Advice sought -- musical sub - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 10-20-2010, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, all --

I'm a newbie here. I have tried the search function, but would really appreciate some live interaction:

My primary consideration is a realistic, not-boomy, subwoofer which will complement my new B&W 683s, both for HT/TV and for music. Obviously I want both, but music trumps HT/TV if need be. I'm looking for the right sub and why it will work for me.

Here's what I've listened to and here are my first impressions:
B&W ASW610 -- although they are matched to my fronts, I didn't really like the sound -- I can't articulate, but it wasn't in any way realistic
Klipsch 10" (I think it was the RPW-10) -- no "pop" to the sound, kind of thuddy
Velodyne -- various in the DLS-series (their 10", 12" and 15"). As they get bigger, it's clearly more bass, but not (to my ears) "good" bass despite the $1000 price tag for the 15"
Energy Veritas 10" (VS10B, I think) -- this sounded really good to me. Definitely the right direction! $1200Cdn new at Future Shop
Paradigm PDR-8 -- just sold it; I never liked the fidelity of the sound for anything (and I've been selling off my Paradigm entry level HT speakers).

Based on that, here's what appeals to me apart from the Energy Veritas, based solely on what I've read, not heard:
Mirage BPS-150 or -400. I notice Mirage doesn't make these anymore. Can someone educate me as to the evolution of Mirage's subwoofer line, and if any of the current models should be contenders based on what I care about?
SVS -- either the 10 or 12". I notice they're upgrading their models. Should I care?
I haven't listened to an 8" sub that I like, but does that mean you need at least 10" for 25Hz or better response?

Other things you need to know:
Equipment -- Yamaha RX-A800, B&W 683 front, B&W HTM-61 center, Paradigm Atom v.2 or Mission 760i surround rear