A5-350 vs ULS-15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have 2 A5's. I was thinking about selling them and replacing them with 2 ULS-15's. Can anyone compare these sub's? 100% HT use. Gonna cost me like $1300 to switch. Is it worth it? Thx
Liquid$team is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,280
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 267
What are your goals? Output? Sound quality? As far as output is concerned, I can't imagine it would be a significant upgrade. Even SQ I can't imagine it would be worth the up charge.
Gorilla83 is online now  
post #3 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
dpc716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For 100% HT I wouldn't bother, especially if your room is on the larger/more open side. You'll get more output below 18 hz with the ULS but that's about it. You should get more output from 20hz and above with what you have.


If your room is on the smaller side and sealed and you don't think you're using all of the output of the EDs the ULS's might give you a better HT experience, perhaps worth the upgrade.
dpc716 is offline  
post #4 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Basic rectangular room 12x17x9 with a staircase in it. Basically sealed however my AV cabinets are in the rear wall behind the listening position and the backs are open to the rest of the basment so not "completely" sealed. I have plenty of output now so thats not an issue. I was wondering if the sound quality would be improved dramatically? I mean I don't dislike the A5's sound but you always read that sealed subs are oftem more acurate and get less distortion. Someone recently offer to buy one of my A5's so I decided to look around and see about any possible upgrades. Im 100% HT BTW. Sounds like what you are saying that the ULS-15's should not be much different from where Im at with the A5's?
Liquid$team is offline  
post #5 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shadyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,386
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 452
I think you'll definitely be getting cleaner bass, but not an output increase. For a big step up in output from what you have now you might need three or four ULS subs. That will get you major clean output to below 15 hz.
shadyJ is online now  
post #6 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadyJ View Post

I think you'll definitely be getting cleaner bass, but not an output increase. For a big step up in output from what you have now you might need three or four ULS subs. That will get you major clean output to below 15 hz.


thx for the reply. Im actually not looking for anymore output than what i have now. Just wondered about some cleaner bass. From what I have read anything below 16hz is gonna be difficult to hear unless it's upwards of 100dbs.
Liquid$team is offline  
post #7 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mpray1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Delaware, philly
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Stanley Steamer,

Why don't you come to the GTG...I know it's a 6 hour drive for you but you will be able to buy something after it gets the Sh*te tested out of it.

It was also be nice to include your dual eD subs. I know some might even consider trades. As I have been saying for months that sealed gives you deeper extension and a better SQ in my opinion. I bet my mfw dual opposed might get what your lookin for. Come to the GTG and see for yourself with the hard data to back it up.
Mpray1983 is offline  
post #8 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpray1983 View Post

Stanley Steamer,

Why don't you come to the GTG...I know it's a 6 hour drive for you but you will be able to buy something after it gets the Sh*te tested out of it.

It was also be nice to include your dual eD subs. I know some might even consider trades. As I have been saying for months that sealed gives you deeper extension and a better SQ in my opinion. I bet my mfw dual opposed might get what your lookin for. Come to the GTG and see for yourself with the hard data to back it up.

Whats the "GTG"?
Liquid$team is offline  
post #9 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 01:22 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
GTG = Get ToGether. Usually a bunch of guys testing different subs or speakers. Beer and food is usually involved.
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #10 of 39 Old 01-01-2012, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Honestly, if you're happy with output, the best thing you can do IMO to improve SQ is to strive for a flat frequency response. This will entail plotting your FR with REW, omnimic, or spl meter, test tones and excel. Then either use audyssey or some other form of eq to flatten your response. Room treatments will also potentially dramatically improve your SQ.

The above take a lot of time, but are likely cheaper and more effective at improving SQ than upgrading your subs....
dominguez1 is online now  
post #11 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 02:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominguez1 View Post

Honestly, if you're happy with output, the best thing you can do IMO to improve SQ is to strive for a flat frequency response. This will entail plotting your FR with REW, omnimic, or spl meter, test tones and excel. Then either use audyssey or some other form of eq to flatten your response. Room treatments will also potentially dramatically improve your SQ.

The above take a lot of time, but are likely cheaper and more effective at improving SQ than upgrading your subs....

