RCA connectors too big to fit through floor...thinner options for extending cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 12-27-2012, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am trying to hook up a subwoofer across the room from my receiver, and I have a hole in my floor by the subwoofer that is about the size of a pencil, so I cannot fit the ends of the RCA cables through the hole, but the actual wire would fit easily. My first thought was to cut the RCA cable, feed it through the hole and then splice it back together in the basement....but I wasn't having much luck getting the solder to stick to the wires and was a bit concerned about the outer and inner RCA wires coming into contact with one another...

So, here is my question...

Is there any way to extend RCA (audio Red/White) cables, but with a narrower connector than the standard RCA ends? Would converting to 3.5mm on both ends ruin the audio quality? Any other ideas?

I know this is probably an unusual question, but I really don't want to make the hole in my floor bigger if I don't have too, as I have refinished hardwood floors. Thanks for any help or ideas anyone has.
UMich97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 12-28-2012, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I would get a coaxial cable, preferably RG6 quad shield. You can buy an RCA attachment that goes on the end of coax. I don't know exactly where to get it, but I have some. They come in two parts. One attaches to the end of the cable and makes a BNC connection, the other is the RCA connection and it has two little bumps on it and it inserts and twists onto the bnc attachment. Too bad you don't live near me or I would give you a pair.

I think these may help...
http://www.newark.com/aim-cambridge/25-7510/rf-coaxial-adapter-rca-jack-bnc/dp/54M7978?in_merch=Popular%20RF/Coaxials

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=soho&cs=ussoho1&sku=A0479606&ST=SO_Desktop%20Accessories&dgc=ST&cid=248711&lid=4318526&acd=s_pla_SO43
KidHorn is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 12-28-2012, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMich97 View Post

My first thought was to cut the RCA cable, feed it through the hole and then splice it back together in the basement.....
It would be a lot easier to cut the connector off the sub end, feed it through the hole, then put on a new connector.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 12-28-2012, 06:39 AM
Member
 
mantha3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Google DIY RCA Interconnects.. Build a set of RCA. Like these below and run the wire thru and last put the RCA ends on.


http://diyaudioprojects.com/Power/diySilver/

http://diyaudioprojects.com/Power/DIY-Shielded-RCA-Interconnect-Cables/
mantha3 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post

I would get a coaxial cable, preferably RG6 quad shield. You can buy an RCA attachment that goes on the end of coax. I don't know exactly where to get it, but I have some. They come in two parts. One attaches to the end of the cable and makes a BNC connection, the other is the RCA connection and it has two little bumps on it and it inserts and twists onto the bnc attachment. Too bad you don't live near me or I would give you a pair.
I think these may help...
http://www.newark.com/aim-cambridge/25-7510/rf-coaxial-adapter-rca-jack-bnc/dp/54M7978?in_merch=Popular%20RF/Coaxials
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=soho&cs=ussoho1&sku=A0479606&ST=SO_Desktop%20Accessories&dgc=ST&cid=248711&lid=4318526&acd=s_pla_SO43

Thanks KidHorn...

So, would I just connect the Newark part onto the end of a coax cable and then the Dell part onto that one? I'm not familiar with BNC, so not 100% clear on this one. I do like the idea of not having to solder anything, as I was having a really hard time trying to solder a couple wires together the other night (just not my strong suit I guess).

Bill / mantha3,

Thanks for your help as well. Some very good points and suggestions (which I may inevitably use), but hoping to find a way to do this without soldering anything (if possible), since I don't seem to be very good at soldering (or just not using the right metals or something).
UMich97 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMich97 View Post

So, would I just connect the Newark part onto the end of a coax cable and then the Dell part onto that one?

Yes. That's exactly what you would do. As someone mentioned above, you may want to buy a RG6 coaxial subwoofer cable and then cut off one end and fit the pieces only on the cut end after feeding the cable. It will make things easier. Also, you'll need to be careful whenever you pull on the plug. Mine have come loose fairly easily. It's not hard to put back together again, but you should try to avoid it.
KidHorn is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, cool.

So, with that said, wondering if I could just use one of these?

http://www.cablingplus.com/products/fs59rcau-icm-rg59-compression-rca-connector

....on some RG59 cable I have already.

Also curious on any suggestions for a cheap way to strip RG59 or RG6, as most of the tools I've been seeing online run around $30.

Thanks again!
UMich97 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sputter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMich97 View Post

OK, cool.

So, with that said, wondering if I could just use one of these?

http://www.cablingplus.com/products/fs59rcau-icm-rg59-compression-rca-connector

....on some RG59 cable I have already.

Also curious on any suggestions for a cheap way to strip RG59 or RG6, as most of the tools I've been seeing online run around $30.

Thanks again!

Check locally? Radio Shack etc. It's better to be able to strip and terminate the end correctly. You don't want a sloppy end.

ymmv.
sputter1 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sputter1 View Post

Check locally? Radio Shack etc. It's better to be able to strip and terminate the end correctly. You don't want a sloppy end.
ymmv.

