LFE to RCA? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-03-2012, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tommygunz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm moving to a home that has an LFE cable already ran for a surround system subwoofer and my subwoofer doesn't have an LFE plug. It would be nearly impossible to rerun the cable because it is installed in a finished basement with blown insulation for sound proofing. I'm not really familiar with the LFE function.

Am I able to just buy a RCA splitter to go from 1 to 2 to able to use my subwoofer? I've looked for a LFE to RCA conversion cable but haven't been able to find one. Any suggestions besides buying a new subwoofer or running a new cable?
tommygunz325 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-03-2012, 07:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
What subwoofer do you have? That info would help tremendously.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-04-2012, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,270
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 505
LFE is the "low-frequency effects" channel. The LFE channel plus all bass (frequencies below the crossover setting in the AVR) from your other speakers channels are output through the "Subwoofer" output (sometimes incorrectly labelled the "LFE" output) on your AVR.

Subwoofers often have inputs labelled "LFE" in addition to a set of L+R RCA inputs. If your sub has an "LFE" input, that's what you connect to. If it doesn't have an "LFE" input - which is the situation you face - you should be able to connect to either the L or R RCA input, or to both inputs (using a Y-splitter). The owner's manual for the subwoofer should tell you which method to use.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-04-2012, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tommygunz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ElJay! As long as I can use the y splitter I should be good to go! I don't want to get into changing any equipment or lines just yet.
tommygunz325 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off