I would hohestly love to be able to do that kind of stuff. I just don't have the first god damn clue on how to do it. Can you offer any assistance in that area? My AVR is an onkyo 3008 so I have audyssey multieq XT32.
Liquid$team is offline  
post #12 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid$team View Post

I would hohestly love to be able to do that kind of stuff. I just don't have the first god damn clue on how to do it. Can you offer any assistance in that area? My AVR is an onkyo 3008 so I have audyssey multieq XT32.

Are you running XT32 now with them?
dominguez1 is online now  
post #13 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nope. I just got the 3008 and have yet to run audyssey. previsouly I was running multieq XT only.
Liquid$team is offline  
post #14 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid$team View Post

nope. I just got the 3008 and have yet to run audyssey. previsouly I was running multieq XT only.

Well, that's good that you ran it with Audyssey. You may get some additional improvement once you run it with XT32.

However, until you know what you frequency response is for your room, swapping out subs may not solve the problem!

My suggestion would be to buy ominimic from parts-express.com (now $298). There is a whole thread dedicated to it on the DIY forum. This will tell you what your FR is. Once you determine that, you can then make adjustments with your sub placement, crossover point, phase, etc. to help flatten our problem areas in you FR. Once you've got it flat, you should notice much more detail in everything that you listen to.
dominguez1 is online now  
post #15 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
No way you should upgrade your subs for $1,300 since you are 100% HT. After all, exactly what does an explosion sound like? Or all the other sound effects that are man-made?

If you were 50/50 HT and Music, then it might make sense to spend $1,300 to upgrade and even then you would probably be better off with a couple subs from Rythmik since they make arguably the cleanest subs short of the Submersive.

Save your money for a really big upgrade, which might not even be speakers of any kind. Look at your entire system and decide where you can gain the most impact. For example, if you are not using a front projector, you might start saving for a 70 or 80 inch Sharp LCD TV. I saw the entry level 70 inch Sharp LCD TV for $1,950 not long ago. A 70 inch TV could provide a huge amount of impact in your TV viewing.
spyboy is offline  
post #16 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 05:09 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why does it have to be an LCD he saves for? why not a plasma? CES is right around the corner and I hear Panasonic will have a 70" plasma this year. Plus plasma is cheaper than LCD in bigger sizes, better blacks, better motion handling, better off angle viewing.
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #17 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
louisdamani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post

Why does it have to be an LCD he saves for? why not a plasma? CES is right around the corner and I hear Panasonic will have a 70" plasma this year. Plus plasma is cheaper than LCD in bigger sizes, better blacks, better motion handling, better off angle viewing.

Plasma rocks.
I agree with the other recommendations. Explore placement, equalization, and treatments before changing subs.
louisdamani is offline  
post #18 of 39 Old 01-02-2012, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
louisdamani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by louisdamani View Post

Plasma rocks.
I agree with the other recommendations. Explore placement, equalization, and treatments before changing subs.

I have an A5-350 in my bedroom and sealed subs in my basement and I like sealed subs better. The A5 can get boomy easily but, that is usually placement or levels set to high.
louisdamani is offline  
post #19 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 04:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx for the advice everyone. I'll add a couple bits of info about my HT. I have an Epson 8500 UB and a wall mounted screen. I seriously thought about getting an actual TV in there at some point. Selling the projector ect. The only problem is that 70 inch is toosmall. I would like an 80 at least and right now those are not cost effective. I actually have a 65 inch lcd and a 50 inch plasma in other rooms. I like the plasma much more. I would love to be able to eq my subs/room. Just don't know how.
Liquid$team is offline  
post #20 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 04:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I guess I have decided to keep the A5's. Im thinking I could drop the $1300 on something else and get more bang for my buck. What I would like to do next (before spending anymore money) is get my subs dialed in. Can someone tell me where to start? I mean from step 1... Thx
Liquid$team is offline  
post #21 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 06:12 AM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid$team View Post

So I guess I have decided to keep the A5's. Im thinking I could drop the $1300 on something else and get more bang for my buck. What I would like to do next (before spending anymore money) is get my subs dialed in. Can someone tell me where to start? I mean from step 1... Thx

I would start HERE. Read up on REW, DL it, and try it out. Ask questions here or at the HT shack.
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #22 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,280
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 267
There is always the (easy, but much more expensive) option to pick up an AutoEQ sub processor like the SVS EQ1. These typically run about 550-600 used as they aren't available new anymore. However, they do work pretty well and are fairly simple.

