Lava subs - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1392 Old 02-05-2011, 11:34 AM
Member
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A GLI like that did the trick for my Lavas. They were humming machines until I added that.
mlobitz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1392 Old 02-05-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't a GLI cut out certain frequencies?
Elisha is offline  
post #993 of 1392 Old 02-06-2011, 08:11 PM
Member
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure about what frequencies it may or may not cut out, but it does eliminate that humming. Unfortunately enough people are having trouble with these subs and the ground loop humming that they are necessary.

or...

it cuts out the humming frequencies....
mlobitz is offline  
post #994 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 06:42 AM
Member
 
a10thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reminder: a 3 prong to 2 prong adapter also eliminates the hum. This is a cheaper and easier to find solution.



I am enjoying my Lava sub. It was worth the wait.
a10thunder is offline  
post #995 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wwinkler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: northern virginia
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
a10thunder. The 3-2 prong plug should only be used as a temporary solution because of the possibility of shorting and fire. If you use it and it gives a solution, then you know that the ground loop is the problem (in contrast to a failing part inside the subwoofer amp). You can then use a ground loop isolator to safely solve the hum problem.
wwinkler is offline  
post #996 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 08:20 AM
Member
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwinkler View Post

a10thunder. The 3-2 prong plug should only be used as a temporary solution because of the possibility of shorting and fire. If you use it and it gives a solution, then you know that the ground loop is the problem (in contrast to a failing part inside the subwoofer amp). You can then use a ground loop isolator to safely solve the hum problem.

YES!!! You are defeating an important grounding feature of the sub if you use the 3-2 prong adapter. Hmmm...no hum vs. fire.

GLI...
mlobitz is offline  
post #997 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 08:45 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by a10thunder View Post

Reminder: a 3 prong to 2 prong adapter also eliminates the hum. This is a cheaper and easier to find solution.



I am enjoying my Lava sub. It was worth the wait.

Uhhh, guys? You DO realise that the 3 - 2 adapter IS safe? That little metal tab on the bottom is for the faceplate cover screw which, when attached, provides the SAME grounding capability as plugging directly into the outlet itself.

The problem could be as simple as not having all your equipment on the same circuit, ore as complex as replacing the sub amp or needing major electrical work (bonding/grounding) to the premises. No reason these subs should incur an extra cost like this in my opinion.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #998 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 10:02 AM
Member
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Uhhh, guys? You DO realise that the 3 - 2 adapter IS safe? That little metal tab on the bottom is for the faceplate cover screw which, when attached, provides the SAME grounding capability as plugging directly into the outlet itself.

The problem could be as simple as having all your equipment on the same circuit, ore as complex as replacing the sub amp or needing major electrical work (bonding/grounding) to the premises. No reason these subs should incur an extra cost like this in my opinion.

Now...this is from wikipedia, which I know can be somewhat unreliable, but here is what it has to say about the topic.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheater_plug

In the professional audio and video fields, the cheater plug has been identified as a serious safety problem. Its casual use as a method for avoiding ground loops in analog audio and video signals (to eliminate hums and buzzes) is dangerous.[4] Bill Whitlock, president of Jensen Transformers, writes, "never, ever use devices such as 3 to 2-prong AC plug adapters, a.k.a. 'ground lifters', to solve a noise problem!"[4] Whitlock relates how an electrical fault in one device that is connected to its electricity source through an ungrounded cheater plug will result in dangerous, high current flowing through audio or video cables. Whitlock notes that in 1997, consumer audio and video equipment electrocuted nine people.[4]

The cheater plug is also recognized as a safety hazard in laboratory settings. For example, in August 2005, Tarun Mal, an associate professor at Cleveland University, was electrocuted when he plugged a defective fluorescent lamp into a lamp timer using a cheater plug.[8] Subsequently, the state of Ohio issued seven citations to the university for unsafe electrical conditions.[8] The Scientist notes that four of the University's seven environmental safety experts agreed that use of the cheater plug "is not uncommon in US university labs".[8] Jim Kaufman, CEO of the Laboratory Safety Institute, says, "When you inspect labs, it's not unusual to find anywhere from one to seven that way.

I'm not adding this to "dis" anyone. I just don't want anyone to get shocked or worse...
mlobitz is offline  
post #999 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 10:17 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
This is correct. HOWEVER , it is when the 3 - 2 adaptor is incorrectly installed there is an issue. I was just bringing the facts about them to the table.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #1000 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 11:45 AM
Member
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

This is correct. HOWEVER , it is when the 3 - 2 adaptor is incorrectly installed there is an issue. I was just bringing the facts about them to the table.

Touche'...well played...
mlobitz is offline  
post #1001 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
below90hz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have to second splicer's motion. Even if you don't use the screw tab, its only dangerous if the equipment is faulty (or you play your sub whilst standing in water). What are the odds of the former? Read it again - "Whitlock notes that in 1997, consumer audio and video equipment electrocuted nine people."

By that statistic, You are 6-7 times more likely to get killed by lightning then being electrocuted by faulty AV gear.

That said, I'd personally still go with the Radio Shack ground loop isolator because it's also cheap and actually addresses the issue instead of working around it.

