Do you turn off your subwoofer when not using it? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 08:58 AM
Member
 
thelastjuju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
never.. sounds silly to worry about the ridiculously minimal wattage a subwoofer uses when not in use.
thelastjuju is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2012, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
coolcat4843's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_m1010 View Post

I've been unplugging all my equipment when not in use and saving around $100 per month. I have a lot of gear in my HT room.

+1

Benq W1080ST DLP 3D Projector
Sony BDP-S5200 3D Blu-ray Player
Denon X4000 Receiver
Pioneer SP-FS52 Tower Speaker x 4
Pioneer SP-C22 Center Channel Speaker
PSA XS15se Subwoofer x 2
coolcat4843 is offline  
Old 10-18-2012, 11:03 AM
Member
 
sulakd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I linked to this thread from the main AVSforum home page. Where did that awesome subwoofer picture come from?

Two Schneider Cine Digitar Anamorphic lenses for sale here:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/252-fr...hic-1-33x.html
sulakd is offline  
Old 10-18-2012, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoCaboNow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 344
EP4000 is remotely powered off after every use

Location: Beaverton, Oregon
My Dedicated Home Theater Room
GoCaboNow is offline  
Old 10-18-2012, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alphagojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sulakd View Post

I linked to this thread from the main AVSforum home page. Where did that awesome subwoofer picture come from?

ha, i went to the homepage to check out what you were talking about. that is indeed an awesome looking subwoofer.

alphagojo is offline  
Old 10-18-2012, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Ishniknork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Auto for me. I use to turn it off but the power comsumption is so small, just an LED light, it's not worth the bother. If it didn't have the Auto function I would definitly turn it off though.

Ishniknork is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
dukedallas2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newburgh, NY
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
By turning off your HT equipment your saving $100 a month? LOL o my god you would need a warehouse full of equipment to generate enough power on STANDBY to be burning through $100 in standby HT equipment bills!!!! Seriously think about it! cool.gif
dukedallas2005 is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Vodhanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukedallas2005 View Post

By turning off your HT equipment your saving $100 a month? LOL o my god you would need a warehouse full of equipment to generate enough power on STANDBY to be burning through $100 in standby HT equipment bills!!!! Seriously think about it! cool.gif

If someone has a lot of pro stuff( esp amps) that don't have stand-by....it can add up very quickly. $100/month still seems unusually high but definitely not impossible.

Tom V.
Tom Vodhanel is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hi Tom

What do you think of using Smart Strips for AV? The TV could go into the "trigger" outlet, and the rest of the stuff can be plugged into the outlets that are off (until the TV is turned on). It might take a heavier duty Smart Strip than the 15 amp model that I use. One would have to look carefully for the least expensive Smart Strip that handles more than 15 amps. There are some Smart Strips that cost hundreds. I think you could find one that is rated for more than 15 amps but is much less than that.

It is also conceivable that you could manage with the 15 amp model which usually is enough to run an 1,800 watt appliance, like a hair dryer.
spyboy is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I leave my subwoofers (Fathom F113's) on. They don't draw enough electricity for me to be concerned about. I leave the rest of my equipment processor and two amplifiers in standby mode when not in use as they are specifically designed to be left on continously. I know in the past when I have had a component fails it's upon initial power up.rolleyes.gif
Sharp1080 is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post

I leave my subwoofers (Fathom F113's) on. They don't draw enough electricity for me to be concerned about. I leave the rest of my equipment processor and two amplifiers in standby mode when not in use as they are specifically designed to be left on continously. I know in the past when I have had a component fails it's upon initial power up.rolleyes.gif

I called JL on this question a while back and they made the strong recommendation not to turn off (and particularly unplug) the subs to avoid the large power inrush that occurs when reconnecting the sub to the power line. They are of the definite opinion that the current inrush has the potential to damage the device.
bfreedma is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfreedma View Post

I called JL on this question a while back and they made the strong recommendation not to turn off (and particularly unplug) the subs to avoid the large power inrush that occurs when reconnecting the sub to the power line. They are of the definite opinion that the current inrush has the potential to damage the device.

