True Or False? I can use regular RCA audio cable in place of Subwoofer cable? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey folks,

I need to run 50 feet for my subwoofer. Can I use a regular old RCA audio cable (i.e. the red line from the yellow/red/white set) instead of a special subwoofer cable?

Thanks!
wschmidt likes this.
nullqwerty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lalakersfan34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yep.
lalakersfan34 is offline  
post #3 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
True.

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
 
post #4 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 03:38 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,499
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5973 Post(s)
Liked: 5036
Yes. I use them all the time.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #5 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yes you can, as I did in the past.

But what may happen is that unless the cable is adequately shielded, it may pick up radio signals and you could occasionally hear some radio sound through the subwoofer when the receiver even isn't sending anything to it. The longer the cable, the more likely this will happen. Most (but not all) cables labeled as "subwoofer" cable tend to have good enough shielding though.
wschmidt likes this.
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #6 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DrPainMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
true!

super dirty , super clean , pow
DrPainMD is offline  
post #7 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ransac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tryon, NC
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I have used standard RCA component interconnect cables as sub cables for years. My current cable is 25' and no problems.

OMG, 6 opinions and all are consenting. Not one dissenting opinion. What is this forum coming to?
premsaggar and Cndctrdj like this.

Randy
ransac is offline  
post #8 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 17,262
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1759 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
I will make it 7, true. Heck, I have used component cable as well for audio, guess what, it works. Same goes for extension cord for speaker cables.

Marantz 7704
2 Outlaw 7140s
Speakers- my own creation!
subs 2 XXX ported SLLT.
MKtheater is offline  
post #9 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DrPainMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransac View Post

I have used standard RCA component interconnect cables as sub cables for years. My current cable is 25' and no problems.

OMG, 6 opinions and all are consenting. Not one dissenting opinion. What is this forum coming to?

well said, end.. close thread

I use plain old rgb rca's that came with my cable box. Just striped one of them for my sub. 6 feet or so.

super dirty , super clean , pow
DrPainMD is offline  
post #10 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

I need to run 50 feet for my subwoofer. Can I use a regular old RCA audio cable (i.e. the red line from the yellow/red/white set) instead of a special subwoofer cable?

If you are going to strip a yellow/red/white set, might as well use the yellow. No real good reason. It's just usually a better cable. If you bought a "subwoofer cable", it would most likley be identical to the yellow.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is online now  
post #11 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivadselim View Post

If you are going to strip a yellow/red/white set, might as well use the yellow. No real good reason. It's just usually a better cable. If you bought a "subwoofer cable", it would most likley be identical to the yellow.

I heard this same thing about using the yellow many months ago when I was looking into HT connections. Maybe it was a post from you I am recalling

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #12 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Patdeisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using the standard RCA cable is fine. I actually use a shielded coax cable and have F type to RCA connectors (monoprice) at the ends.
Patdeisa is offline  
post #13 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Don't believe any of the mythological stories about cables. Any ol RCA will be fine.........

as long as you elevate them and remove the earths magnetic interference from the signal.






18Hurts likes this.

My Theater Room JVC RS4910, Panamorph UH480, 148 in. 2.40:1 Dalite HD Pro 1.3, Klipsch THX Ultra II's x 7, Quad JTR Captivator S1 subs
My Previous Non-Dedicated space
RobZ is offline  
post #14 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 07:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Do stay away from this quality of cable:







But if the cable company sells these, the RCA cable is probably overpriced.


My Theater Room JVC RS4910, Panamorph UH480, 148 in. 2.40:1 Dalite HD Pro 1.3, Klipsch THX Ultra II's x 7, Quad JTR Captivator S1 subs
My Previous Non-Dedicated space
RobZ is offline  
post #15 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fireman325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patdeisa View Post

Using the standard RCA cable is fine. I actually use a shielded coax cable and have F type to RCA connectors (monoprice) at the ends.

I've also done this. If you are in the market for buying a cable, just stick with something like this from monoprice:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

You can't beat it for the price.
littlefoott likes this.

Steve

fireman325 is offline  
post #16 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post

Do stay away from this quality of cable:




Why?

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is online now  
post #17 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Slare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While I agree a regular RCA cable will work fine, on such a long run there is a pretty significant chance to pickup interference which will present itself as a hum or whine.

So if you have a 50 foot cable sitting there, go ahead and try it, no loss. But don't go spend $10 on a generic interconnect with very little shielding like pack-in RCA cables. Spend a little extra and pickup one of the generic sub cables (fairly well shielded) from monoprice or similar. And the point about using the yellow video cable from a generic cable is a good one. If you have one of those it'd have a much better chance of being quiet.