Thanks for the suggestion....searched Radio Shack and found this one for $11:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102872
UMich97 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMich97 View Post

OK, cool.
So, with that said, wondering if I could just use one of these?
http://www.cablingplus.com/products/fs59rcau-icm-rg59-compression-rca-connector
....on some RG59 cable I have already.
Also curious on any suggestions for a cheap way to strip RG59 or RG6, as most of the tools I've been seeing online run around $30.
Thanks again!

I guess that would work too. Not sure how to connect one of those.
KidHorn is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post

I guess that would work too. Not sure how to connect one of those.

You'd need a compression tool in addition to that cable stripper.

A possible solution that doesn't involve making your own cables would be to use a 3.5 mm headphone cable. The ends are usally smaller than an RCA jacks. Use headphone to RCA cables to connect it to your receiver and subwoofer. You'd only need mono cables, but stereo cables may be easier to find and cheaper.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 12-31-2012, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, could my solution actually be this simple:

Buy one of these:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021817&p_id=9769&seq=1&format=2

Connect the dual RCA's to my sub, feed the 3.5mm end through the holes and then connect one of these to the 3.5mm tip and thus into my AVR after it is through the holes:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10429&cs_id=1042902&p_id=7241&seq=1&format=2

If I could do it that simple, that would be great!
UMich97 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-01-2013, 04:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross Ridge View Post

A possible solution that doesn't involve making your own cables would be to use a 3.5 mm headphone cable. The ends are usally smaller than an RCA jacks. Use headphone to RCA cables to connect it to your receiver and subwoofer. You'd only need mono cables, but stereo cables may be easier to find and cheaper.

You can always try it, but coaxial cable is preferred for subwoofers. Subwoofers have issues that no other speakers have in that their cables can pick up a 60Hz hum from your electrical wiring and then amplify it. Coaxial cable will have a shield to help protect the central conductor from this.
KidHorn is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-01-2013, 04:33 AM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
A sharp (new) drill bit being used to expand an existing hole, isn't going damage the finish of a floor. Any fresh edges can easily be touched up with readily available stains and furniture finish touch-up sticks.

Cruise your local hardware store, grab an old guy that's a clerk and tell them your story. They'll get you going in a heartbeat.

-
BeeMan458 is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-01-2013, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post

You can always try it, but coaxial cable is preferred for subwoofers. Subwoofers have issues that no other speakers have in that their cables can pick up a 60Hz hum from your electrical wiring and then amplify it. Coaxial cable will have a shield to help protect the central conductor from this.

Would the 3.5mm be more susceptible to the hum than standard cheap RCA wire? When I use the cheap RCA wire (running across the room to test), it's fine. ...just wondering if the 3.5mm would be more likely to have issues or not. If not, I'll give it a shot. If it's more likely to have an issue, I'll just have to decide if I want to give it a shot or not.
UMich97 is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 01-01-2013, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMich97 View Post

Would the 3.5mm be more susceptible to the hum than standard cheap RCA wire?
No. Why is this thread still going on? Cut the RCA off the end of the cable you have, put it through the hole, put a new connector on. If you can't solder it use a solder-less connector.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 01-01-2013, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

No. Why is this thread still going on? Cut the RCA off the end of the cable you have, put it through the hole, put a new connector on. If you can't solder it use a solder-less connector.

Bill, thanks for your help, but I'm new to this and looking to learn as I go, so that's why I've had multiple questions. ...and so here is the dilemma/question. I currently have the following cables:

This long RCA cable:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021803&p_id=2008&seq=1&format=2

Then this RCA splitter to go into my AVR:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021803&p_id=663&seq=1&format=2

If I cut the end off the long cable, I would need a solderless connection for that thin RCA cable, which I would need to know where to get one, as my googling didn't find one.

If I switch and use Coax (RG6 or RG59) cable, then I need to buy both a tool to strip the cable and also a compression tool to attach the fitting (from what I understand), which starts to add up ($40-$50 maybe)....not to mention Coax not being a very flexible cable to bend through holes, etc. So, if the 3.5mm works and I can just buy a cheap 3.5mm cable ($3) and convert that ($1), I accomplish everything for around $5 and use a thinner cable than Coax, while avoiding soldering and avoiding stripping wires.
UMich97 is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 01-01-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eofc6569qqI

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 01-02-2013, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMich97 View Post

Would the 3.5mm be more susceptible to the hum than standard cheap RCA wire? When I use the cheap RCA wire (running across the room to test), it's fine. ...just wondering if the 3.5mm would be more likely to have issues or not. If not, I'll give it a shot. If it's more likely to have an issue, I'll just have to decide if I want to give it a shot or not.

Probably not, but 3.5mm cables are typically very thin and you may run into a resistance issue if the run is long. Like I said, you can try it out and see if it works. If it doesn't, you're only out a few bucks.
KidHorn is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 01-10-2013, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UMich97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
UMich97 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off