Paradigm Sub 1 and Sub 2 - Page 53 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 1590 Old 11-28-2014, 03:23 AM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannachin View Post
Ok. I used a Hand Truck when i got my Gotham, the problem was that i almost destroyed the blue feet on the Gotham box. The hand truck was a little bit to wiide. Thats why i like to hawe the correct distance between the blue feet, so i could find a hand truck that will fitt or make the solution i mention first. By the way the hand truck have a very diffirent name in Norway.
Sub 2. In da house.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	180.6 KB
ID:	389514  
marky301067, richmagnus and Pawee like this.
hannachin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 1590 Old 11-28-2014, 02:14 PM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ready.

Ready to rumble.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	198.3 KB
ID:	390225  

Last edited by hannachin; 11-28-2014 at 02:19 PM.
hannachin is offline  
post #1563 of 1590 Old 11-28-2014, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Enjoy! Did PBK come in the box? I can't remember if mine was in or out but I think it was separate.
rwheelwright is online now  
post #1564 of 1590 Old 11-28-2014, 05:03 PM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwheelwright View Post
Enjoy! Did PBK come in the box? I can't remember if mine was in or out but I think it was separate.
Yes. Included in the box.
hannachin is offline  
post #1565 of 1590 Old 11-30-2014, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannachin View Post
Sub 2. In da house.
Congrats

Anthem Statement D2v3D, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" AT Scope Screen, Epson 6010 3D Projector
studlygoorite is offline  
post #1566 of 1590 Old 12-01-2014, 03:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannachin View Post
Ready to rumble.
What are your initial thoughts of the Sub 2.


Did you listen pre and post PBK?


Thanks


Andy.
And007 is offline  
post #1567 of 1590 Old 12-01-2014, 04:15 AM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by And007 View Post
What are your initial thoughts of the Sub 2.


Did you listen pre and post PBK?


Thanks


Andy.
I let it break in fore the moment. Have a cd player conected strigth to the sub to play on the sub alone. Hope to run the Pbk tomorow, and then conect it to the system. So no real music before Pbk.
hannachin is offline  
post #1568 of 1590 Old 12-07-2014, 04:46 PM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannachin View Post
I let it break in fore the moment. Have a cd player conected strigth to the sub to play on the sub alone. Hope to run the Pbk tomorow, and then conect it to the system. So no real music before Pbk.
Tryed to run the Pbk with no sucsess. When i start in position 1 i get this error message.

Could not open waiven handle for exclusiwe use.
Please check that the dewice is not in use by other programs (including windows sounds).
Press ok to retry this position, cancel to abort.

Is there anyone that hawe a clue what this mean.
hannachin is offline  
post #1569 of 1590 Old 12-08-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannachin View Post

Please check that the dewice is not in use by other programs (including windows sounds).

Did you do this, as instructed?

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1570 of 1590 Old 12-08-2014, 12:15 PM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Did you do this, as instructed?
I fixed it. Had to use the desktop computer. Dont know why the laptop dident work out. Surpriced how litle noise the sub made during the calibration. The usb cables should have been a litle bit longer so i dident had to mowe the desktop coputer closer to the Hifi rig.
hannachin is offline  
post #1571 of 1590 Old 12-18-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
heloanand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the street price on this sub1 and sub2 now? i read someone mentioned 4K for the sub2.
heloanand is offline  
post #1572 of 1590 Old 12-18-2014, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I think you'd do well to get a Sub-1 for $4k. Just call a dealer and see.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1573 of 1590 Old 12-19-2014, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
4k is a great price. I was closer to the 6k+ range for my sub 2

Last edited by rwheelwright; 12-19-2014 at 10:41 AM.
rwheelwright is online now  
post #1574 of 1590 Old 01-01-2015, 04:40 AM
Newbie
 
robinsondm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwheelwright View Post
4k is a great price. I was closer to the 6k+ range for my sub 2
The current list price for the Paradigm Sub 2 is $10,500 for black ash or cherry -- or $11,000 for piano black! I think buying a new Sub 2 for $4000 would be essentially impossible. Even a price of "$6K+" sounds very low. Did you happen to buy your Sub 2 a few years ago? If so, prices have increased since then. I recently bought my own Sub 2 in cherry, and while I may not have exhausted all negotiating options, I talked with several dealers, and couldn't do better than a discount of ~19% off list. Your mileage may vary.