With all due respect, didn't they used to say the same thing about computers? That is, leave them on all the time. Some people I know choose to leave their computers on all the time but you will upgrade computers before there are any issues with turning them off and on even multiple times per day.
spyboy is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post

With all due respect, didn't they used to say the same thing about computers? That is, leave them on all the time. Some people I know choose to leave their computers on all the time but you will upgrade computers before there are any issues with turning them off and on even multiple times per day.


You upgrade a computer due to new features or addition of memory don't you? Not because they had a power supply failure.
Sharp1080 is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeMan458 View Post


The next ecological upgrade will be a tankless water heater...
-
But, but, but...what will you do when the zombie apocalypse comes and you don't have a large reservoir of water to live off?

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,923
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Vodhanel View Post

If someone has a lot of pro stuff( esp amps) that don't have stand-by....it can add up very quickly. $100/month still seems unusually high but definitely not impossible.
Tom V.

Still not going to happen if they are just in standby. I've got 28,000 watts of power for my HT and even if I leave all my stuff on (which I do quite often) my bills are under $150 per month and about 180-200 if winter is super cold. Thats total bills for the entire house and garage. I don't even notice a difference in the bill with everything off in the HT.
The only possible way that guy could save even close to that is if his stuff was all class A gear and he had 20 of them, as even in standby they still use lots of power.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Vodhanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

Still not going to happen if they are just in standby. I've got 28,000 watts of power for my HT and even if I leave all my stuff on (which I do quite often) my bills are under $150 per month and about 180-200 if winter is super cold. Thats total bills for the entire house and garage. I don't even notice a difference in the bill with everything off in the HT.
The only possible way that guy could save even close to that is if his stuff was all class A gear and he had 20 of them, as even in standby they still use lots of power.


I'd say it all depends on the gear. What's the cost of 1w for a year? Something like a buck? I have stuff in my house that will pull 50-100w at idle. So that is one piece of gear....costing $50-100 a year. Divide by 12...$4 to $8 a month. For one component.

Even if you subtract usage time(say 2 hours a day on avg?) I can't say with certainty that the $100/month claim is false. Seems possible to me?

Tom V.
Tom Vodhanel is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Vodhanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post

Hi Tom
What do you think of using Smart Strips for AV? The TV could go into the "trigger" outlet, and the rest of the stuff can be plugged into the outlets that are off (until the TV is turned on). It might take a heavier duty Smart Strip than the 15 amp model that I use. One would have to look carefully for the least expensive Smart Strip that handles more than 15 amps. There are some Smart Strips that cost hundreds. I think you could find one that is rated for more than 15 amps but is much less than that.
It is also conceivable that you could manage with the 15 amp model which usually is enough to run an 1,800 watt appliance, like a hair dryer.

That should work fine. Based only on my personal experiences I really haven't noticed a trend one way or the other regarding failure rates in electronics based on how I've treated them (leaving on most/all time versus turning off every night). Maybe I've just been lucky.

Tom V.
Tom Vodhanel is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukedallas2005 View Post

By turning off your HT equipment your saving $100 a month? LOL o my god you would need a warehouse full of equipment to generate enough power on STANDBY to be burning through $100 in standby HT equipment bills!!!! Seriously think about it! cool.gif

apprantly you haven't seen a photo of his room. i would describe it as overkill to say the least.biggrin.gif

also he lives in Canada..possible rate/usage differences as well compared to usa.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is online now  
Old 10-20-2012, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,923
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Vodhanel View Post

I'd say it all depends on the gear. What's the cost of 1w for a year? Something like a buck? I have stuff in my house that will pull 50-100w at idle. So that is one piece of gear....costing $50-100 a year. Divide by 12...$4 to $8 a month. For one component.
Even if you subtract usage time(say 2 hours a day on avg?) I can't say with certainty that the $100/month claim is false. Seems possible to me?
Tom V.

