BIC America F12 sub anyone ? - Page 95 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The sub in was not designed for speaker level input

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurianOfBorg View Post

I know that. I am going to use the "Sub Out" from the receiver, but it's speaker level, not pre-out. Can I safely connect this to the "Sub In", or do I have to connect it to just one of the L or R speaker inputs. Can the "Sub In" handle an amplified input?

Sorry, KurianOfBorg! I don't know your equipment or your level of expertise. I'll try again. smile.gif

If you use Receiver "Sub out" to F12 "Sub in" it is safe. If you use the receiver's "Sub out", the receiver manages everything. Do not connect L&R speakers to the F12 when using receiver Sub out. The crossover on the F12 will be bypassed so only F12 sub volume will be active.

On your receiver you will need to go into your Bass Management menu, then select what bass frequency you'd like for crossover. If your L, R & surround speakers are small, try 80db -100db. If larger try 60db. Try several & go by what sounds best to you. Your receiver will manage audio frequencies from there. Your receiver should also have an independent speaker volume level menu to calibrate all speaker levels including the F12 sub but you will need to set the F12 volume to a starting point. Use that to balance volume levels for best surround effects.

If this helps, great, but if not we'll need to know what receiver do you have & go from there.
DERG is offline  
post #2823 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 12:45 PM
Member
 
KurianOfBorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DERG View Post

Sorry, KurianOfBorg! I don't know your equipment or your level of expertise. I'll try again. smile.gif

If you use Receiver "Sub out" to F12 "Sub in" it is safe. If you use the receiver's "Sub out", the receiver manages everything. Do not connect L&R speakers to the F12 when using receiver Sub out. The crossover on the F12 will be bypassed so only F12 sub volume will be active.

On your receiver you will need to go into your Bass Management menu, then select what bass frequency you'd like for crossover. If your L, R & surround speakers are small, try 80db -100db. If larger try 60db. Try several & go by what sounds best to you. Your receiver will manage audio frequencies from there. Your receiver should also have an independent speaker volume level menu to calibrate all speaker levels including the F12 sub but you will need to set the F12 volume to a starting point. Use that to balance volume levels for best surround effects.

If this helps, great, but if not we'll need to know what receiver do you have & go from there.

How is it safe unless the sub is specifically designed to handlle high level amplified input? I know the L/R speaker inputs can handle it, but there is no information on whether the "Sub In" port can handle it. A "Sub In" port is generally only connected to a line level / pre-amp output.

I have an Onkyo HT-R380 which only has a passive (amplified) sub out.
KurianOfBorg is offline  
post #2824 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurianOfBorg View Post

How is it safe unless the sub is specifically designed to handlle high level amplified input? I know the L/R speaker inputs can handle it, but there is no information on whether the "Sub In" port can handle it. A "Sub In" port is generally only connected to a line level / pre-amp output.

I have an Onkyo HT-R380 which only has a passive (amplified) sub out.
You're right. The receivers sub out is analog, not digital. Note on page 29
of the manual are directions how to turn on or off the sub. Select No. This will keep your front L & R speakers full range. Wire L & R to the F12 first, then run wires to appropriate L & R speakers. Depending on the size of your L & R speakers is where to set the F12 crossover point. I'd recommend a starting point of 80hz. Everything below 80hz will go to the F12, above 80hz to L & R.
HTH
DERG is offline  
post #2825 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 06:42 PM
Member
 
KurianOfBorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post

The sub in was not designed for speaker level input

This is all I needed to hear.
KurianOfBorg is offline  
post #2826 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 06:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurianOfBorg View Post

This is all I needed to hear.
Will DERGs post help you?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2827 of 2839 Old 02-21-2014, 06:46 PM
Member
 
KurianOfBorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Will DERGs post help you?

I'm not planning to hook it up that way. Since I want to control everything from the receiver, I'll try connecting the Sub Out to just one of the L/R speaker level inputs.
KurianOfBorg is offline  
post #2828 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Boots Rojas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how 1 or even 2 of these would do with an Infinity Alpha 1200s? I've got an Alpha 1200's that I bought new and has hardly been used, sounds great, would just like to have more base for watching movies.

Thanks
Boots Rojas is offline  
post #2829 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 04:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boots Rojas View Post

Does anyone know how 1 or even 2 of these would do with an Infinity Alpha 1200s? I've got an Alpha 1200's that I bought new and has hardly been used, sounds great, would just like to have more base for watching movies.

Thanks
Got a link?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2830 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Boots Rojas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like this?

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-JZtuMkaRt2r/p_108A1200SC/Infinity-Alpha-1200s-Cherry.html
Boots Rojas is offline  
post #2831 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 05:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Yes. It looks to be similar to the F12. Not sure what you mean by "more bass" though. An F12 will add a little more output but wont go deeper. If youre looking for a real upgrade youd probably be better off to sale the Infinity and get a better sub.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2832 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Boots Rojas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Yes. It looks to be similar to the F12. Not sure what you mean by "more bass" though. An F12 will add a little more output but wont go deeper. If youre looking for a real upgrade youd probably be better off to sale the Infinity and get a better sub.

I meant to say deeper base. Thanks for your help.
Boots Rojas is offline  
post #2833 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 05:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boots Rojas View Post

I meant to say deeper base. Thanks for your help.
For a little more money this is a much better sub. If you sell the Infinity it would be less than the F12.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008FSTU4G/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A28SS3BS1DBQ92

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2834 of 2839 Old 03-13-2014, 06:41 PM
Member
 
Boots Rojas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks I'll check it out.
Boots Rojas is offline  
post #2835 of 2839 Old 05-04-2014, 11:21 AM
Newbie
 
mwagiru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where I can get a F-12 circuit board? Something shorted my circuit board and efforts to restore it have been fruitless.

An ebay link would be great.
mwagiru is offline  
post #2836 of 2839 Old 05-05-2014, 03:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wwinkler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: northern virginia
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
mwagiru. You could contact BIC directly to determine whether they sell a replacement amp

Alternatively, you could purchase a replacement plate amp from Parts Express. You may have difficulty getting a plate amp that will fit exactly.
wwinkler is offline  
post #2837 of 2839 Old 05-05-2014, 04:53 AM
Newbie
 
mwagiru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey wwinkler! Thanks for replying.
I did contact BIC but did not get a response. I went through parts express and came across this 1x600W TAS5630 Class-D Amplifier Board

It might / might not fit exactly but I think the the specs fit just fine. As I have never done a DIY of this kind before, I need some confirmation whether this is good for the F-12.

Much appreciated!
mwagiru is offline  
post #2838 of 2839 Old 05-05-2014, 10:42 AM
Member
 
jmr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i'm selling my 2 BIC f 12's
jmr27 is offline  
post #2839 of 2839 Old 05-07-2014, 09:05 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwagiru View Post

Hey wwinkler! Thanks for replying.
I did contact BIC but did not get a response. I went through parts express and came across this 1x600W TAS5630 Class-D Amplifier Board

It might / might not fit exactly but I think the the specs fit just fine. As I have never done a DIY of this kind before, I need some confirmation whether this is good for the F-12.

Much appreciated!

It isn't all that hard. Most any plate amp will do. If the plate amp is too big just cut out the opening in the sub to the right dimensions. A saber saw is a good tool for the job. If the plate amp is too small, then mount it to a piece of ply wood and glue the plywood to the back of the sub. Here is a shot of my old B&W sub with a new 250 watt plate amp from Parts Express. I only had to enlarge one dimension by 1/8" to fit the amp. I just used a rasp.

as6new.jpg
FMW is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off