BNC cables (with RCA adapters) or component cables tend to be better shielded as well if you have any of those.
Slare is offline  
post #18 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 11:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post

Don't believe any of the mythological stories about cables. Any ol RCA will be fine.........

as long as you elevate them and remove the earths magnetic interference from the signal.









I personally use these cause they're made out of silver. (helps eliminate radio frequencies)

shamus is offline  
post #19 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 11:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Valencia, Ca
Posts: 7,898
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3045 Post(s)
Liked: 4210
$642.00 for a sub cable?

Did you have radio interference before the cable?
Tack is offline  
post #20 of 43 Old 10-20-2008, 11:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Valencia, Ca
Posts: 7,898
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3045 Post(s)
Liked: 4210
Shamus, RobZ was being facetious about the cable elevators.

You may wanna hightail it out of here before you get descended upon
Tack is offline  
post #21 of 43 Old 10-21-2008, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tack View Post

Shamus, RobZ was being facetious about the cable elevators.

You may wanna hightail it out of here before you get descended upon

He was???? I just ordered a set of those blocks... but I got em in gold.
shamus is offline  
post #22 of 43 Old 10-21-2008, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

He was???? I just ordered a set of those blocks... but I got em in gold.

Well, you missed the point. They need to be made of a non-conductive material. Wood, porcelain, and glass are the most commonly used for this application.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is online now  
post #23 of 43 Old 10-21-2008, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post

Do stay away from this quality of cable:



With patch cords like the one shown on the picture it doesn't matter if you use yellow, white or red. Neither one is a coax cable. They are not shielded. I did see years ago that the patch cables that came with satellite receiver included RG59 video cable (yellow) and regular unshielded twisted pair RCAs for the sound. The assumption people make when they see cable with yellow end - it's a standard composite video cable, i.e. 75 Ohm coax cable. This is unlikely the case with the patch cords included with your $50 dvd player.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #24 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Doogsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i thought i read somewhere in his forum that you could also use digital interconnects. I had a couple spare and thought that i might get some improvement over the cable i was using. I then realised i actually needed one to connect my sat receiver to my AVR. but got no sound. Tried the other one. no sound. tried one that i was using to connect my dvd player - worked fine. IS IT POSSIBLED THAT I STUFFED THE DIGITAL INTERCONNECTS USING THEM TO CONNECT MY SUB ??
Doogsy is offline  
post #25 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
a1sy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

I personally use these cause they're made out of silver. (helps eliminate radio frequencies)


(helps eliminate radio frequencies) - that's funny
How exactly it's happening?

I have a HAM radio station and running 1500W to my antenna, that just about 35 fett away, no any interference with regular cable.
Shamus, you are pretty helpful on 5308 thread and very knowledgeable guy here, but can't agree ;-)
Good shielded cable will do the job and don't have to be silver.
I think you confused with skin effect at high frequencies, where the current flow on the surface of the conductor, usually above 30 MHz and has low loss. But it has nothing to do with low frequencies.
Nice looking cable, though
a1sy is offline  
post #26 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doogsy View Post

IS IT POSSIBLED THAT I STUFFED THE DIGITAL INTERCONNECTS USING THEM TO CONNECT MY SUB ??

no

What are you calling "digital interconnects"? A 75ohm cable is a 75ohm cable is a 75ohm cable.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is online now  
post #27 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1sy View Post

(helps eliminate radio frequencies) - that's funny
How exactly it's happening?

I have a HAM radio station and running 1500W to my antenna, that just about 35 fett away, no any interference with regular cable.
Shamus, you are pretty helpful on 5308 thread and very knowledgeable guy here, but can't agree ;-)
Good shielded cable will do the job and don't have to be silver.
I think you confused with skin effect at high frequencies, where the current flow on the surface of the conductor, usually above 30 MHz and has low loss. But it has nothing to do with low frequencies.
Nice looking cable, though

ahem.............

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is online now  
post #28 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Doogsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the interconnetcs that you use to connect the coaxial out of a DVD player to the coaxial input of an AVR
Doogsy is offline  
post #29 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Doogsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they dont appear to be working since ive used them with my sub???
Doogsy is offline  
post #30 of 43 Old 11-09-2008, 07:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ivan Beaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpaxadpom View Post

With patch cords like the one shown on the picture it doesn't matter if you use yellow, white or red. Neither one is a coax cable. They are not shielded. I did see years ago that the patch cables that came with satellite receiver included RG59 video cable (yellow) and regular unshielded twisted pair RCAs for the sound. The assumption people make when they see cable with yellow end - it's a standard composite video cable, i.e. 75 Ohm coax cable. This is unlikely the case with the patch cords included with your $50 dvd player.

What makes you think those cables are unshielded? If you think that then you have obviously never cut one. If you had you would find that they ARE in fact shielded.

Danley Sound Labs

Physics-not fads
Ivan Beaver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off