JTR Captivator - Page 159 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 124
you run before and after. REW is just measuring the response (and can also suggest filters). It is really about validation of what filters or RC systems are supposedly doing.

Pre-Pro: Emotiva XMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Attached are some photos of the room.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3c370c57_image.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	193193   Click image for larger version

Name:	c42cb65a_image.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	193201   Click image for larger version

Name:	3953e991_image.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	193209   Click image for larger version

Name:	1296fa93_image.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	73.1 KB
ID:	193217   Click image for larger version

Name:	546aa553_image.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	82.8 KB
ID:	193225  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4a2aa82b_image.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	193233  
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4743 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I'm looking to download REW from the home theater shack, then purchase a behringer ECM800 mic and Sonus Audiobox to calibrate using REW. does this sound like the first step? any suggestions and I'm all ears. After taking measurements and correcting the JTRs, i'll then run ARC on anthem and then test one last time after ARC is finished using REW? currently all i have is the Anthem ARC calibrated mic that came with my D2v that i used to run my room correction shown below./Users/chenzhou/Desktop/AnthemARC.jpg
/Users/chenzhou/Desktop/Anthem_room_correction.jpg
/Users/chenzhou/Desktop/110mitr.submicpara.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AnthemARC.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	25.6 KB
ID:	193241   Click image for larger version

Name:	Anthem_room_correction.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	193249   Click image for larger version

Name:	110mitr.submicpara.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	15.4 KB
ID:	193257  

Last edited by Michael&Klipsch; 08-02-2014 at 11:02 AM.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4744 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I would suggest getting a mic from here that is calibrated.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4745 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Attached are some photos of the room.
the sound panels look cool. Are the commercially available? I like the wave look on the face of them

Pre-Pro: Emotiva XMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
post #4746 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrown105 View Post
the sound panels look cool. Are the commercially available? I like the wave look on the face of them

Me too. Where did you get them from?

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4747 of 4766 Old 08-02-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 6,523
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 705 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Attached are some photos of the room.

That's real nice looking room!

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #4748 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the complements on the room. The panels were ordered from Vicoustic I can’t remember the price but I think they were around $120 per panel. I have a Mac Air that I use for a laptop and it appears that REW needs to be run on Windows 8? I may have to borrow a friends laptop for this but I have looked to order a sonus Audiobox soundcard and a calibrated Mic for it. I have some time though I believe it will be another 3 weeks or so before Jeff ships out the JTR’s and I need to have an electrician come to install 2 more dedicated circuits for each sub. I think I’m going to order a pair of 20’ XLR cables from Monoprice this week. I have 2 balance XLR outputs for Sub1 and Sub2 on the back of the Anthem D2v. I may need to get longer Power cables for the JTRs to make it to the dedicated circuits that will be installed in the Attic.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4749 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Keep in mind that the captivator amps use speakon connectors.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4750 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Keep in mind that the captivator amps use speakon connectors.
I thought they were balanced xlr inputs on the jtr amps I know the power cables for the caps were similar looking to speakon connectors or am I completely backward lol

Last edited by Michael&Klipsch; 08-04-2014 at 08:36 AM.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4751 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 200
signal is XLR and the power is speakon. You said you needed longer power cables for them.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4752 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's what I thought. Does the speakon cable have one end that is a 3 prong cable for the outlet?

Last edited by Michael&Klipsch; 08-04-2014 at 02:57 PM.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4753 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Yes.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4754 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 6,060
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
I thought they were balanced xlr inputs on the jtr amps I know the power cables for the caps were similar looking to speakon connectors or am I completely backward lol
They are not speakon power cables, they are powercon. Speakon's/XLR's carry audio signals and powercon = power ...

BTW, nice room, I hope you enjoy the new subs and be sure to ask (remind) Jeff to send you the powercon cables with the subs.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #4755 of 4766 Old 08-04-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Thanks for the complements on the room. The panels were ordered from Vicoustic I can’t remember the price but I think they were around $120 per panel. I have a Mac Air that I use for a laptop and it appears that REW needs to be run on Windows 8? I may have to borrow a friends laptop for this but I have looked to order a sonus Audiobox soundcard and a calibrated Mic for it. I have some time though I believe it will be another 3 weeks or so before Jeff ships out the JTR’s and I need to have an electrician come to install 2 more dedicated circuits for each sub. I think I’m going to order a pair of 20’ XLR cables from Monoprice this week. I have 2 balance XLR outputs for Sub1 and Sub2 on the back of the Anthem D2v. I may need to get longer Power cables for the JTRs to make it to the dedicated circuits that will be installed in the Attic.
couldn't find those panels on their website. Do you remember the name or model type?


thx

Pre-Pro: Emotiva XMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
post #4756 of 4766 Old 08-05-2014, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I asked Jeff this morning to ship 2 (20ft long 20amp) powercon cords with the Cap S2s. So far online I have only found the 20amp cords for these powercon cables to have the Type a Type B connectors. Looks like all the cords with the 3 prong end are rated at only 15amps. I could have my electrician just install powercon connectors when he comes to install my new circuits for the subs. Does anyone else just use 15amp powercords for the S2’s?
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4757 of 4766 Old 08-05-2014, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 6,060
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
I asked Jeff this morning to ship 2 (20ft long 20amp) powercon cords with the Cap S2s. So far online I have only found the 20amp cords for these powercon cables to have the Type a Type B connectors. Looks like all the cords with the 3 prong end are rated at only 15amps. I could have my electrician just install powercon connectors when he comes to install my new circuits for the subs. Does anyone else just use 15amp powercords for the S2’s?
That is a long cable run and the amps need the 20 amp rated power and cords so you should get the 20 amp rated outlets as well.

