Trouble connecting sub to my A/V amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 12-30-2012, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a fiarly old Pioneer VSA-E07 amp and was wondering how I would connect my Sony subwoofer to it. The sony subwoofer runs on a coaxial cable, but I don't think I can use this on my amp.

Heres the connections for the amp;



Any ideas and advice on what type of sub I could run off this amp would be highly appreciated smile.gif

*Same thread posted in A/V amp section
Nav117 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 12-30-2012, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Use the subwoofer pre-out (sw) in the upper left area of the avr.
Nav117 likes this.

lovinthehd is online now  
post #3 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried that it seems thats a RCA connection and the sub uses coaxial cable. Any more suggestions? Thanks
Nav117 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
... it seems thats a RCA connection and the sub uses coaxial cable. Any more suggestions?
Yes: Post a pic of the sub's plate amp.
Nav117 likes this.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 05:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here it is;



I've tried connecting it to the preout subwoofer connections with no luck, using a coaxial cable. Maybe I have the change some settings on the amp?

I was using this sub in my older Sony setup with a coaxial cable into the sony reciever, a picture of that'

Nav117 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Both connections look standard to me. Do you have your speakers set to "small" in the AVR?
Nav117 likes this.
bfreedma is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to the amp so I'm not sure! Trying to check that now but can't find a setting like that!

Maybe I shouldn't be using a coaxial cable for this amp?
Nav117 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 476
I've seen it happen before where someone has accidentally connected the cable to the pre-input terminal (circled in red) rather than the pre-output terminal (circled in green). So, just to confirm, you do have the cable connected to the pre-output terminal?

If 'yes', have you tried another cable just to make sure there's not a problem with the one you're using?

Nav117 likes this.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Maybe I shouldn't be using a coaxial cable for this amp?
If it's got RCA connectors on both ends, that's what you should be using.
Nav117 likes this.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nav117 View Post

I'm new to the amp so I'm not sure! Trying to check that now but can't find a setting like that!
RTFM. wink.gif
Quote:
Maybe I shouldn't be using a coaxial cable for this amp?
Coaxial refers to the construction of the wire, not the connectors used.
Quote:
If it's got RCA connectors on both ends, that's what you should be using.
+1.
Nav117 likes this.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeh I tried both of them just to be safe, but not with any luck. The cable did work when I was using it for my other amp so I'm 90% sure it is, however will double check that.

It does have RCA to RCA connection but has "digital" written on the connectors, which made me think it was a coaxial digital cable. Might order another RCA to RCA to see if that might work?
Nav117 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nav117 View Post

It does have RCA to RCA connection but has "digital" written on the connectors
That's meaningless advertising piffle. Wire is wire. Insert the cable into the sub amp, turn it on, put your finger on the center conductor at the other end of the cable. The sub should hum. If it doesn't the cable may be bad. If it does the cable is good and the problem lies either in the AVR or in how you have it hooked up.
Nav117 likes this.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
post #13 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
It does have RCA to RCA connection but has "digital" written on the connectors, which made me think it was a coaxial digital cable.
It is, in the sense that it's not an optical digital cable. But coaxial digital is a cooler-sounding way of saying "wire with RCA connectors on both ends".
Quote:
Might order another RCA to RCA to see if that might work?
Save some time and money by using that cable for a left or right analogue connection from a source (DVD or BD player) to the AVR. If you get audio through the channel that cable is on, then the cable's fine.
Nav117 likes this.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone, and especially the RTFM advice! biggrin.gif

Turns out the front speakers had to be turned into small ones as bfreedma suggested. Sounding great!
Nav117 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nav117 View Post

Thanks everyone, and especially the RTFM advice! biggrin.gif
Too bad you now have to turn in your Man Card! rolleyes.gif

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
post #16 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Huh? I was under the impression it typically was the man way to dive in without RTFM.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

Huh? I was under the impression it typically was the man way to dive in without RTFM. smile.gif

Sure, but now not only did he RTFM, he set his speakers to small smile.gif
bfreedma is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 12-31-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Doh.... redface.gif

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off