Premier Acoustic PA-120 - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

read the Audyssey setup guide. it should be left at 120.

If you want more explanation, check out the Audyssey section of my FAQ (the explanation of LPF for LFE is towards the end): http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#section_02

While my site is about Denons, the Audyssey stuff still applies to your Onkyo.

Here is my explanation:

O.K. Thanks for the info.
kwaidonjin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

Mine came with little rubber pads to put at the four corners, on the bottom.

I was hoping for something more substantial than those little things. I wonder what the effects of building a small riser just for the sub would be?

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #993 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Audyssey keeps setting my 4 surrounds and center as full band and turns on double bass. I know i should set all to 80hz. the surround back it sets at 100hz. I have 4 Polk r50' and Polk CSi3 center. the back surrounds are 2 JVC that came with my old HTIB.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #994 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

I was hoping for something more substantial than those little things. I wonder what the effects of building a small riser just for the sub would be?

to bad the rubber packinf foam is so ugly, it would be perfect.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #995 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:46 PM
Member
 
samuelk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got online at Parts Express and ordered some feet, there are several to pick from.

Good luck and enjoy your new sub..............
samuelk is offline  
post #996 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,824
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

Audyssey keeps setting my 4 surrounds and center as full band and turns on double bass. I know i should set all to 80hz. the surround back it sets at 100hz.

read the setup guide

Audyssey doesn't choose small vs. large, your receiver does:
http://www.audyssey.com/faq/index.html#largesmall

Audyssey always recommends changing the speakers to "small" after running auto setup. 80Hz is a good default crossover if the speakers were set to full band. For something set higher (i.e. if your surrounds are set to 100) don't lower the crossover from where Audyssey measured it.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #997 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,824
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuelk View Post

I got online at Parts Express and ordered some feet, there are several to pick from.

Good luck and enjoy your new sub..............

or just get a subdude

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #998 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

read the setup guide

Audyssey doesn't choose small vs. large, your receiver does:
http://www.audyssey.com/faq/index.html#largesmall

Audyssey always recommends changing the speakers to "small" after running auto setup. 80Hz is a good default crossover if the speakers were set to full band. For something set higher (i.e. if your surrounds are set to 100) don't lower the crossover from where Audyssey measured it.

Thanks again, I am trying to read through it but I promised the wife and kids Bolt by 8pm.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #999 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 04:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,824
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 937
don't disappoint the wife/kids!

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1000 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

or just get a subdude

Will the subdude fit this beast? It measures 15"x15" and the pa-120 is roughly 14 1/2" x 17"

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #1001 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well we watched Bolt on bluray, the opening was awesome,the sub definitely showed me what i have been missing.I haven't rally had a chance to get all the settings where I want them. it is hard to work on room placement with something that weighs 60#.I hat that the cord is only about 4 ft long. very short. I had to move my surge protector just to be able to plug it in.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #1002 of 2112 Old 04-03-2009, 09:39 PM
Member
 
hung8489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

Will the subdude fit this beast? It measures 15"x15" and the pa-120 is roughly 14 1/2" x 17"

I think the Auralex Gramma would fit it.

Denon 1910
RC-70's L/R Rosenut
RC-LCR Rosenut Finally!
C-50 Surrounds
hung8489 is offline  
post #1003 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Supposedly the PA-120 is made on the same line as the Bic's. If so does it use a Bash amp? Looks alot like the Bic-F12.
eric-t is offline  
post #1004 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pinstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Bash.
Pinstripe is offline  
post #1005 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 09:58 AM
Member
 
plusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally received my pa120 yesterday.I agree with everyones comments on how it looks and it is heavy.I have a onkyo 706,so I ran the audyssy set up with the volume set at 6.Hardly any noise came out of the sub and audyssy set the sub at 24.5 feet,I ran it again with the volume on the sub at max and audyssy set it at the correct distance and at -15.5.I watched Quantom of Solice and did not really feel any thing from the sub but my infinity p362's sounded amazing.This morning I turned on some salsa music and I have to really crank up the music to get a vibration feel on the sub but nothing really substancial comes out of the sub.I am still hoping that the sub is just not broken in but I am scared that I wasted my money on a White Van Speaker
plusk is offline  
post #1006 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by plusk View Post

