Need help with my Martin Logan Dynamo setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-06-2010, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pvanosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: pvanosta@netscape.net
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My system:
LG 60PK550 plasma
Sony BDP 370 player
Swan Home theater speaker set(front, center, surround)
Martin Logan Dynamo Sub
Pioneer vsx 1020K receiver

The whole HT is set up and calibrated for sound using the Pioneer setup microphone.
The sub is connected via single RCA between Pio Sub Out and ML '0.1 LFE in' input.

The Dynamo manual describes this as the correct way to set up a multi-channel system.

When watching video with DD 5.1 or higher digital sound, the sub works great.

When listening to music (CD, Ipod), the sub does not get any signal. I want the sub to get signal at all times, regardless of the source.

In other words: when the receiver's display shows any other signal than 'digital', the sub gets no signal.

What am I missing? To my nowledge, the pioneer does not have an extra set of pre out plugs that I might be able to plug into the ML sub's 'right in' and 'left in' inputs.

Should I try using some of the other RCA outputs, like CDR/Tape out or DVR out?

Any advice / suggestion would be most welcome.
pvanosta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-06-2010, 01:44 PM
Member
 
haskin1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Jaoquin Valley
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Set your speakers to small and see if that works.
haskin1234 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-07-2010, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pvanosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: pvanosta@netscape.net
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Setting the speakers to small did not make a difference.

Also: any disc media (blu ray / cd / sacd) through hdmi activates the subwoofer correctly.

The Ipod through the USB port does not...
pvanosta is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-07-2010, 04:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
craig john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 10,232
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Use one of the surround modes, PLIIx, Neo:6, etc. That should extract a subwoofer signal from a non-HDMI source.

Craig

Lombardi said it:
Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence."

My System

craig john is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off