Quit readin my signature ya stupid signature reader.
below90hz is offline  
post #1002 of 1392 Old 02-08-2011, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ratm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I must be in the minority. I have 2 lava 12's. Both are set at the 11:00 position. I have zero hum issues.
ratm is offline  
post #1003 of 1392 Old 02-11-2011, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
mesasone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What the hell happened to the Audioholics review of this thing? The "new" review has been underway for over a month now. Has the second one going "AWOL" as well?

IBEW Local 1643
mesasone is online now  
post #1004 of 1392 Old 02-11-2011, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I don't think y'all understand how your house is wired and what the ground wire is actually for.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #1005 of 1392 Old 02-12-2011, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
arjo_reich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chashint View Post

I don't think y'all understand how your house is wired and what the ground wire is actually for.

lol, I do... but then again I was forced to apprentice for a year pulling wire and in that time eat, drank and shat the 1999 NEC.
arjo_reich is offline  
post #1006 of 1392 Old 02-12-2011, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I also have 2 10's with no hum, corner loaded on the same outlet. However my receiver goes through a ups. Costs more than a cheater plug but well worth it I'd you ask me especially if any of your components have a HDD.
scoobdude is offline  
post #1007 of 1392 Old 02-13-2011, 01:20 AM
Member
 
xXORAnG3Xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to throw it out here.. Some power strips/surge protecters have ground loop isolators built right into them.. Idk if I'm breaking any rules but amazon has some nice APC 11 outlet surge protectors for $10 more then a ground loop isolator at RS
xXORAnG3Xx is offline  
post #1008 of 1392 Old 02-13-2011, 09:04 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
amazon has some nice APC 11 outlet surge protectors for $10 more then a ground loop isolator at RS
Linky???
Splicer010 is offline  
post #1009 of 1392 Old 02-13-2011, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
below90hz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Why would you pay $10 more for a power strip that can only cover one location, when you can pay $10 less for a ground loop isolator that covers all your subs no matter how many you have and no matter where you want to put them?

EDIT: I take that back. After playing with an isolator it did not work the way I wanted it to. (I have three subs). Guess I'm going to get a power strip and see if that changes anything.

Quit readin my signature ya stupid signature reader.
below90hz is offline  
post #1010 of 1392 Old 02-13-2011, 06:40 PM
Member
 
xXORAnG3Xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Linky???

Looks like it's up in price since i bought mine but here's the link..
http://www.amazon.com/APC-Outlet-340.../dp/B0012YFXSW


Quote:
Originally Posted by below90hz View Post

Why would you pay $10 more for a power strip that can only cover one location, when you can pay $10 less for a ground loop isolator that covers all your subs no matter how many you have and no matter where you want to put them?

It's just another option. Since i never had this problem with any of my other subs and i didn't want to mess with the picture quality in my other rooms by adding a isolator to the main cable lines.
xXORAnG3Xx is offline  
post #1011 of 1392 Old 02-21-2011, 06:53 PM
Member
 
87astro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ready to order two 8" subs, I thought I remembered reading about a discount offered to AVS members...

Is there a coupon code to use?

Thanks!

87astro is offline  
post #1012 of 1392 Old 02-21-2011, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crazyrob425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87astro View Post

Ready to order two 8" subs, I thought I remembered reading about a discount offered to AVS members...

Is there a coupon code to use?

Thanks!

Contact them directly and they will give you a coupon code
crazyrob425 is offline  
post #1013 of 1392 Old 02-24-2011, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
clint0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to decide on whether to get two 10's or a couple of 12's.

My room is open and 29x15x8 (3400cf) and I only plan to use the subs for 2-3 years until we build a new home with a dedicated HT and buy all new electronics.

Can anyone comment on whether or not I'll really see that much of a difference from the 10's to 12's based on the size of my room? I'm not sure the extra $185 for the 12's is worth it being I'm Canadian and won't get any discounts.

Cheers
cp
clint0r is offline  
post #1014 of 1392 Old 02-24-2011, 03:31 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Get the two 12's for sure.

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #1015 of 1392 Old 02-24-2011, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flyng_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Absolutely get the 12's in a room that size.

Dumb enough to spend lots of cash on this junk!
flyng_fool is offline  
post #1016 of 1392 Old 02-24-2011, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Fencer04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No doubt, 2 12s.
Fencer04 is offline  
post #1017 of 1392 Old 02-24-2011, 06:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by clint0r View Post

I'm not sure the extra $185 for the 12's is worth it being I'm Canadian and won't get any discounts.

You'll get a discount, I just don't remember how much. I think they take care of shipping and duty for their Canadian AVS members. Just give 'em a call.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #1018 of 1392 Old 02-25-2011, 05:10 AM
Member
 
logan115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

You'll get a discount, I just don't remember how much. I think they take care of shipping and duty for their Canadian AVS members. Just give 'em a call.

Believe it's 15%. All they need is your AVS screen name and then they'll send you an email with more details.



Chris
logan115 is offline  
post #1019 of 1392 Old 02-25-2011, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
clint0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info - that makes the decision much easier. Will call today.

Cheers
cp
clint0r is offline  
post #1020 of 1392 Old 02-25-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe with Canadians its either or. You can opt for the 15% discount or the free shipping and handling. The shipping and handling option will be cheaper cause it covers duties and brokerage.
Elisha is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Lava Subs , Lava Subs 8 Inch 100 Watt Home Theater Powered Subwoofer , Lava Subs 12 250 Watt Home Theater Powered Subwoofer

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off