New subwoofer on a very tight budget for my PC gaming/HT rig - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 08-19-2012, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the subwoofer that I have been using since 2004 has finally died on me. Have been using this Creative GigaWorks S700 560 Watts 5.1 Speaker Came back after a week on vacation and the apartment smelled awful, later came to find that my sub was no longer working (found it odd that it died during a week with no use) Anyways, it's time for a new one.

Now I mainly use my setup for PC gaming but also watch the occasional blu-ray/dvd on it. I still use the old creative speakers (7 of them) on a SONY STR-DH520 7.1-Channel 3D A/V Receiver hooked up to the GeForce GTX560 Ti on my PC. I checked out the specs of my old sub and it said Subwoofer RMS Power: 210 Watts // Frequency Response: 25Hz - 40,000Hz. Now I am not very knowledgeable with specs of subwoofers and what a lot of new ones have to offer, but I am trying to stay around the $100 mark. How would something like this compare to my 8 year old sub (even though the old one seems to have more power). I am also willing to pay a bit more if you guys have a recommendation from this list on Amazon. I only say Amazon because I currently have free 2-day shipping and would like to get a new sub in ASAP because gaming/watching movie simply sucks without bass. Unless you had something in mind on another website that offers relatively fast shipping, but I figured Amazon would suffice since I don't feel like paying all that much anyways. Thanks in advance!

Edit 1: Also, I've noticed that a lot of newer subs have a L and R line in, but my receiver only has a single subwoofer output. Would I just buy a single RCA cord and use maybe the white/L input and connect it to my receiver that way? Until now, I had my subwoofer connected by using a 3.5mm to RCA splitter and just used the white RCA for my receiver's output.