Bad sub Hum caused by cheap cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-15-2011, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thenum13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I ordered a 50 ft sub/rca cable from monoprice for under $5.00 When I plug it into my sub's input and turn the sub volume up I get a bad hum. I'm sure it is not a ground loop issue as I tried an isolator and it only made it worse. I tried different outlets but the problem remains. I tried a different cable and BAM it went away. I need at least a 25 ft cable and I really don't want to pay too much. Any suggestions?

This is what I was using
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

This is what I am considering (notice this is only 25 ft I think I can get away with this)
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Thenum13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-15-2011, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holt7153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 3,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thenum13 View Post

So I ordered a 50 ft sub/rca cable from monoprice for under $5.00 When I plug it into my sub's input and turn the sub volume up I get a bad hum. I'm sure it is not a ground loop issue as I tried an isolator and it only made it worse. I tried different outlets but the problem remains. I tried a different cable and BAM it went away. I need at least a 25 ft cable and I really don't want to pay too much. Any suggestions?

This is what I was using
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

This is what I am considering (notice this is only 25 ft I think I can get away with this)
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

looks like the one you're considering is a thicker cable-I've never had a problem with MP cables so maybe you got a dud?

******************
Somebody told me it was frightening how much topsoil we are losing each year, but I told that story around the campfire and nobody got scared.
holt7153 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-15-2011, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just used three of those cables you used to connect an analogue signal, audio and video, from a HD DVR in my second bedroom to an older non HD TV in another bedroom with no issues at all. They are also 50ft in length.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-15-2011, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 171
I been using a pair of this for the last three years without any problem.

http://www.amazon.com/Acoustic-Resea...0246328&sr=8-1

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-16-2011, 09:36 AM
Member
 
signmastr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Contact MonoPrice. They will probably just send u another cable. Very good customer service.
signmastr is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-16-2011, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Make one yourself using a co-ax like Belden #8241F, it has a heavy low resistance shield.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-16-2011, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thenum13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would just like to point out that almost all my cables are from monoprice I've never had a problem with them. One bad $4.75 cable does not change my opinion of them at all.
Thenum13 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-16-2011, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
dnoyeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southfield, MI
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It must be a damaged cable, I'd try another.

If you move the speaker right next to the AVR, and have the cable all bundled in one spot instead of stretched across the room, do you still get the hum?

Exactly how high are you turning the volume?

Signature.
dnoyeB is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off