Hooking up 4 Subwoofers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Want to hook up 4 Hsu Uls15 subwoofers 2 stacked on either side of the front stage where I already have 1 subwoofer cable in each spot. My issue is that I can't add a new cable as they are in wall ( or it least it would be a PITA). The obvious solution is a Y connector but I cant find any that are long enough to reach each input from one sub to the other. . Also, I can't seem to find any Y connectors that are all female. Am I missing something obvious ?

TIA

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 177
yes you are..... go to radio shack or best buy or some where and get the female y splitter. They are not long so you will have to get rca or coax cable as well. If you dont want to run a long cable, think about getting a wireless transmitter/receiver for your application.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Also this might help you on sub placement.

http://www.harman.com/EN-US/OurCompa...s/multsubs.pdf

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #4 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Thanks but I would need an all female y splitter and for the life of me I can't find one.

And I have no interest in using the wireless feature as I've used it in the past with not the best results.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hey bud you can do it real easy. You have a male RCA going into the first sub so disconnect it and plug it into a short 2 female one male Y.



Plug the RCA from the wall into one of the females. Plug the male part of the Y into the top sub then run a short male to male RCA from the other female part of the Y to the second sub on the bottom.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
henrich3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
henrich3 is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

Hey bud you can do it real easy. You have a male RCA going into the first sub so disconnect it and plug it into a short 2 female one male Y.

Plug the RCA from the wall into one of the females. Plug the male part of the Y into the top sub then run a short male to male RCA from the other female part of the Y to the second sub on the bottom.

Holy cow I feel stupid. It was obvious! Thanks. For some reason I didn't think it would work that way. I thought the source signal had to be from the single end. I guess I was over thinking it.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

Holy cow I feel stupid. It was obvious! Thanks. For some reason I didn't think it would work that way. I thought the source signal had to be from the single end. I guess I was over thinking it.

I'm here for family anytime. Let me know how the subs sound stacked.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 16,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 64
BTW, there are cheap adapters that will convert the ends of any Y-adapter to whatever you might need.


convert a male end to a female end:

http://www.cablesforless.com/RCA-Cou...ale-P4949.aspx



convert a female end to a male end:

http://www.cablesforless.com/RCA-Cou...-P4948C84.aspx

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

Want to hook up 4 Hsu Uls15 subwoofers

Am I missing something obvious ?

Could use the wireless feature. Set all the subs to receive the same transmitter.
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #11 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Thanks for all the replies. I guess I was really just hooked on the Y adapters being directional or something like that. My problem is solved. I knew it was a blonde oversight.

I really don't like the wireless feature on the subs. I never could use it successfully without popping or signal interference.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #12 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinzoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivadselim View Post

BTW, there are cheap adapters that will convert the ends of any Y-adapter to whatever you might need.

convert a male end to a female end:

http://www.cablesforless.com/RCA-Cou...ale-P4949.aspx

convert a female end to a male end:

http://www.cablesforless.com/RCA-Cou...-P4948C84.aspx

Convert a male end to a female end. . . . Sounds like my neighbor Bonnie who used to be Ronnie . . .
kevinzoe is offline  
post #13 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shadyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,348
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 446
hey wingnut, have you considered stacking them all up in a line array? The Dr had some interesting things to say about the performance of that kind of arrangement, it has me curious. If I had more ULS's I would try it out myself.
shadyJ is offline  
post #14 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadyJ View Post

hey wingnut, have you considered stacking them all up in a line array? The Dr had some interesting things to say about the performance of that kind of arrangement, it has me curious. If I had more ULS's I would try it out myself.

Not really. Mostly for aesthetic reasons but also because I like the improved response from placing them in separate positions.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #15 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
craig john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 10,244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

Not really. Mostly for aesthetic reasons but also because I like the improved response from placing them in separate positions.

If you like the "improved response from placing them in separate positions", consider placing all 4 in separate positions:

Midwall of each of the 4 walls (Welti)
1 in each corner (Welti)
Random Placement, (Geddes)

At the very least, measure the placements and optimize the measurements.

Craig

Lombardi said it:
Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence."

My System

craig john is offline  
post #16 of 56 Old 04-14-2012, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig john View Post

If you like the "improved response from placing them in separate positions", consider placing all 4 in separate positions:

Midwall of each of the 4 walls (Welti)
1 in each corner (Welti)
Random Placement, (Geddes)

At the very least, measure the placements and optimize the measurements.

Craig

Again aesthetics. And I like them stacked more than I like them in 4 different spots. I've tried them every which way. I had them stacked before but with 4 cables.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #17 of 56 Old 04-20-2012, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ok. I'm revisiting wireless. ( sigh)

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #18 of 56 Old 04-21-2012, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig john View Post

If you like the "improved response from placing them in separate positions", consider placing all 4 in separate positions:

Midwall of each of the 4 walls (Welti)
1 in each corner (Welti)
Random Placement, (Geddes)

At the very least, measure the placements and optimize the measurements.