I finally received my pa120 yesterday.I agree with everyones comments on how it looks and it is heavy.I have a onkyo 706,so I ran the audyssy set up with the volume set at 6.Hardly any noise came out of the sub and audyssy set the sub at 24.5 feet,I ran it again with the volume on the sub at max and audyssy set it at the correct distance and at -15.5.I watched Quantom of Solice and did not really feel any thing from the sub but my infinity p362's sounded amazing.This morning I turned on some salsa music and I have to really crank up the music to get a vibration feel on the sub but nothing really substancial comes out of the sub.I am still hoping that the sub is just not broken in but I am scared that I wasted my money on a White Van Speaker

You didn't waste your money, something is wrong in your setup. Check the link below for setup questions and your particular avr.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ight=onkyo+706

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is offline  
post #1007 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
billhev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if UPS will require a signature for the sub delivery? I have to go out of town and will have to get a neighbor to roll it into the garage for me.
billhev is offline  
post #1008 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subiefast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm pretty sure signature is required. You may want to contact ups to have them hold it for you.
subiefast is offline  
post #1009 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 04:52 PM
Member
 
windomearle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, UPS didn't leave mine because a signature was required. What kind of box does it come in? I can just sign the UPS slip and they should leave it by the door on the next delivery attempt. I did the same thing for my Polk Monitor 30s. It's probably too heavy for anyone to steal anyway. If it comes in a pretty plain brown box that would probably be better than a box with pictures of the subwoofer on it.
windomearle is offline  
post #1010 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by windomearle View Post

Yeah, UPS didn't leave mine because a signature was required. What kind of box does it come in? I can just sign the UPS slip and they should leave it by the door on the next delivery attempt. I did the same thing for my Polk Monitor 30s. It's probably too heavy for anyone to steal anyway. If it comes in a pretty plain brown box that would probably be better than a box with pictures of the subwoofer on it.

Nope it comes in a walmart type box, it tells what is inside and all the specs. I had to sign for mine.

I set my volume at 6 and the x-over all the way up, audyssey set mine at the correct 10 ft. and the sub was awesome during the opening scene of Bolt. after that I didn't notice much difference in the rest of the movie. But there really wasn't alot going on after the first opening scene. I tried the Jericho missile test in Iron Man and the Skidoosh test in Kung Fu Panda and both sounded great. And I had just did them the night before on my old setup.Audyssey set my sub for -10db and the bass for -3db. I changed it to +3 for the Bass.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #1011 of 2112 Old 04-04-2009, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by windomearle View Post

Yeah, UPS didn't leave mine because a signature was required. What kind of box does it come in? I can just sign the UPS slip and they should leave it by the door on the next delivery attempt. I did the same thing for my Polk Monitor 30s. It's probably too heavy for anyone to steal anyway. If it comes in a pretty plain brown box that would probably be better than a box with pictures of the subwoofer on it.

Mine came in a box with all the pics and premier acoustic logos and a full description on it. Full advertising for any thief!!! DONT LEAVE IT AT YOUR DOOR!! UPS did require a signature. Any thief would throw their back out carrying it but it isnt heavy enough for someone to throw in their car and be gone with it.

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #1012 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 07:40 AM
Member
 
plusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did not have to sign for mine.
I am convinced this sub needs a pretty good break in to start sounding good,mine just keeps getting better and better the more it is played.I suggest for anyone just getting the sub let it play for 12 hours before calibrating.
plusk is offline  
post #1013 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 09:38 AM
Member
 
plusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know if this sub is shielded.I can't find any where that says it is shielded,I have mine close to my tv
plusk is offline  
post #1014 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mine is 3 ft away from my LCD, no problems.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #1015 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
jaejw1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont know if anyone has seen this.. but here is a simple review on the sub.. http://www.hometheaterfocus.com/spea...coustics7.aspx
jaejw1 is offline  
post #1016 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plusk View Post

Anybody know if this sub is shielded.I can't find any where that says it is shielded,I have mine close to my tv

If you have a Plasma or LCD you have nothing to worry about as it doesn't effect these.
eric-t is offline  
post #1017 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 01:24 PM
Member
 
plusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eric,

Thanks, did not occur to me,no picture tube.I have a samsung 52' 850
plusk is offline  
post #1018 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else receive their sub that hasn't giving a review yet?
eric-t is offline  
post #1019 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaejw1 View Post

dont know if anyone has seen this.. but here is a simple review on the sub.. http://www.hometheaterfocus.com/spea...coustics7.aspx

That says it is a PA-6W subwoofer,Not the PA-120
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #1020 of 2112 Old 04-05-2009, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
jaejw1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

That says it is a PA-6W subwoofer,Not the PA-120

yes your right.. oops
jaejw1 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off