Connecting computer subwoofer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2012, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
erichdoerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased Logitech z623 speakers a few months ago. It is a 2.1 system with a fairly powerful subwoofer. I recently received a Pioneer stereo receiver and am hoping to transition my system to use the receiver instead of the Logitech. I was wondering if it would be possible to run the computer speaker subwoofer off the receiver.

This is what the back of the subwoofer looks like:

I'm trying to be cheap and not purchase yet another sub when I have a perfectly good one sitting in my basement. I understand if this subwoofer cannot be used on my new system, but if anyone could help me out it woud be greatly appreciated.
erichdoerr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 1027
Looks like you have an input on the sub so should be able to use the sub pre-out on the avr to the sub (just pick an input or get a splitter/y-cord to use both). As to whether that's a "perfectly good" sub is a whole 'nother thang....

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
erichdoerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would I need a subwoofer cable for that or would a standard rca cable suffice? And yeah I know, I really want to upgrade my sub. But I already get in trouble in my dorm building for this small sub
erichdoerr is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
XStanleyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1262
Quote:
Originally Posted by erichdoerr View Post

Would I need a subwoofer cable for that or would a standard rca cable suffice? And yeah I know, I really want to upgrade my sub. But I already get in trouble in my dorm building for this small sub

Yes, a standard RCA will work fine.

Denon AVR-4520CI
Carver Amazing Originals/ Carver Amazing Silvers
(2) Sonotube Subs with 18" Stereo Integrity D4 Drivers
Projector: BenQ W1070
Some audio history:
https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=222FF...3449%21138&v=3
XStanleyX is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 1027
Quote:
Originally Posted by erichdoerr View Post

Would I need a subwoofer cable for that or would a standard rca cable suffice? And yeah I know, I really want to upgrade my sub. But I already get in trouble in my dorm building for this small sub

What do you think a subwoofer cable is? It's an rca cable. Don't be a sucker for marketing bullcrap.

PS Like other types of wire, length and gauge can be important. Try here http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm#connect

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
erichdoerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XStanleyX View Post

Yes, a standard RCA will work fine.


Ok, bear with me here guys, I'm new to the home audio scene.

I take it I need to use the area designated "Subwoofer" on the back of my receiver? Or what goes into there? Red into red and white into white but what goes into the third port on top?

Here's the back of my receiver
erichdoerr is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,550
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Subwoofer out on the AVR (the one immediately below the word SUBWOOFER - the red and white are surround back / front height pre-outs), with a Y-splitter to the red and white inputs on the sub.
eljaycanuck is online now  
Old 12-29-2012, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljaycanuck View Post

Subwoofer out on the AVR (the one immediately below the word SUBWOOFER - the red and white are surround back / front height pre-outs), with a Y-splitter to the red and white inputs on the sub.
Why use a Y-splitter?
MandM is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,550
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Quote:
Why use a Y-splitter?
No reason other than the fact that the Logitech sub isn't a "typical subwoofer". Plugging into either the L or R AUX input will probably work just as well.
eljaycanuck is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off