Building a subwoofer with Def Tech cabinet - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-04-2013, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I am a newbie without any technical experience. So would like some advice from you. Here is the situation: I have a spare Def. Tech supercube II subwoofer cabinet, but no components for it. I would like to see if I can build a subwoofer using that by buying components. My options to build this out are:

1) Buy Def. Tech amplifiers (low/high), woofer and 2 passive radiators from an authorized source - likely to be more expensive than buying a new subwoofer

2) Buy any 8"woofer, passive radiators and amplifiers from a kit - is this even possible ? if so where can I get it ? Would it even work ? the only thing I know is that the subwoofer volume is a very critical factor

3) Just not worry about building it as I will never get the sonic characteristics right if I use a third party kit and buying components from Def Tech is likely to be more expensive than buying a whole new subwoofer.

Let me know what you think. Appreciate your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-04-2013, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 66
3, you're better off buying a 15 or 18 inch sub and making a new enclosure
post #3 of 5 Old 01-05-2013, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
You could make use of that sub cabinet. You will never match DT's bs claims, but you could get a sub with 100 db output capability down to about 30hz for about $250

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=295-458

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=301-510

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=295-492

You have to add at least 200g of mass to each PR (300g would be better), which would mean finding washers that fit the PR, and weighing them out.