Edit - Just saw that your receiver has XT32. This should do a fairly good job of the EQ'ing that the SVS product would do. I agree I would start with REW sweeps to see how close you are.
Gorilla83 is online now  
post #23 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla83 View Post

There is always the (easy, but much more expensive) option to pick up an AutoEQ sub processor like the SVS EQ1. These typically run about 550-600 used as they aren't available new anymore. However, they do work pretty well and are fairly simple.

Edit - Just saw that your receiver has XT32. This should do a fairly good job of the EQ'ing that the SVS product would do. I agree I would start with REW sweeps to see how close you are.

Not sure I understand what I'm would use that program for? You said "see how close you are"..... To what? I'm assuming I would buy a mic and DL rew and then measure test tones right? But how would I make changes to the sub to achieve better results? Can those changes be made on xt32?
Liquid$team is offline  
post #24 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW sorry for being so uninformed on the subject and thx for your help.
Liquid$team is offline  
post #25 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 08:27 AM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK it would show you the frequency response (FR) of your sub. It would plot a graph showing if you have peaks or nulls in certain frequencies that you could then use the Eq to smooth out. So say it shows a peak at 25hz but a null at 30hz you would want to lower the output of the 25hz frequency and raise the output of the 30hz frequency to get a flat response. I hope I explained that right.
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #26 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mpray1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Delaware, philly
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Multeq xt32 has the same subwoofer eq as the svs eq1. The eq1 is a standalone overpriced unit. You should be fine with what you have.
Mpray1983 is offline  
post #27 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post


I would start HERE. Read up on REW, DL it, and try it out. Ask questions here or at the HT shack.

Do yourself a favor and bypass rew and purchase the omnimic. If you don't have an spl meter and the right soundcard, you'll have to buy those and configure it all together.

Omnimic will get you what you need and is much easier to setup (its all there in the box) and use imo.

Don't get me wrong, rew is still king regarding its capability. There's just a big learning curve when compared to omnimic. Omnimic will get you what you're looking for wrt measurements.
dominguez1 is online now  
post #28 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 10:36 AM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominguez1 View Post

Do yourself a favor and bypass rew and purchase the omnimic. If you don't have an spl meter and the right soundcard, you'll have to buy those and configure it all together.

Omnimic will get you what you need and is much easier to setup (its all there in the box) and use imo.

Don't get me wrong, rew is still king regarding its capability. There's just a big learning curve when compared to omnimic. Omnimic will get you what you're looking for wrt measurements.

Wow that looks like it will be on my wish list! Thanks Dominguez I never really looked into what omnimic can do until now.
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #29 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post

Why does it have to be an LCD he saves for? why not a plasma? CES is right around the corner and I hear Panasonic will have a 70" plasma this year. Plus plasma is cheaper than LCD in bigger sizes, better blacks, better motion handling, better off angle viewing.

Please send me a Private Message when one can buy a 70 inch Panasonic plasma TV for $1,950.

It is also worth noting that the 85 inch Panasonic plasma is $30,000 right now while the 80 inch Sharp LCD is $4,300 right now. Please send me another Private Message when one can buy a 80 inch Panasonic plasma for $4,300.

I am open to both plasma and LCD, but I have to disagree with your characterization that plasma is cheaper than LCD in the really big sizes.
spyboy is offline  
post #30 of 39 Old 01-03-2012, 07:38 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post

Please send me a Private Message when one can buy a 70 inch Panasonic plasma TV for $1,950.

It is also worth noting that the 85 inch Panasonic plasma is $30,000 right now while the 80 inch Sharp LCD is $4,300 right now. Please send me another Private Message when one can buy a 80 inch Panasonic plasma for $4,300.

I am open to both plasma and LCD, but I have to disagree with your characterization that plasma is cheaper than LCD in the really big sizes.

Well it certainly wouldnt be an entry level but the Pannys will have a 70" in the VT series. The 65" VT is going for under $2600 right now so I would guess that a top of the line VT 70" would be maybe a little more and well worth the extra over an entry level Sharp. Is that 80" Sharp even 3D? You also seem to be hung up on the price of the 85" Panny. I dont see what the price of a PROFESSIONAL MONITOR has to do with consumer Tv's.
GSDTrainer is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off