aura Transducers stopped working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-19-2012, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
belzarrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
In short, I had 3 aura transducers in 3 theater chairs mounted to a plate bolted to each frame. I was using a nec ava 505 amp 40 watts per channel.
The transducers and amp worked great, glasses would nearly jump out of the cup holder. One night I blow the amp. So i bought an elan with 60 watts per channel.
Hooked that up, and it had very little vibration. I dismounted all transducers checked inside them to see if they were frozen or burnt. I hooked up a 9 volt battery and the inners still moved.
After hooking everything back up i tried to bridge the elan for 120 watt/chan. still very little shaking. Got mad so i hooked them up to my IB sub amp Peavey 600 watts/ channel still very little shaking. The signal is split from the sub out of the pre-amp, the subs work fine. I direct connected to sub by passing the splitter, also went from sub amp out to elan in, no improvement. The amps do work, I am out of ideas.

The transducers do vibrate but very little compared to what they use to do, and have very little response compared to the subwoofers. I'm at a lose of what to do or try,, about the only thing i can do now is set them up to full frequency "I have tried 180hz, 100hz, 80hz cut offs" or buy a new one and see what it does. They added a great feel to the movies and would love to get that back.


Thanks for thte help
belzarrath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-20-2012, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
vardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: down by the river in a van in kalifornia
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have 4 aura bass shakers (Part no. AST-2B-4) and they all have worked
great for over 5 years. There is a 1 yr warranty on the aura's BTW. I have
had them hooked up to a Dayton 250W plate amp, hooked up in
a series/parallel wire connection.

Sounds like you have had all your amp(s) hooked up (and that didn't work) so that is not the problem IMO.
Right now (if you have the funds they are (the aura's) on sale at Parts Express for
about $37 ea. normally $49. Don't know about the shipping.
If funds allow order a couple and see how they workout.

If they don't, return them to Part Express. If they work out order another one.

Just my 2 cents.... http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=299-028

vardo
vardo is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-20-2012, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
belzarrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your response! That was my thought exactly. Was just wondering if there was another trick i could try, changing modes in ss processor, running a frequency through them.
I could always use another shaker,,, so why not buy another.
belzarrath is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-04-2012, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by vardo View Post

I have 4 aura bass shakers (Part no. AST-2B-4) and they all have worked
great for over 5 years. There is a 1 yr warranty on the aura's BTW. I have
had them hooked up to a Dayton 250W plate amp, hooked up in
a series/parallel wire connection.
Sounds like you have had all your amp(s) hooked up (and that didn't work) so that is not the problem IMO.
Right now (if you have the funds they are (the aura's) on sale at Parts Express for
about $37 ea. normally $49. Don't know about the shipping.
If funds allow order a couple and see how they workout.
If they don't, return them to Part Express. If they work out order another one.
Just my 2 cents.... http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=299-028
vardo

I just order the same...4 Aura pros and the Dayton 250W plate amp, for my berkline 45088's. I plan on installing them after Christmas. Anything I should know or watch out for?

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-04-2012, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
vardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: down by the river in a van in kalifornia
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
dsskid,

Mount the shakers to a piece of plain pine that you need to secure underneath
the Berkline recliner(s) frame as close to your butt as possible. Others will argue you
need hardwood, but mine have been great with just 1" x 6" pine. Don't attack with
tie wraps to springs, the springs absorb all the vibrations.

Don't mount them directly underneath you butt....but a little further back. This
way you will get vibrations from the whole recliner, bottom, back, and sides.
You will also think you have a new sub.

Shakers are a lot of fun, it's people that don't use them, who knock them,
have no experience with them.

I resonantly bought Seat Craft recliners, so I have to install for a third time.
I really miss them. Auto recline and all, there's a lot of stuff in the way as
far as mounting a board, and securing the auras. My other home theater recliners
were much easier, and before that I had them mounted to a seven foot couch.
Never a problem in 5 or 6 years.

Wire them in a series/parallel connection as per the fifth diagram down on
this website.

http://www.bcae1.com/spkrmlti.htm

It is labeled series/parallel connection.
This type of connection will make it easier on your amp due the the low
ohms of the shakers.

Have fun,

Vardo
vardo is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-28-2012, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by vardo View Post

dsskid,
Mount the shakers to a piece of plain pine that you need to secure underneath
the Berkline recliner(s) frame as close to your butt as possible. Others will argue you
need hardwood, but mine have been great with just 1" x 6" pine. Don't attack with
tie wraps to springs, the springs absorb all the vibrations.
Don't mount them directly underneath you butt....but a little further back. This
way you will get vibrations from the whole recliner, bottom, back, and sides.
You will also think you have a new sub.
Shakers are a lot of fun, it's people that don't use them, who knock them,
have no experience with them.
I resonantly bought Seat Craft recliners, so I have to install for a third time.
I really miss them. Auto recline and all, there's a lot of stuff in the way as
far as mounting a board, and securing the auras. My other home theater recliners
were much easier, and before that I had them mounted to a seven foot couch.
Never a problem in 5 or 6 years.
Wire them in a series/parallel connection as per the fifth diagram down on
this website.
http://www.bcae1.com/spkrmlti.htm
It is labeled series/parallel connection.
This type of connection will make it easier on your amp due the the low
ohms of the shakers.
Have fun,
Vardo
Thanks Vardo. I just finished installing them today.

I mounted them on 1x6 oak. I was going to mount them closer to the rear, but was afraid that they might hit the frame during recline, which was pretty close, so I mounted them more towards the front, and it seems fine (maybe due to the stiffness of the oak?)

Anyway, they are fun. Just watched Ironman 2, and with Teheran at 50%, and the cutofff around 50 or so, they do a great job.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off