had a pair when I was in highschool. They were 4 ohm each and wired them paralell to make 2 ohm lead on a PPI a600....600x1 4ohm. It was a rockin setup. That old school PPI metered at 850 rms power output, and my Solobaric 12's hit really nice and are a VERY accurate sub. If I had thoes I would get into my car or design the right box and make a home sub out of them ( again very accurate ). Oh the good old days.

Ah, the old PPI Art series WERE great amps.
Down is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 08-25-2008, 04:13 PM
Member
 
CannondaleSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by insanedrunk View Post

i have one last last question, can a 4 ohm amp handle an 8 ohm load? i have a hitron 1400 watt amp 2 channel, i want to test them directly 8 ohm load, then in Parallel on it before i buy a good amp

Yes the amp will only put out about half the rated power as in 4 ohm, but you can then hook the two 8 ohm in parallel and then be at your four ohm load.

Down I had some of the Art Series and still have a couple of the Pro Mos PPI amps.
CannondaleSV is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 08-26-2008, 09:33 AM
Member
 
brimorga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a 15" one of these in a sealed box sitting in storage. Was considering buying a HT sub but this thread has got me inspired, plus it will fit perfectly behind a chair in the corner. Any recommendations for a cheap, preferably used amp to power a 4ohm version of one of these? I'm thinking <$200 or as cheap as possible. Only need to drive 1 channel and it's a stopgap solution for now.
brimorga is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 11-09-2008, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
IAMSMOOVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by insanedrunk View Post

i have one last last question, can a 4 ohm amp handle an 8 ohm load? i have a hitron 1400 watt amp 2 channel, i want to test them directly 8 ohm load, then in Parallel on it before i buy a good amp

If the amp is 4 ohm stable, it will have no problem handling 1 8 ohm speaker. Now if 2 - 8 ohm speakers are hooked up in parallel your amp will read a 4 ohm load, and if that is bridged, you now are running 4 ohm mono, which is the same as 2 ohm stereo. In this case you would want a 2 ohm stable amp. Example as follows...

600 x 1 (mono) = 300 x 2 (stereo)

So to future explain, if you have 1 - 4 ohm speaker bridged, you will get the same power as if you have 2 - 2 ohm speaker series. note: (Most amplifiers have peak ratings for 4 ohm mono loads cause this is the ideal load you want for your speakers, the lower the load, the less control you will actually have of your speakers. With that being said, you will usually get more power out to the amp in a 4 ohm mono vs. a 2 ohm series.)

Unless its the cheapest amp I've ever seen (even though its 4 ohm stable), testing the speakers with that amp should not fry the amp. The fuse should blow b4 that happens. Long term, get a better amp, bass peaks may trip the amp to protection mode or blow the fuse.

fyi... the person that had that PPI amp was running a 1 ohm load (back then, that was the best quality amp made.

Any more questions I'll be happy to help, btw I do take tips =]
IAMSMOOVE is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off