Earthquake Subwoofer - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ReneV
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-31-2012, 12:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
filthyphill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Earthquake 600w Super Nova subwoofer which had problems. I had to replace the control module,and after waiting 2-3 months for the repair I watched a movie only to have other problems.
The control module was replaced with a Mini-Me unit as they do not make the Super Nova model any more. The problem I have now is that the unit switches itself off when you go over half volume,and does not have the same thump as before. All repairs were done by a quaiffied repairer. Can anyone help?
filthyphill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-31-2012, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Valley, AZ
Posts: 4,525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 214
contact the repair center
Jay1 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-31-2012, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
filthyphill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have contacted the repairer and was told he will talk to teck from Earthquake. Still has 11 months warenty on the part.
filthyphill is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
fecund's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Winston
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I broke my supernova with Tron and just emailed tech@earthquakesound.com and they helped me out.

You are reading my signature.
fecund is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
filthyphill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My problem is I am in Australia, [ Brisbane ] and the importer is in Melbourne 3 states away. I have contacted them again and was told that Earthquake do have a control module for the Super Nova, and they were given the wrong info and installed a module that did not have the power to suit the speakers. I now have to wait for the replacement part [4 months and $800.00 later, $600.00 for the part and $200.00 for the labour] all I have is a expensive Supernova coffe table in my home theatre room.
filthyphill is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
ReneV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by filthyphill View Post

Earthquake ... Super Nova

Well, that escalated quickly wink.gif
mihai7645 likes this.
ReneV is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
filthyphill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no problems with the product . It does shake and rattle the house,but it is embarresing when people come over to watch a movie, I carn't use my sub. I am not happy because of how long it has taken to fix this problem.
filthyphill is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 08-19-2012, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 536
It sounds as though the repair person wasn't terribly qualified, so it might be better to contact Earthquake directly. It appears the repair was done by someone who doesn't have much concern for the type of job he does, and Earthquake may not approve of such a thing.

If you take yourself too seriously expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 08-19-2012, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
filthyphill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no problems with the repairer. When my sub died I rung around to find someone to repair it mainly because the box and speakers are still like new. The repairer was told by the Earthquake importer in Melbourne that Earthquake in America didn't make the control module for the Supernova anymore but could be replaced with the Mini-me controller. I got the sub fixed and after 3 months of waiting I finally got it back. When I watched "War of the worlds", the sub had no guts,made a lot of noise ,but had no thump.I contacted the repairer who then contacted Earthquake in Melbourne,and he was told that the Mini-me unit was not compatable with my speakers but they had found a control module/amp for a Super Nova in America and would get one over from the states in the next order. I just have to wait AGAIN,and as soon as my repairer gets the part I'll get it back straight away. The only problem I had with the sub when I first brought it was that it would shake photo's off the walls, my down lights would drop from the ceiling,and I think if I turned the volume up full it would probably rearange the furniture in my home theatre room. THAT'S WHAT I MISS I am annoyed that it is taking so long to fix.
filthyphill is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-13-2015, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
you're screwed unfortunately. Probably the best thing is to cut your losses on your Earthquake. Anyone else have prob's with their Earthquake subs?
gregtechguy63 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-13-2015, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregtechguy63 View Post
you're screwed unfortunately. Probably the best thing is to cut your losses on your Earthquake. Anyone else have prob's with their Earthquake subs?
I think Greg might be right, especially considering the cost your threw out earlier. Another idea though, have you considered powering the sub with an external amp ( inuke perhaps...good / cheap power )
kevings is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-14-2015, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 536
This thread is 2.5 years old. Why resurrect it now?

If you take yourself too seriously expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off