JTR Captivator - Page 159 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 71
you run before and after. REW is just measuring the response (and can also suggest filters). It is really about validation of what filters or RC systems are supposedly doing.

Pre-Pro: Emotiva UMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Attached are some photos of the room.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3c370c57_image.jpg (139.6 KB, 69 views)
File Type: jpg c42cb65a_image.jpg (80.1 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg 3953e991_image.jpg (42.1 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg 1296fa93_image.jpg (73.1 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg 546aa553_image.jpg (82.8 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg 4a2aa82b_image.jpg (94.6 KB, 63 views)
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4743 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I'm looking to download REW from the home theater shack, then purchase a behringer ECM800 mic and Sonus Audiobox to calibrate using REW. does this sound like the first step? any suggestions and I'm all ears. After taking measurements and correcting the JTRs, i'll then run ARC on anthem and then test one last time after ARC is finished using REW? currently all i have is the Anthem ARC calibrated mic that came with my D2v that i used to run my room correction shown below./Users/chenzhou/Desktop/AnthemARC.jpg
/Users/chenzhou/Desktop/Anthem_room_correction.jpg
/Users/chenzhou/Desktop/110mitr.submicpara.jpg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AnthemARC.jpg (25.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Anthem_room_correction.jpg (18.0 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 110mitr.submicpara.jpg (15.4 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Michael&Klipsch; 08-02-2014 at 10:02 AM.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4744 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 191
I would suggest getting a mic from here that is calibrated.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4745 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Attached are some photos of the room.
the sound panels look cool. Are the commercially available? I like the wave look on the face of them

Pre-Pro: Emotiva UMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
post #4746 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrown105 View Post
the sound panels look cool. Are the commercially available? I like the wave look on the face of them

Me too. Where did you get them from?

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4747 of 4759 Old 08-02-2014, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,867
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Attached are some photos of the room.

That's real nice looking room!

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #4748 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 06:28 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the complements on the room. The panels were ordered from Vicoustic I can’t remember the price but I think they were around $120 per panel. I have a Mac Air that I use for a laptop and it appears that REW needs to be run on Windows 8? I may have to borrow a friends laptop for this but I have looked to order a sonus Audiobox soundcard and a calibrated Mic for it. I have some time though I believe it will be another 3 weeks or so before Jeff ships out the JTR’s and I need to have an electrician come to install 2 more dedicated circuits for each sub. I think I’m going to order a pair of 20’ XLR cables from Monoprice this week. I have 2 balance XLR outputs for Sub1 and Sub2 on the back of the Anthem D2v. I may need to get longer Power cables for the JTRs to make it to the dedicated circuits that will be installed in the Attic.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4749 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Keep in mind that the captivator amps use speakon connectors.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4750 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 07:32 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Keep in mind that the captivator amps use speakon connectors.
I thought they were balanced xlr inputs on the jtr amps I know the power cables for the caps were similar looking to speakon connectors or am I completely backward lol

Last edited by Michael&Klipsch; 08-04-2014 at 07:36 AM.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4751 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 191
signal is XLR and the power is speakon. You said you needed longer power cables for them.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4752 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's what I thought. Does the speakon cable have one end that is a 3 prong cable for the outlet?

Last edited by Michael&Klipsch; 08-04-2014 at 01:57 PM.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4753 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Yes.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4754 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
I thought they were balanced xlr inputs on the jtr amps I know the power cables for the caps were similar looking to speakon connectors or am I completely backward lol
They are not speakon power cables, they are powercon. Speakon's/XLR's carry audio signals and powercon = power ...

BTW, nice room, I hope you enjoy the new subs and be sure to ask (remind) Jeff to send you the powercon cables with the subs.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #4755 of 4759 Old 08-04-2014, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Thanks for the complements on the room. The panels were ordered from Vicoustic I can’t remember the price but I think they were around $120 per panel. I have a Mac Air that I use for a laptop and it appears that REW needs to be run on Windows 8? I may have to borrow a friends laptop for this but I have looked to order a sonus Audiobox soundcard and a calibrated Mic for it. I have some time though I believe it will be another 3 weeks or so before Jeff ships out the JTR’s and I need to have an electrician come to install 2 more dedicated circuits for each sub. I think I’m going to order a pair of 20’ XLR cables from Monoprice this week. I have 2 balance XLR outputs for Sub1 and Sub2 on the back of the Anthem D2v. I may need to get longer Power cables for the JTRs to make it to the dedicated circuits that will be installed in the Attic.
couldn't find those panels on their website. Do you remember the name or model type?


thx

Pre-Pro: Emotiva UMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
post #4756 of 4759 Old 08-05-2014, 05:50 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I asked Jeff this morning to ship 2 (20ft long 20amp) powercon cords with the Cap S2s. So far online I have only found the 20amp cords for these powercon cables to have the Type a Type B connectors. Looks like all the cords with the 3 prong end are rated at only 15amps. I could have my electrician just install powercon connectors when he comes to install my new circuits for the subs. Does anyone else just use 15amp powercords for the S2’s?
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4757 of 4759 Old 08-05-2014, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
I asked Jeff this morning to ship 2 (20ft long 20amp) powercon cords with the Cap S2s. So far online I have only found the 20amp cords for these powercon cables to have the Type a Type B connectors. Looks like all the cords with the 3 prong end are rated at only 15amps. I could have my electrician just install powercon connectors when he comes to install my new circuits for the subs. Does anyone else just use 15amp powercords for the S2’s?
That is a long cable run and the amps need the 20 amp rated power and cords so you should get the 20 amp rated outlets as well.

That is what I did for my dual Orbit Shifters (same amp & powercon connector). In fact I have an extra 15' powercon along with another $2K of extra cables ...

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #4758 of 4759 Old 08-05-2014, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Perfect thank you for the information. I am having an electrician come in 2 weeks to install 2 dedicated 20 amp circuits and I’ll have them install (2) 20 amp powercon outlets as well. Then If Jeff doesn’t supply them I’ll purchase (2) 20ft Powercon connectors to go to each outlet. Looks like the Grey Power Out Neutrick NAC3mpb-1 is the receptacle I need rated at 20A/250V. I’ll order 2 of those for the electrician to install. I have used speakon (signal) cables before but this is a first time experience with power con cables so I appreciate all the info.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4759 of 4759 Old 08-23-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
JC507JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for some help. I recently moved and when I first connected my S2 it would not power on. I tried a few different outlets and after a while I just went back to the original one and a few hours later it turned on. Been running fine for the last 3-4 weeks.

Today I disconnected it to move things around. I just connected it, and again it won't come on. I'm lost as to why and how this keeps happening. I know it's not a lot of info, but does anyone have any ideas???
JC507JC is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off