Official Power Sound Audio Subwoofer Thread - Page 931 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
 17548Likes
post #27901 of 27903 Unread Yesterday, 10:51 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by consequential View Post
Thanks for the reply. I'm new to subs and would like to ask if you could explain more as to what smoothing means here.
Smoothing of the response across a wider area.

With a single sub, you can probably get a good response in a single seat (sometimes not), but if you have multiple seats (or rows of seats), multiple subwoofers are a must IMO.

Quote:
Also you mentioned reducing localization. Right now when playing music especially I can hear the bass coming from the sub in its current location to the right of the front left speaker. It's very noticeable. Is this something I can fix without an additional sub and will a second sub totally resolve that or partially resolve that?
It is unusual, but not unheard of, for a single sub to be localize-able...especially when placed near the main speakers. In order to try and figure out what's going on in your room, you need to answer a few questions:

Where is your crossover set (in both the AVR and on the sub itself)?
Do you have any sort of auto-EQ (i.e. Audyssey)? If so, where did it set the crossovers?
Where is your sub trim set in the AVR? Where is the gain on the sub set?
How large is your room (in cubic feet, including any rooms that your listening area is open to)?
How loud do you listen (Master Volume setting)?

Quote: