Any help on repairing a bad sub amp? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-16-2012, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
schrief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,

I have a JBL Venue Sub12 with a bad amp. It powers up just fine but after about 10 minutes of being on or getting a signal, it starts poping. I took the amp out and noticed some black spots on the back of the amp board. I'm wondering if replacing the compacitors where the black spots are will fix the issue. There is a guy on ebay that will replace the amp for $140, but that seems pretty expensive if its just a couple of bad transistors.

Here are some pictures of the board.







Any idea on how I can figure out what type or model of compacitors that are?



thanks,

Jason
schrief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-16-2012, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
The_Nephilim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it looks as those Resistors are Getting HOT.. I dont think the Resistors are at fault it could be before that in line where the problem lies..The Blue things under those Resistors they are Capacitors..

I would just replace the amp for 140Bucks.. I would not reccomend poking around in there..

I just fixed my Subwoofer amp but did NOT have anything heating up it was just a simple Voltage regualtor problem.. Yours however seems a little more in depth..

140 Bucks for a new amp seems reasonable it would probally cost more to get it repaired then to just buy the new one..

The_Nephilim1 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-16-2012, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 59
If changing capacitors is something you can do and its easy to get them, why not, the questions is, is it the capacitors ? You could try seaching for defective capacitors, sometimes they would expand at the top, so if a capacitor with a swollen top, its a candidate for replacement. Who knows you might get lucky
qguy is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-16-2012, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
schrief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to remove them and see if I can find some replacements. I have done things like this in the past with no issues. Wish me luck.
schrief is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
hlmartin22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Had the EXACT same problem.

Go to digikey.com and purchas a 5W 1.2kOhm resistor to replace the R9 resistor and a 3W 1.2kOhm resistor to replace the R6 resistor. I know this seems counter intuitive given the sizes of these fried resistors but I guarantee you these are the correct wattages. I have replaced both of mine in this fashion. NO MORE POPPING!!! Functioning properly now with no issues for nearly 3 weeks. Cost me a total of $5.35 since I already had a soldering iron, solder, and flux. The cost was solely for the replacement resistors and majorly shipping of these tiny parts! All in all way less than paying $140 for a new amp or entirely new sub. If you have the need I will post pics of the old board resistors and the replaced resistors. However, if you do not need these I'd prefer not to pull the amp back out of the unit. 

 

Hope this helps y'all save some bucks$$$!!!

 

Your home economically-conscious friend,

 

Hlmartin22

hlmartin22 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off