That is what I did for my dual Orbit Shifters (same amp & powercon connector). In fact I have an extra 15' powercon along with another $2K of extra cables ...

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #4758 of 4766 Old 08-05-2014, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Michael&Klipsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charleston, Sc
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Perfect thank you for the information. I am having an electrician come in 2 weeks to install 2 dedicated 20 amp circuits and I’ll have them install (2) 20 amp powercon outlets as well. Then If Jeff doesn’t supply them I’ll purchase (2) 20ft Powercon connectors to go to each outlet. Looks like the Grey Power Out Neutrick NAC3mpb-1 is the receptacle I need rated at 20A/250V. I’ll order 2 of those for the electrician to install. I have used speakon (signal) cables before but this is a first time experience with power con cables so I appreciate all the info.
Michael&Klipsch is offline  
post #4759 of 4766 Old 08-23-2014, 08:11 PM
Member
 
JC507JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for some help. I recently moved and when I first connected my S2 it would not power on. I tried a few different outlets and after a while I just went back to the original one and a few hours later it turned on. Been running fine for the last 3-4 weeks.

Today I disconnected it to move things around. I just connected it, and again it won't come on. I'm lost as to why and how this keeps happening. I know it's not a lot of info, but does anyone have any ideas???
JC507JC is offline  
post #4760 of 4766 Old 09-01-2014, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 23
How does the Captivator achieve such a low tune in such a small enclosure ,..without port chuffing ??

What are the dimensions of the slot port ?

Thanks !!
randyc1 is online now  
post #4761 of 4766 Old 09-02-2014, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 6,060
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC507JC View Post
Looking for some help. I recently moved and when I first connected my S2 it would not power on. I tried a few different outlets and after a while I just went back to the original one and a few hours later it turned on. Been running fine for the last 3-4 weeks.

Today I disconnected it to move things around. I just connected it, and again it won't come on. I'm lost as to why and how this keeps happening. I know it's not a lot of info, but does anyone have any ideas???
I had a problem like that with my Orbit Shifter amps. They were early models and had an issue with power-up. Sent them to Speaker Power for repair (modification) and all was well.

Contact Jeff and discuss with him.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #4762 of 4766 Old 09-07-2014, 12:12 AM
Member
 
tanbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael&Klipsch View Post
Hey guys I have finally made the upgrade after a few months of consideration reading these threads over with a fine comb. I have sold my 4 Klipsch THX KW-120 subs to a friend and I have ordered Dual JTR Cap S2’s. They should be here within 3 weeks. During the wait… ughhhh I am having 2 additional 20 amp circuits installed 1 for each S2. I also have 2 15 amp circuits dedicated to this room which I use to run my Anthem Amps, processor, proj, etc etc. my question is this. Should I purchase some sub eq for them? I use an Anthem D2v which I have used and love the ARC program with a calibrated mic. Do I need something more to eq my new JTRs with before running ARC? Thanks for the input and I will be attaching some photos of my current theater (14x23x10). I still use the THX ultra-speakers in conjunction with an Anthem D2v and Anthem A5+A2. I plan to do a JTR noises theater but not until I move into a new house with a larger AT screen. The current theater will remain the way it is just with 2 new S2s to the mix. My screen is a 146” Stewart filmscreen GS Stuidotek 130 and a JVR RS48 Proj. thwe only other foreseeable upgrade is going to be a Panamorph UH4800 lens for the proj around the holidays thanks for any input I can’t wait to join the JTR club in 3 weeks.
So did you get the S2's? How do they sound? Pls post impressions once you have them. Thanks!
tanbyte is offline  
post #4763 of 4766 Old 09-09-2014, 09:42 AM
Member
 
DevonDeyholos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've been looking around but can’t seem to find an answer to this...

Does anyone know what driver is in the Captivators? I have 3 Triple 12's and some slant 8's and really want something like the cap as my sub. Unfortunately a real captivator is out of the budget so I'm curious what driver it uses. My goal is to build something that will be similar to the captivator and knowing what driver it uses would go a long way in helping me to get there. If Jeff builds his own then would something like the UXL 18 be comparable?

Thanks!

Last edited by DevonDeyholos; 09-09-2014 at 10:01 AM.
DevonDeyholos is online now  
post #4764 of 4766 Old 09-09-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 200
They are Fi drivers.

The UXL 18 is a perfect comparison.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4765 of 4766 Old 09-09-2014, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 23
...The question is how the Cap gets such a Low tune in such a small box without Port Chuffing ?

Anyone have the dimensions of the Slot Port ?
randyc1 is online now  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off