You guys in the states pay more than most guys in Canada for power. You may have "stuff" in you house that pulls watts but is all that stuff in you HT? This is just something I found in about 2 seconds of searching http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/How-Much-Power-Do-Electronic-Equipment-Consume-When-in-Standby-Mode/519/6

Even huge power amps like my 4 x fp14000 clones use less than 35 watts at idle. $100 is not gonna happen I'm afraid. My 7 x 500 D-sonci amp uses a few watts in standby, my RMX 5050 and ep4000's use around 30-40 watts sitting in idle and thats not even in standby.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 02:52 PM
Member
 
emesnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anything is possible but let's remember, the OP asked about ONE subwoofer and the cost savings. Not the guy in your town who has jammed an entire IMAX theater into his basement and had to have his electric panel upgraded to support his drain of the grid. I don't see anything in the manaul for that particuar sub that says anything about a standby mode, so if it's on all the time, yeah, maybe a couple of bucks a month. If it has some undocumented standyby mode, a buck a year. If it has no standby mode though, I'd turn it off. Of course, I'm in AZ where I think about my two 5 ton A/C units cooling electrical crap that's left on all the time more than the power the unit uses.
emesnik is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Vodhanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post

apprantly you haven't seen a photo of his room. i would describe it as overkill to say the least.biggrin.gif
also he lives in Canada..possible rate/usage differences as well compared to usa.

If he has a rack or two full of pro amps it would be pretty easy to save $50-100 monthly. Many of them don't even have "stand by" just a rated "idle" draw. And you can be looking at 75-100w at "idle" from moderately powerful amps(1000-1500w)----particularly if they are more than a few years old. If you have 5-6 of those you're at $40-$50 a month right there. I haven't seen pictures of the system in question but I have seen plenty of pictures with 10+ pro amps in larger HTs. $100/month seems not only possible but quite likely in these rare instances.

Tom V.
Tom Vodhanel is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Vodhanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
Quote:
Originally Posted by emesnik View Post

Anything is possible but let's remember, the OP asked about ONE subwoofer and the cost savings. Not the guy in your town who has jammed an entire IMAX theater into his basement and had to have his electric panel upgraded to support his drain of the grid. I don't see anything in the manaul for that particuar sub that says anything about a standby mode, so if it's on all the time, yeah, maybe a couple of bucks a month. If it has some undocumented standyby mode, a buck a year. If it has no standby mode though, I'd turn it off. Of course, I'm in AZ where I think about my two 5 ton A/C units cooling electrical crap that's left on all the time more than the power the unit uses.

Even in "Standby" most subs will pull around 15w unless the amplifier used is a newer "green" type. Then you are looking at 1 or 2w iirc.

So figure $15 a year in most cases, $1 or $2 a year with a "green" amp.

Tom V.
Tom Vodhanel is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_Palmer_Cass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 103
My subwoofer amplifier and crossover EQ unit goes into standby when not is use for about 20 minutes. I can hear the relay click in when the units are activated.

My 55" LCD television is set to turn off if the remote control is not used for 2 hours, and that is a money saver.

Interesting information on standby use of electricity in electronics. Cable boxes and DVD's are always on. Look at the note about those plug in low voltage wall packs.

http://www.aceee.org/consumer/home-electronics
J_Palmer_Cass is offline  
Old 10-23-2012, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Lately I've just been unplugging my subwoofer (SVS PB 13 Ultra) & AVR (Denon 5308CI). This isn't so much to save energy but to reduce damage. Recent power outages have damaged the amp in my sub & amplifier.
steady teddy is online now  
Old 10-23-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 103
auto-on for me = never worry about it. it's drawing 1watt or so in stand-by.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off