Frusterated with failed subwoofer hookup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-09-2013, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Slim Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

Alright, I have a 5.1 setup in my theater room that I'm working on. Using a Harman Kardon AVR-2600, with 2 bookshelf B&W DM602 S3's up front, a center channel, and a couple of ceiling surround speakers in the back.

I bought a Pinnacle Baby Boomer sub woofer on sale after reading some nice reviews on it. My room is 9' x 25'. The fronts, center, and rear speakers all work great. My sub woofer powers on (and makes an audible noise within its box, so something is happening in there) but after about 5 minutes it goes into standby meaning it isn't receiving any sound signals. What the hell...

My two front speakers are using jumpers to connect the hi and low fidelity ports together. I've checked all polarity's to make sure I've got my + and - all correct. I used the supplied cable to connect the sub woofer to the "sub" port on the back of the AVR, but cannot get any bass to come out of the dang thing.

I've tried adjusting the AVR settings the the "Manual Speaker setup" but to no avail. I tried the "EZQ Autosetup", but it never detects a subwoofer within the setup.

PLEASE HELP! I have scoured the forums, done due diligence with google searches, but I can not find a fix for this. confused.gif
Slim Bob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-09-2013, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 484
A couple of thoughts:
- Have you accidentally connected the cable to the SUB PRE-INPUT on the middle of the back plate of the receiver instead of to the SUB PRE-OUTPUT in the lower left corner of the back plate of the receiver? (This has been known to happen.)

- If the above connection is correct - the cable runs from the SUB PRE-OUTPUT on the AVR to the L input on the sub - have you set the "crossover bypass" switch on the back of the sub to "ON"?
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-09-2013, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Slim Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh wow, after all my nights of troubleshooting, all the time searching for this answer, I think u might be right. I never saw that output jack as it is really hard to get to it where my receiver sits. I just assumed there was only one purple sub jack. I will try that out over lunch and let ya know. Thanks and now I feel like an idiot. Haha
Slim Bob is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-09-2013, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Slim Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It worked, haha. Thanks!
Slim Bob is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-09-2013, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 484
Cool - glad it worked out. smile.gif
eljaycanuck is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Subwoofers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off