Another Sub Selection Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure these get old, but I'll be honest, I'm new to subs and I had no idea that is was this complicated. My situation:

13 X 22 X 10 foot room
70% Music / 30% HT
Monitor 70 / CS2 Mains
Budget Under $500
Listening: I guess I'm looking for tightness and punch more than anything else. I like music more, but I don't want to miss out on too much in the low end for HT...obviously there will be some compromise.

Potential options:
HSU VTF-1
HSU STF-2
Energy VSW-10
Cadence CSX12 Mark II

I've got a crappy old Onkyo sub from a previous setup now...so anything will be an improvement...the bar is real low. I've been amazed at the clarity and detail in the uncompressed Bluray soundtracks and would like to extend that to bass.

At this point, I'm sure all these choices would be great. I've read that the Energy might be a good deal right now given that it's on sale for $349 shipped. My other question is about the STF-2 vs. the VTF-1, it's on sale through the weekend at only a $60 difference...would the max output switch really get me that much more when I watched movies vs. music?

I never though choosing a subwoofer would make me think this hard...thanks ahead of time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by hedgehogfrenzy View Post

Potential options:
HSU VTF-1
HSU STF-2
Energy VSW-10
Cadence CSX12 Mark II

Based upon the fact that you listen to about 70% music I would probably consider them in the following order...

Energy VSW-10
HSU VTF-1
HSU STF-2
Cadence CSX12 Mark II

That room is a pretty good size though. Depending upon where you're seated you might find they struggle with the amount of output they can provide.