How to hook up a BIC F-12, complete newb question. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dukefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I just bought this BIC F-12 along with a new receiver (Onkyo TX-SR608) and Polk Monitor 70/40 Speakers for my new apartment, I haven't moved in yet so I'm trying to order everything now so when I get there I can just get going.

From what I've read you use an RCA cable for the sub, on the picture in the back of the there's several connections visible. So now I'm not sure how I should be connecting this thing up.

Thanks a lot, pic attached.
LL
dukefett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 04:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 948
there are several connections but only one of them is RCA

make sure the RCA cable you buy is a "digital coax / subwoofer" cable with a 75ohm spec like this one, not just your standard red/white RCA: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

then hook it up from the SUB OUT of the 608 to the input on the sub. Disable the crossover on the sub (set the switch to the "Dolby Digital 5.1/6.1/7.1" position), turn the volume to 1/2 way, and run Audyssey... then you are good to go.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dukefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok awesome thanks a lot, that's exactly what I was looking for. I had a cart full of stuff ready to go at Monoprice so thanks a lot for the link.
dukefett is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dukefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another quick question, is there any danger for quality vs. length of cable for this type like with speaker wire? I'm not sure where I want to place the sub yet, I'll do some testing for that, so I'm thinking of getting the 25' just in case.
dukefett is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
slopokdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are fine with 25feet. Subwoofer cables often are offered at lengths like 25 feet because of room placement.
slopokdave is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-06-2010, 04:43 PM
Member
 
wilmer007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to thank you guys as i'm buying the same as OP and had the same question so i didn't have to make another thread and found this through google. Thanks Guys
wilmer007 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-07-2010, 06:47 AM
Member
 
XARiUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good luck with your new setup! I have exactly the same gear, but my Onkyo is the 606. I'm holding out on the hopefully soon to-be-announced 708. =)

X
XARiUS is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off