Craig

I have them spread out right now. 2 in the corners on the left and 2 on the right, where corners would be if there were a wall. This configuration cured my 40 hz null but I am gonna see if I have any issues with the wireless and if I like the way it looks. Sounds pretty good so far. It turned out they didn't look so great stacked and since this isn't a dedicated room, looks are important to me. ( I'm a chick - so of course ! Ha)

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #19 of 56 Old 04-21-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

I have them spread out right now. 2 in the corners on the left and 2 on the right, where corners would be if there were a wall. This configuration cured my 40 hz null but I am gonna see if I have any issues with the wireless and if I like the way it looks. Sounds pretty good so far. It turned out they didn't look so great stacked and since this isn't a dedicated room, looks are important to me. ( I'm a chick - so of course ! Ha)

Wow you learn something everyday. Do you have a way to run a sub wire under the room the subs are in? That is what I did. One is 25 feet the other one is 30 feet and I have no issue with signal loss. Conversely you could go up and over with cabling too. Just a thought.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #20 of 56 Old 04-21-2012, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post


Wow you learn something everyday. Do you have a way to run a sub wire under the room the subs are in? That is what I did. One is 25 feet the other one is 30 feet and I have no issue with signal loss. Conversely you could go up and over with cabling too. Just a thought.

I could. I have all my stuff wired to a closet anyway so there is no gear out in the room. It would just be a royal PITA to do it, especially since that is an exterior, concrete wall. I'll digest it for awhile and see if I even like the placement.

Edit: not under but through the attic.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #21 of 56 Old 04-21-2012, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

I could. I have all my stuff wired to a closet anyway so there is no gear out in the room. It would just be a royal PITA to do it, especially since that is an exterior, concrete wall. I'll digest it for awhile and see if I even like the placement.

Edit: not under but through the attic.

Try 2 to the front in the L & R corners and the other 2 to the left and right of the seat (preferably against the wall). My 3 Submersives are one midwall to the front and 2 L & R to the wall at the seat.
bsoko2 is offline  
post #22 of 56 Old 04-21-2012, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsoko2 View Post


Try 2 to the front in the L & R corners and the other 2 to the left and right of the seat (preferably against the wall). My 3 Submersives are one midwall to the front and 2 L & R to the wall at the seat.

I only have left corners. Front and rear. The right side opens up to the house.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #23 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
After contrasting and comparing I have decided to go ahead and hardware the 2 in the rear. Wireless is adequate but the bass is tighter wired. Overall pretty happy with the response coupled with the SMS1.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #24 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 06:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
craig john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 10,244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 283
With 4 subwoofers, setting them up is critical. How are you setting levels? How are you calibrating the system? Do you have any room correction/EQ? Do you have any measuring equipment?

Craig

Lombardi said it:
Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence."

My System

craig john is offline  
post #25 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post

After contrasting and comparing I have decided to go ahead and hardware the 2 in the rear. Wireless is adequate but the bass is tighter wired. Overall pretty happy with the response coupled with the SMS1.

rather interesting observation there...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #26 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig john View Post

With 4 subwoofers, setting them up is critical. How are you setting levels? How are you calibrating the system? Do you have any room correction/EQ? Do you have any measuring equipment?

Craig

I have an SMS1 and an SPL meter. I have them all set equally from my listening position at the same db. Like I said, my room opens up to the right so the 2 on the left are in corners and the two on the right are in the place where corners would be if there were a wall. They re all symmetrical and really the only places I can put 4 subs without stacking them in the front. I have a fireplace to my left in the middle and french doors to the rear in the middle.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #27 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Here are some pics. I am open to suggestions....
LL
LL
LL
LL

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #28 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post


rather interesting observation there...

It seems that way to my ears.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
post #29 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
JackOften's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post


It seems that way to my ears.

I've measured a couple db's drop using wireless vs. wired (same subwoofer and avr settings)... Might be what you are hearing differently, but with that being said I'd never argue that your "tightness" observation is incorrect since you may have a better ear than me.
JackOften is offline  
post #30 of 56 Old 04-23-2012, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wingnut4772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackOften View Post


I've measured a couple db's drop using wireless vs. wired (same subwoofer and avr settings)... Might be what you are hearing differently, but with that being said I'd never argue that your "tightness" observation is incorrect since you may have a better ear than me.

That's true but I have calibrated for the disparity. My guess is timing or I could be imagining it but I don't think so. I do have pretty discerning ears lol.

Kaboom.
wingnut4772 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off