Forum Jump: 
 5Likes

post #1 of 222 Old 10-08-2010, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just added a second sub (Dual Outlaw LFM-1 EX). This is my first time with dual subs. I have been doing some reading and searching on the concept of level matching vs gain matching. Both really seem to have strong points. I think I like the concept of gain matching better, as to not have one sub run out of steam before the other.

Here is my situation. My room is sealed and pretty small. All of my seating is in the back half of the room (as is most people). Last night I gain matched each sub, and the sub in the room is 3.5 dB louder at the listening position than the one in the front of the room. I didn't have the proper splitter, so that is as far as I got. I am going to spend a ton of time this weekend trying all kinds of positions and measuring and listening.

Is 3.5 dB difference at the listening position too much of a disparity to effectively gain match? Would it be better, if I am going to gain match to put both subs in the front of the room to get a closer match at the listening position between the two subs? In my situation, might it be better to level match each sub at the listening position, since the room is so small, and I "think" I wouldn't push either sub into clipping anyway?

Thanks!
Greg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 222 Old 10-08-2010, 10:32 AM

I have never gain matched my sub's, but I dont think 3.5 db is anything to worry about. Someone who knows more may chime in. I only level match my subs and If one poops out sooner I just turn it down a notch
post #3 of 222 Old 10-08-2010, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11