Official Chase Home Theater Owners Thread - Page 30 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2017, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Update: 2 of the three SA 100 amps went bad....any recommendations?
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2017, 08:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
derrickdj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,612
Mentioned: 94 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Get an external amp like the I Nuke 3000 DSP.
derrickdj1 is offline  
Old 05-16-2017, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 6,858
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_jitsu View Post
Update: 2 of the three SA 100 amps went bad....any recommendations?
I have an SA-1000 if you're interested in a direct replacement. PM me for info.

If you take yourself too seriously, expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is online now  
 
Old 05-16-2017, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Hi Jim. Given the track record of these amps I am not sure I would buy another. I am wondering if they are worth repairing.


I should probably try working with them a bit on my own first, although I have zero technical ability.


I did my own wiring, but hired someone to tune my system.
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Old 05-16-2017, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by derrickdj1 View Post
Get an external amp like the I Nuke 3000 DSP.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...reo_Power.html
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Old 05-16-2017, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Fixing a Dayton SA1000's hum.


Just as I thought, it seems these amps are not very durable. I got 4.5 years out of them. That durability is probably better than average for most Chinese manufacturing (unless Taiwan, which actually is pretty good quality) which I knew when I purchased them.

Last edited by Dr_jitsu; 05-16-2017 at 11:52 AM.
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Old 05-16-2017, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
OK, just did some dumb guy trouble shooting. The hum is actually more of a hiss, and it is coming from the sub itself.
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Old Yesterday, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 6,858
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1850
Is the sound something new or has it been happening for awhile?

If you take yourself too seriously, expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is online now  
Old Yesterday, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimWilson View Post
Is the sound something new or has it been happening for awhile?

Hi Jim, thanks for the help.


Maybe 6 months. I tried isolating the cables a bit and also plugging the amps into my "sound conditioner" with no luck.


I still have 2 active 18 inch subs.
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Old Yesterday, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 6,858
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1850
Is it possible you have the infamous cable TV ground loop issue? I know the PE amps are highly susceptible to that.

If you take yourself too seriously, expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is online now  
Old Yesterday, 11:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr_jitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimWilson View Post
Is it possible you have the infamous cable TV ground loop issue? I know the PE amps are highly susceptible to that.


Possibly. Any advice is appreciated. https://support.native-instruments.c...Buzzing-Sounds-


I have one amp powering 2 subs that is fine and it is separate outlet.
Dr_jitsu is offline  
Old Today, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 6,858
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1850
I bought one of these to isolate the cable line and it worked very well. Hum is now gone.

If you take yourself too seriously, expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off