Y'ing a sub from different sources? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-02-2012, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Eric_Connelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Outlaw Audio ICBM along with a Yamaha RX-A1000.

When we listen to DVD-A/CD/SACD I play through the multi-channel/ICBM.

However for some reason the RX-A does not pass the LFE channel out. If I move the sub from the RX-A to the LFE Out on the ICBM things area great.

But it needs to be in the RX-A for BD and regular TV.

Is it a problem to Y the outputs into a single sub?

I'd run one from the LFE channel on the RX-A and one from the ICBM.

Any reason not to do that?
Eric_Connelly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-02-2012, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Is the "Recombine" switch on the back of the ICBM set to "off"?
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-03-2012, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oldschool4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do not combine two sources to one amplifier via a "Y" cable. Use some kind of source selector or manually swap cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oink
Mr. Cialella is, without question, the AVS honorary MOST ADMIRED PERSON OF THE YEAR.:D
oldschool4life is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off