JTR Captivator - Page 162 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4831 of 4843 Old 04-10-2015, 04:34 AM
Senior Member
 
AJ72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I think Jeff stated earlier the difference is less than 2dB.

Klipsch: KLF-30, KLF C-7, KG 5.5, KG 4.2 Power&Preamp: Elektra Theatron, Rotel RSP 1570
Subs: Dual Passive JTR 2400 Captivators
Power Amps: Behringer EP 4000, Crown XLS 5000
AJ72 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4832 of 4843 Old 04-10-2015, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Rod2486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ72 View Post
I think Jeff stated earlier the difference is less than 2dB.
Which would be unnoticeable in any real world listening. Fwiw
Rod2486 is offline  
post #4833 of 4843 Old 04-10-2015, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Permanian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcodemz View Post
If I'll never use the Captivator 2400's extra output advantage over the 1400, how would the 2 compare performance wise?

There isn't any audible difference. It's the same high quality cabinetry and driver.

Last edited by Jeff Permanian; 04-10-2015 at 09:17 AM.
Jeff Permanian is offline  
post #4834 of 4843 Old 04-10-2015, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod2486 View Post
Which would be unnoticeable in any real world listening. Fwiw
At normal volumes, I'd agree, but at very high volumes, I find even a 1dB increase is a very noticeable difference. If you think about volume in terms of weight, a normal listening volume is like holding a 1 gram weight on your hand. Increasing it to 2 grams (3dB more) will be hardly noticeable. At a very high volume, it is like holding a 20 pound weight on your hand. 1dB is about a 21% increase in acoustical energy. You *will* feel the difference if you add 21% more weight on a 20 pound dumbbell.
wlelandj and Red99 like this.
bcodemz is offline  
post #4835 of 4843 Old 04-10-2015, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Pretty good analogy.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4836 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Question on power for the amps: My dedicated space has two 20amp circuits, one for the lights and the second for outlets. All of my gear (receiver, etc.) is outside room on another circuit so the only thing in the room running off the 20amp for outlets is my projector and the power to my reclining chairs. Should this 20amp be enough for a pair of ported Caps (1400) or pair of S2's or will I need to have the electrician out to run another 20amp?

Last edited by RobZ; 04-12-2015 at 02:27 PM.
RobZ is offline  
post #4837 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 299
I would run at least one more 20A line. But if your going to have an electrician come out and do one, just have him run two. Always best to future proof and technically the sp4000 can pull more than 20A at a time. You could probably get by with two S2's on a single 20A line but two S2's and a projector on a single 20A line is not a good idea.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4838 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
I would run at least one more 20A line. But if your going to have an electrician come out and do one, just have him run two. Always best to future proof and technically the sp4000 can pull more than 20A at a time. You could probably get by with two S2's on a single 20A line but two S2's and a projector on a single 20A line is not a good idea.
Good to know. Thanks. How about the balanced inputs on the S2's? That was the other thing I'm unsure of. Would I be ok with two existing RCA runs (from Onkyo 3008) to the subs and just use an RCA to XLR adapter from Parts Express?
RobZ is offline  
post #4839 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post
Question on power for the amps: My dedicated space has two 20amp circuits, one for the lights and the second for outlets. All of my gear (receiver, etc.) is outside room on another circuit so the only thing in the room running off the 20amp for outlets is my projector and the power to my reclining chairs. Should this 20amp be enough for a pair of ported Caps (1400) or pair of S2's or will I need to have the electrician out to run another 20amp?

going back and looking at your theater thread.....Wow! You have a beautiful home! I saw where you said you wanted to go sealed. I say go for it! Two captivator S2's would be nice in your room. I just finished tuning a theater that has two of them and they rock! I used to own one too and loved it. You could lay them down in front in between your speakers unless you want one up front and one in back if it fits behind your seats. Each s2 should have as much output if not a little more than the cap1400 and way much more below port tune.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4840 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post
Good to know. Thanks. How about the balanced inputs on the S2's? That was the other thing I'm unsure of. Would I be ok with two existing RCA runs (from Onkyo 3008) to the subs and just use an RCA to XLR adapter from Parts Express?

Yes. You will be perfectly fine doing that. I use to do the same thing. I just realized that you are in south Texas. Where exactly?
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4841 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
going back and looking at your theater thread.....Wow! You have a beautiful home! I saw where you said you wanted to go sealed. I say go for it! Two captivator S2's would be nice in your room. I just finished tuning a theater that has two of them and they rock! I used to own one too and loved it. You could lay them down in front in between your speakers unless you want one up front and one in back if it fits behind your seats. Each s2 should have as much output if not a little more than the cap1400 and way much more below port tune.

Thanks. I'm in Rio Grande Valley. Yeah I'm torn between a pair of ported Caps or the pair of S2's. My room's on slab but I have a riser at the rear half of the room (not sand filled but OC filled). I'm not even sure if I'd experience any of the sub 15hz with my room. The room has 2 in concrete exterior on two of the four walls and the room is sealed with the exception of two 4x6 windows covered by 2in acoustic panels. Thoughts?
RobZ is offline  
post #4842 of 4843 Old 04-12-2015, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post
Thanks. I'm in Rio Grande Valley. Yeah I'm torn between a pair of ported Caps or the pair of S2's. My room's on slab but I have a riser at the rear half of the room (not sand filled but OC filled). I'm not even sure if I'd experience any of the sub 15hz with my room. The room has 2 in concrete exterior on two of the four walls and the room is sealed with the exception of two 4x6 windows covered by 2in acoustic panels. Thoughts?
Sent you a PM. I don't want to get carried away in this thread.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4843 of 4843 Old Today, 01:15 AM
Newbie
 
AudioZeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am very much interested to get hands on one of these.
To save shipping on group orders of 4 or more, anybody in and around LA interested to group order..?
AudioZeal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off