Last edited by robinsondm; 01-01-2015 at 04:55 AM. Reason: Rewording
robinsondm is online now  
post #1575 of 1590 Old 01-01-2015, 09:14 AM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
PBK Mic holder.

Is there someone in the Paradigm family that have the mic holder that is pictured on the PBK Box. The new version is a simpler one that only fit the Paradigm mic. I have a Jl audio and velodyne Microfon that have sligtly difrence size, so the older one vould be better fore me. I vould like to bay one ore trade vith the one i have and some money. I am refering to the smal part close to the mic, not the stand.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	163.2 KB
ID:	453250  
hannachin is offline  
post #1576 of 1590 Old 01-01-2015, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannachin View Post
Is there someone in the Paradigm family that have the mic holder that is pictured on the PBK Box. The new version is a simpler one that only fit the Paradigm mic. I have a Jl audio and velodyne Microfon

You have to use the mic supplied with your PBK. Why are you trying to use another mic? If you still want to buy a mic holder go to a music store.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1577 of 1590 Old 01-01-2015, 01:08 PM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have 3 difrent mic. 1 Paradigm. 1 Velodyne. 1 Jl Audio. Vith the older version mic holder, it vould fit all 3. The one included now only the Paradigm vill fit. Yes i know i kan buy stands fore the other 2 mics. Easyer to hawe the small older Paradigm holder and 1 stand, than 3 difrent stands. But Paradigm dont hawe them anymore.

Last edited by hannachin; 01-01-2015 at 10:09 PM.
hannachin is offline  
post #1578 of 1590 Old 01-01-2015, 10:15 PM
Member
 
hannachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
PBK i mic hoder i am looking fore.

Pbk mic holder i am looking fore. Only the smal part that grip the mic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	73.7 KB
ID:	454858  

Last edited by hannachin; 01-01-2015 at 10:22 PM.
hannachin is offline  
post #1579 of 1590 Old 01-06-2015, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
fireballmivec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I am new to the forum. I have a Sub 1 and I am very impressed by it. I have had really decent bass at home. I am using the SUB 1 together with my old SVS PB12 plus/2. They sound wonderful when playing bass tracks.
fireballmivec is offline  
post #1580 of 1590 Old Today, 03:43 AM
Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Has anyone here upgraded from. Sub 1 to a Sub 2?

What was the most noticible change.

I have a sub 1 at the moment, doing a dedicated room, and wondering if I should think about buying a Sub 2.......

Display : JVC X500 Projector | 130" ReAct 2.1 2.35:1 Screen | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Anthem MRX 510 | KEF R700 | KEF R600c | KEF E301 Sides & Rears | Paradigm Sub 1 |
Control : Harmony Ultimate |

Last edited by AidenL; Today at 09:53 AM.
AidenL is online now  
post #1581 of 1590 Unread Today, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 774 Post(s)
Liked: 1063
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
Has anyone here upgraded from. Sub 1 to a Sub 2?

What was the most notice le change.

I have a sub 1 at the moment, doing a dedicated room, and wondering if I should think about buying a Sub 2.......
I don't think that Paradigm would post the detailed TSP's of their custom drivers, so I doubt anyone could tell you the le difference between the SUB 1 and SUB 2 drivers.

Data-bass did a comprehensive third party test of the Sub 2 awhile back, but I have yet to see any such tests done with the Sub 1. That said, if you were able to find the published xmax of the drivers used in the Sub 1 and the Sub 2, one could reasonably back into an estimated output gain. Remember, double the displacement (vd) and double the power should theoretically yeild +6db.
AidenL likes this.
popalock is offline  
post #1582 of 1590 Unread Today, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
Has anyone here upgraded from. Sub 1 to a Sub 2?

