Titanic MkIII and 1000w plate amp custom box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-02-2012, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Ronoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a Dayton Audio Titanic mk III 15" Sub, with a Dayton Audio 1000w plate amp and I'm going to be building a custom box for it, I want really deep powerful bass, I'm pretty sure I want ported, But I cant figure out what dimensions. Some people are saying almost 6cuft and others are saying 2cuft. Could you guys post some external dimension ideas?
Ronoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-03-2012, 06:35 AM
Senior Member
 
BillCinLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Better try the DIY forum.
BillCinLR is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-03-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
The Titanic really likes a large ported box, like 26"x26"x27" big (outer dimensions with .75" material). Throw a 6" x 17" port in there and you're at a 20hz tune.
Jay1 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-06-2012, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Ronoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of dimensions would I need for 2 4" ports? I'm really OCD about symmetry, and two ports would lower port noise right?
Ronoman is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-09-2012, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
nelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you change the number of ports you don't change the box size if you like the tuning you change the port size. Usually longer. Go to this link and try Boxplot freeware. You can put in the number of ports and it automatically gives the new dimensions. http://www.speakerbuilding.com/software/ Good luck
nelson2000 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-09-2012, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
nelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, larger ports will be less noisy but will need longer size to achieve the same tuning. The Boxplot will also give wind noise in Mach speed to guide you.
nelson2000 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-09-2012, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
A single 6" port has more area then a pair of 4" ports.
Jay1 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off