Lava LSP-10 or Energy EW-100 or Premier Acoustic PA-10W - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 08-30-2011, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noob here. I'm looking to add a budget sub to a home theater system. Probably be used about 80% HT and 20% Music. I've found these 3 and have read many of your posts on each but I'm still completely up in the air on which one to choose. Basically I can get all for about the same price so that is out as a comparison. Can anyone offer any recommendations? (Along with a few deserved noob jabs of course)

Thanks, RKD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 08-30-2011, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter

OK so I figured out that the EW-100 only has a 55 watt RMS amp, that seems a little skimpy even in the $200 range. It might be trailing the pack now.

I would have posted this question in the "Want advice on what sub to purchase? Please read this before posting..." thread but I noticed no one has been getting any response lately on their questions. Come on now, you guys are supposed to be dedicated enthusiasts, someone has to have an opinion on these subs
post #3 of 14 Old 08-30-2011, 01:13 PM

What's ur budget?
post #4 of 14 Old 08-30-2011, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter

Probably not more than $250. Times are tough
post #5 of 14 Old 08-30-2011, 06:54 PM

The lava or bic f12 are popular, I'm in looking for a sub as well and decided to wait a little a up my budget so I can get the Hsu Stf-2. The Stf-1 is currently on sale for $254 and provides a good balance between music and ht. The f12 and lava will extend lower but won't be as flat on frequency response as the Hsu.
post #6 of 14 Old 08-31-2011, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter

Appreciate your advice D. I have seen some love for the Hsu's. I saw the post where someone took apart the Lava and the Bic and it looked like the Lava was made of higher quality components but it's hard to tell from pics.