What was the most noticible change.

I have a sub 1 at the moment, doing a dedicated room, and wondering if I should think about buying a Sub 2.......
You'll get far better bass performance in your dedicated room getting a second Sub1 instead.
Wookii is online now  
post #1583 of 1590 Unread Today, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 774 Post(s)
Liked: 1063
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
You'll get far better bass performance in your dedicated room getting a second Sub1 instead.
How?
popalock is offline  
post #1584 of 1590 Unread Today, 11:33 AM
Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
You'll get far better bass performance in your dedicated room getting a second Sub1 instead.
I know you run two

Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
How?
I guess by eliminating nulls?

Display : JVC X500 Projector | 130" ReAct 2.1 2.35:1 Screen | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Anthem MRX 510 | KEF R700 | KEF R600c | KEF E301 Sides & Rears | Paradigm Sub 1 |
Control : Harmony Ultimate |
AidenL is online now  
post #1585 of 1590 Unread Today, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
How?
Two subs properly placed in room will always give a much flatter natural in room frequency response than a single sub. I loved my Sub1 when I got it, but adding a second gave me much better bass performance in my room and much more even constant SPL across the frequency range, and across all seats, even before any EQ. Now I'm able to get +/- 1.5dB below 80Hz after EQ in the MLP, and completely removed two major nulls I was suffering from at 30Hz and 60Hz.
Wookii is online now  
post #1586 of 1590 Unread Today, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
I know you run two
Yep! How did you know? Best Subs I've ever heard, period!


Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
I guess by eliminating nulls?
Spot on!

Don't get me wrong, in an ideal world I'd have two Sub2's, but that's a serious chunk of change and in my room, which is fairly small, two Sub1's run at well below half their maximum output, so I'm not in need of SPL.
Wookii is online now  
post #1587 of 1590 Unread Today, 11:43 AM
Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Yep! How did you know? Best Subs I've ever heard, period!




Spot on!

Don't get me wrong, in an ideal world I'd have two Sub2's, but that's a serious chunk of change and in my room, which is fairly small, two Sub1's run at well below half their maximum output, so I'm not in need of SPL.
I was tempted by Rich's one - but wrong timing for me.

What size is your room?

Display : JVC X500 Projector | 130" ReAct 2.1 2.35:1 Screen | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Anthem MRX 510 | KEF R700 | KEF R600c | KEF E301 Sides & Rears | Paradigm Sub 1 |
Control : Harmony Ultimate |
AidenL is online now  
post #1588 of 1590 Unread Today, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
I was tempted by Rich's one - but wrong timing for me.

What size is your room?
Ah right, you're my side of the 'pond', gotcha!

My room is only 18.5ft x 10.5ft.
Wookii is online now  
post #1589 of 1590 Unread Today, 12:31 PM
Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Ah right, you're my side of the 'pond', gotcha!

My room is only 18.5ft x 10.5ft.
Indeed I am, Ireland to be exact.

Doing a dedicated room myself, will be 20x12 approx. thinking through speakers and subs, maybe two Sub 1s for me too. Chatted Asif about speakers in the other place, he said you all changed your minds on a day out in Genesis!

Display : JVC X500 Projector | 130" ReAct 2.1 2.35:1 Screen | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Anthem MRX 510 | KEF R700 | KEF R600c | KEF E301 Sides & Rears | Paradigm Sub 1 |
Control : Harmony Ultimate |
AidenL is online now  
post #1590 of 1590 Unread Today, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
Indeed I am, Ireland to be exact.

Doing a dedicated room myself, will be 20x12 approx. thinking through speakers and subs, maybe two Sub 1s for me too. Chatted Asif about speakers in the other place, he said you all changed your minds on a day out in Genesis!
Not sure we ALL did! feel free to PM me if this is going a bit too OT!
Wookii is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off