SVS 20-39PCi pulls 0W? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-08-2012, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I have a SVS 20-39PCi subwoofer and hooked it up to a UPS. The UPS claims it pulls 0W even when it's producing bass. Can anyone explain why this is? It seems like it should be pulling something, even when it's not producing bass.

Yes the UPS works fine, I can connect a simple remote charger and it shows 2W when charging a remote.
Tyrindor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-08-2012, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ransac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tryon, NC
Posts: 4,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
This just proves how efficient the SVS amp is.

Maybe it pulls more than the meter will display, so it shows 0 instead of pegging the needle.

Randy
ransac is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-09-2012, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransac View Post

This just proves how efficient the SVS amp is.

Maybe it pulls more than the meter will display, so it shows 0 instead of pegging the needle.

It's a 900W UPS.

Could it possibly be because the SVS plug isnt grounded, so the UPS isn't detecting it correctly?
Tyrindor is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-09-2012, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
The Sub may be pulling less than 1 watt at idle, so it may not be able to display it.
qguy is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-09-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267
I don't know anything about electricity but try playing a sine wave(100hz?).
http://realmofexcursion.com/downloads.htm
Mrkazador is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-09-2012, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
yeah play something with a continous sound, the burst of sound from movies may be too short for the meter to measure
qguy is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-09-2012, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

I don't know anything about electricity but try playing a sine wave(100hz?).
http://realmofexcursion.com/downloads.htm

Tried Sine Wine 50, 70, and 100 and all produced 0W usage. I touched the sub just to make sure it was producing the sound and not my speakers.
Tyrindor is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-09-2012, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
That is strange it should register something even in standby you would think 1 or 2 watts and definitely when heavy bass is playing most will say on their spec sheet
requires 300 watts or better draw.
oztech is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off