How do you hook up a powered sub and a non-powered sub? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpl20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I have a Sony SA-WM20,(pic), hooked up to my Denon AVR-1513, it's a powered 8" sub and I also wanted to hook up a Sony non-powered 12" sub, what would be the best way to do this without another amp? The powered sub has "speaker outs" can I get a powered signal from there to the 12" Sony? THANKS!


jpl20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
I also wanted to hook up a Sony non-powered 12" sub, what would be the best way to do this without another amp?
You need another amp to power the passive sub.
Quote:
The powered sub has "speaker outs" can I get a powered signal from there to the 12" Sony? THANKS!
No.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpl20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no other way to tap into the power that is already there?
jpl20 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Not that I'm aware of. AFAIK, a powered sub's amp powers only the sub itself - the power can't be "shared" with other (passive) subs.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
You'd need an another amp to power the passive one. Use a Y splitter (RCA) with one going to the powered sub and another going to the amp and eventually to the passive subwoofer. The outs on your powered subwoofer wouldn't be the ones you want to use for your passive sub. Those are for if your L/R speakers.

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sputter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Check this link, I had a similar conversation about this topic. You might find it useful.

http://forums.audioholics.com/forums/subwoofers/83490-possible-clipping-issue.html
sputter1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-03-2013, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 146
The speaker outputs would use power amp level inputs and send a high level signal to the speakers. So they don't and could not use the sub's mono amp to provide stereo output and besides they are designed to keep the subwoofer frequencies out so they aren't an especially good power source for a sub
JHAz is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off