Connecting new subwoofer to old stereo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 09-10-2012, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have and stereo (1989 Sony AVR-AV710) with the old outputs (tape deck, vcr 1, vcr 2, etc). The tape deck output, for example, are a red and while L/R RCA out. The VCR outputs are also L/R PLUS a video out for each.

My sub (which is new) is marked with 'LFE' and one pair of L/R inputs.

Can I connect my old stereo's, say tape deck L/R out, to my sub's L/R input?

If not how can I connect my old stereo to my sub?

I'm very new at this so I apologize if the question is primitive.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-10-2012, 10:49 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 106
First off, what model sub do you have? It'll make this easier as we can see what input options it has. If it is a passive sub (no onboard amplifier, sometimes these are included with home theater in a box systems), just connect the speaker B leads to the subwoofer and engage speakers A+B on the receiver. This isn't ideal as the sub will be receiving full range audio, but it'll work.